We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Farm- centric fun, with beautiful rooms and great service!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Smithfield Farm Bed and Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Berryville
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Smithfield Farm Bed and Breakfast
568 Smithfield Lane, Berryville, VA 22611   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Happy Hiker
Ranked #1 of 8 Berryville B&B and Inns
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Farm- centric fun, with beautiful rooms and great service!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2012 via mobile

We've been to Smithfield B&B twice now, once in November and once in July. We had a great experience both times, once staying in the downstairs suite and once in an upstairs room. Ruth made it a fun and welcoming experience both times. There's lots to see on the farm - chickens, cows, and pigs- and you can wander the farm and see everything. The property is beautiful, with a nIce gazebo and grill outside (we grilled dinner one night). Breakfast, which Ruth made for us, was plentiful and delicious (note- if you come in November you have to make your own breakfast- but you are supplied with delicious farm fresh eggs and bacon or sausage, and freshly baked muffins so it's still pretty great. Everything was made with truly local and farm raised ingredients. Highly recommend this place- and make sure to pick up some bacon and eggs from the farm store before you leave! Best bacon we've ever had!

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

83 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    82
    1
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
2
67
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Rye, New York
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2012

The Smithfield was just wonderful. I was visiting my family in Berryville VA for our family reunion. Ruth welcomed me upon check in. The Inn has been lovingly restored. Every attention to detail has been thought of. Oh, and watch out for those sumptuous breakfasts. I had the best Quiche ever! Staying there was like getting a big hug.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2012

Smithfield Farms B&B was the perfect getaway after our wedding weekend in Leesburg! The innkeeper called us when we were on our way to Berryville to let us know we had been upgraded to the cottage. That was a nice surprise! She was very welcoming and helpful. It was the perfect, quiet and secluded spot to spend the afternoon and evening unwinding after our busy wedding weekend with family and friends. Breakfast the next morning was fresh and delicious. We are already planning to return for our first anniversary.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chambersburg, Pennsylvania
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2012

From the moment of our arrival, innkeeper Ruth made us feel totally at home. In addition to a spacious, comfortable room, there were thoughtful touches such as homemade cookies, a basket of snacks and bottles of water and soda in a guest fridge. Everything was immaculate. The bed was very comfortable. Breakfasts were delicious and leisurely. We had no desire for lunch on either day of our stay. You'll not go wrong at this B&B!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2012

The Smithfield B&B was just wonderful. We went for the first time as a getaway not far from Washington D.C. We were welcomed kindly and with delicious, warm cookies. The Summer Cottage was perfect. A most gorgeous property and so much to do in the area. Such gracious, welcoming, hospitable owners. The food for breakfast was fantastic. We truly felt so spoiled all weekend and it was just the perfect place for rest, relaxation, and peace & quiet. Highly recommended and would definitely return!

Room Tip: Summer Cottage is a private place with full kitchen to cook your own meals if you wish. Privacy and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2012

Ruth is a charming hostess and the Inn and grounds are comfortable and relaxing. Perfect for a quick escape from DC. Spacious rooms, and lovely grounds for a stroll. The food was super-rich, and perhaps not my favorite B&B fare, but certainly hit the spot.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2012

Highly recommend Smithfield. First time there and chose it based on all the great reviews and the proximity to DC metro area. It's easy to get there but once there, you feel like you are thousands of miles away. Loved the access to the farm animals - the cows are fun to watch and the sheep and their baby lambs are adorable. There is a nice walking trail through the 400-acre farm, and you can go off trail and explore pretty much anywhere you'd like. For those who like to run or road bike, the surrounding area has a lot of nice paved rolling roads with few cars. The summer cottage is right next to the main house, and provides a little more privacy. It's very cute inside, with a full kitchen and foyer downstairs and a bedroom, bath and living area w/ TV upstairs. Lots of places in the back yard behind the main house to relax, read a book or take a nap. Breakfast was plentiful and delicious! Ruth and Linda were wonderful, welcoming hosts. This is a fantastic place, you can't go wrong!

Room Tip: The rooms in the main house are larger open spaces, the summer cottage has smaller rooms in a separa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Smithfield Farm Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Smithfield Farm Bed and Breakfast

Address: 568 Smithfield Lane, Berryville, VA 22611
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Berryville
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Berryville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
400 acre organic livestock farm surrounds the b&b. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Smithfield Farm Hotel Berryville
Smithfield Farm b&b

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Smithfield Farm Bed and Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Smithfield Farm Bed and Breakfast to your Saves list