We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic b&b on a working farm” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Smithfield Farm Bed and Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Berryville
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Smithfield Farm Bed and Breakfast
Save
You added Smithfield Farm Bed and Breakfast to your Saves list
568 Smithfield Lane, Berryville, VA 22611   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Active American Military
Ranked #1 of 6 Berryville B&B and Inns
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Fantastic b&b on a working farm”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2012

We just returned from our first visit at Smithfield B&B, and it definitely won't be our last. Ruth is a welcoming and helpful innkeeper. The property is large and gorgeous. We did a short hike around the farm, took a nap in a hammock, grilled dinner outside, and sat by a lotus pond. And on our way home, we stopped by the farm store to stock up on grass-fed, pasture-raised meat for our freezer! The breakfast was delicious and sumptuous, made almost entirely from local ingredients. The location of this B&B is also perfect, whether for small town charm and antiquing in nearby Berryville or tours at several area wineries. (Whatever you do, don't miss out on a visit to Catoctin Creek Distillery for some exceptional rye and gin!)

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

98 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    97
    1
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
3
78
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2012

I'm always a little skeptical when I see a place with almost exclusively 5-star reviews, but having now stayed at the Smithfield Farm B & B, I now, without a doubt, believe those reviews to be real. Ruth was so warm and welcoming. The fact that the house and farm have been in her familty for like eight generations makes the place very genuine. The house is quaint and not overly decorated like many B & Bs. The location (remote) and setting (large farm) made for a very peaceful stay. However, it was close enough to towns like Berryville, Harpers Ferry, and Winchester to make trips for dinner convenient. Also, there are the many wineries and, of course, the Appalachian Trail nearby (which we hiked both days). Last, but certainly not least, the breakfasts were great!. Note this is a farm with pigs, cows, chickens, etc. so the meat and eggs that made up breakfast were great. We've visited many B & Bs in various states and would put this one at or near the top of our list.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2012

We've been to Smithfield B&B twice now, once in November and once in July. We had a great experience both times, once staying in the downstairs suite and once in an upstairs room. Ruth made it a fun and welcoming experience both times. There's lots to see on the farm - chickens, cows, and pigs- and you can wander the farm and see everything. The property is beautiful, with a nIce gazebo and grill outside (we grilled dinner one night). Breakfast, which Ruth made for us, was plentiful and delicious (note- if you come in November you have to make your own breakfast- but you are supplied with delicious farm fresh eggs and bacon or sausage, and freshly baked muffins so it's still pretty great. Everything was made with truly local and farm raised ingredients. Highly recommend this place- and make sure to pick up some bacon and eggs from the farm store before you leave! Best bacon we've ever had!

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rye, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2012

The Smithfield was just wonderful. I was visiting my family in Berryville VA for our family reunion. Ruth welcomed me upon check in. The Inn has been lovingly restored. Every attention to detail has been thought of. Oh, and watch out for those sumptuous breakfasts. I had the best Quiche ever! Staying there was like getting a big hug.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2012

Smithfield Farms B&B was the perfect getaway after our wedding weekend in Leesburg! The innkeeper called us when we were on our way to Berryville to let us know we had been upgraded to the cottage. That was a nice surprise! She was very welcoming and helpful. It was the perfect, quiet and secluded spot to spend the afternoon and evening unwinding after our busy wedding weekend with family and friends. Breakfast the next morning was fresh and delicious. We are already planning to return for our first anniversary.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chambersburg, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
25 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2012

From the moment of our arrival, innkeeper Ruth made us feel totally at home. In addition to a spacious, comfortable room, there were thoughtful touches such as homemade cookies, a basket of snacks and bottles of water and soda in a guest fridge. Everything was immaculate. The bed was very comfortable. Breakfasts were delicious and leisurely. We had no desire for lunch on either day of our stay. You'll not go wrong at this B&B!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2012

The Smithfield B&B was just wonderful. We went for the first time as a getaway not far from Washington D.C. We were welcomed kindly and with delicious, warm cookies. The Summer Cottage was perfect. A most gorgeous property and so much to do in the area. Such gracious, welcoming, hospitable owners. The food for breakfast was fantastic. We truly felt so spoiled all weekend and it was just the perfect place for rest, relaxation, and peace & quiet. Highly recommended and would definitely return!

Room Tip: Summer Cottage is a private place with full kitchen to cook your own meals if you wish. Privacy and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Smithfield Farm Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Smithfield Farm Bed and Breakfast

Address: 568 Smithfield Lane, Berryville, VA 22611
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Berryville
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Berryville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Eighth generation, 400 acre organic livestock farm surrounds the b&b. Our room rates start at $185.00 including full, country breakfast of products from the farm. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Smithfield Farm Hotel Berryville
Smithfield Farm b&b

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Smithfield Farm Bed and Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.