We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Anniversary Getaway!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Smithfield Farm Bed and Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Berryville
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Smithfield Farm Bed and Breakfast
568 Smithfield Lane, Berryville, VA 22611   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Happy Hiker
Ranked #1 of 8 Berryville B&B and Inns
Columbia, Maryland
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Wonderful Anniversary Getaway!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2012

We had a wonderful anniversary getaway at Smithfield Farm. Ruth is a fantastic hostess. The breakfasts are unbelievable. Our room was well appointed with everything we needed. Nice location not too far outside of Berryville (great for stargazing after dark). The manor house was lovingly restored and you'll feel right at home. It's an easy drive to several wineries, or out to Winchester or Harpers Ferry for sightseeing.

Room Tip: The Wellford Room is located in the front of the house over the dining room. Nice view looking out a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

84 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    83
    1
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
2
68
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2012

we went to Smithfield Farm B&B for my birthday 8/4 and we had a lovely experience. The property and room were gorgeous, the bed and linens were super comfy, and the breakfast was delicious. Ruth is a really gracious host and has really neat stories. We live in DC and it was a really quick trip out there but you feel like you are in an other world for the day. there are lots of wineries in the area and apparently they sell their products at most of the farmers' markets in the DC area. I will definitely recommend to all my friends looking for a nice weekend getaway.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2012

We just returned from our first visit at Smithfield B&B, and it definitely won't be our last. Ruth is a welcoming and helpful innkeeper. The property is large and gorgeous. We did a short hike around the farm, took a nap in a hammock, grilled dinner outside, and sat by a lotus pond. And on our way home, we stopped by the farm store to stock up on grass-fed, pasture-raised meat for our freezer! The breakfast was delicious and sumptuous, made almost entirely from local ingredients. The location of this B&B is also perfect, whether for small town charm and antiquing in nearby Berryville or tours at several area wineries. (Whatever you do, don't miss out on a visit to Catoctin Creek Distillery for some exceptional rye and gin!)

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2012

I'm always a little skeptical when I see a place with almost exclusively 5-star reviews, but having now stayed at the Smithfield Farm B & B, I now, without a doubt, believe those reviews to be real. Ruth was so warm and welcoming. The fact that the house and farm have been in her familty for like eight generations makes the place very genuine. The house is quaint and not overly decorated like many B & Bs. The location (remote) and setting (large farm) made for a very peaceful stay. However, it was close enough to towns like Berryville, Harpers Ferry, and Winchester to make trips for dinner convenient. Also, there are the many wineries and, of course, the Appalachian Trail nearby (which we hiked both days). Last, but certainly not least, the breakfasts were great!. Note this is a farm with pigs, cows, chickens, etc. so the meat and eggs that made up breakfast were great. We've visited many B & Bs in various states and would put this one at or near the top of our list.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2012 via mobile

We've been to Smithfield B&B twice now, once in November and once in July. We had a great experience both times, once staying in the downstairs suite and once in an upstairs room. Ruth made it a fun and welcoming experience both times. There's lots to see on the farm - chickens, cows, and pigs- and you can wander the farm and see everything. The property is beautiful, with a nIce gazebo and grill outside (we grilled dinner one night). Breakfast, which Ruth made for us, was plentiful and delicious (note- if you come in November you have to make your own breakfast- but you are supplied with delicious farm fresh eggs and bacon or sausage, and freshly baked muffins so it's still pretty great. Everything was made with truly local and farm raised ingredients. Highly recommend this place- and make sure to pick up some bacon and eggs from the farm store before you leave! Best bacon we've ever had!

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rye, New York
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2012

The Smithfield was just wonderful. I was visiting my family in Berryville VA for our family reunion. Ruth welcomed me upon check in. The Inn has been lovingly restored. Every attention to detail has been thought of. Oh, and watch out for those sumptuous breakfasts. I had the best Quiche ever! Staying there was like getting a big hug.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2012

Smithfield Farms B&B was the perfect getaway after our wedding weekend in Leesburg! The innkeeper called us when we were on our way to Berryville to let us know we had been upgraded to the cottage. That was a nice surprise! She was very welcoming and helpful. It was the perfect, quiet and secluded spot to spend the afternoon and evening unwinding after our busy wedding weekend with family and friends. Breakfast the next morning was fresh and delicious. We are already planning to return for our first anniversary.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Smithfield Farm Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Smithfield Farm Bed and Breakfast

Address: 568 Smithfield Lane, Berryville, VA 22611
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Berryville
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Berryville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
400 acre organic livestock farm surrounds the b&b. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Smithfield Farm Hotel Berryville
Smithfield Farm b&b

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Smithfield Farm Bed and Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Smithfield Farm Bed and Breakfast to your Saves list