We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The perfect place to get away from it all!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Smithfield Farm Bed and Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Berryville
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Smithfield Farm Bed and Breakfast
Save Saved
You added Smithfield Farm Bed and Breakfast to your Saves list
568 Smithfield Lane, Berryville, VA 22611   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Happy Hiker
Ranked #1 of 6 Berryville B&B and Inns
Fairfax, Virginia, United States
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“The perfect place to get away from it all!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2012

I've been to Smithfield Farm twice now, and both visits have been perfect. The house itself is gorgeous and has a rich history....it has been preserved beautifully by the inn's owner and her family. Ruth and Linda were so welcoming and helpful, and the setting itself is so lovely and relaxing. It is by far our favorite B&B in the Washington area.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

85 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    84
    1
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
2
69
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Quiberville, France
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2012

Our family looks forward to our respites at this beautiful farm and charming B&B, made even more so by the gracious host and delicious breakfasts. Lately, we have stayed in the Garden Suite downstairs, which is so spacious and well-appointed and equipped that you might be tempted to live there full-time rather than a short stay! But that would not be fair to other guests who would then miss this special place! We have also stayed in the upstairs rooms, which are beautifully decorated and comfortable as well. The wholesome values of the farm, which go beyond current organic standards, are just as important to us as the setting, accomodations and friendly welcome and conversations. If possible, try to pick up some of the home-made pastas, free-range eggs, or other healthy offerings in the farm store to take home - or cook in the Garden suites full kitchen.

Room Tip: For a couple, any of the B&B rooms are fine. For larger parties, choose the downstairs garden s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
McLean, Virginia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2012

We spent the evening after our wedding in Bluemont, Virginia at Smithfield Farm. Ruth was helpful throughout the booking process and was incredibly accommodating when we asked any questions. She was even considerate enough to leave the cottage open for us since we had a late arrival. In the morning, she cooked an amazing home grown breakfast for ourselves and another couple, and it was great getting to know her. When we inquired about her honey apple butter, she was so kind that she actually gave us a large jar to take home with us. On top of all that, Ruth also gave us two Smithfield Farm B&B glasses to remember our stay.

We would definitely recommend staying at Smithfield Farm since it is a wonderfully hospitable environment that is a great get away from the city. The cottage in which we stayed was very clean and cozy, and was a nice change from a normal hotel room stay. The scenery was also an added bonus.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vienna, va
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2012

Bill and I were given a gift certificate to a local winery, Veramar. Great wine! So we needed a place to stay and Bill found the Smithfield B&B. Since we were staying mid week we had the B&B to ourselves. Ergo, TLTM. We were greeted by the lovely Linda. She was very welcoming and gave us the history of the B&B and the family. Everything about the house and linda was wonderful. The room was great and inviting. We stayed in thr Wellington Room. Our breakfasts were plentiful and DELICIOUS!!!!!!!!!

Room Tip: All their rooms are spacious and inviting.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bethlehem, PA
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2012

I found this B&B while trying to find a relaxing and nice place stay for a weekend of wine tasting in northern Virginia. And what an amazing find it was. The location was simply beautiful and the house was amazing. The location was secluded enough that you really did feel like you were getting away from it all, but still close enough to anything you needed with just a short drive. The house itself was immaculate and Ruth and Linda are wonderful hosts. Hearing the history of the farm from a member of the family that has owned it for 200 years was an incredible experience. And last but certainly not least was the amazing food. We stayed for 3 nights, and each morning was different and fantastic. We are already planning our next visit!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2012 via mobile

A truly inviting place to unwind and get away from the hustle and bustle. We enjoyed the carriage house with its stocked kitchen, whirlpool and fireplaces. My husband and I loved walking around the farm and visiting the animals. We would definitely go again.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taneytown, MD
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2012

We originally stayed here following our wedding in 2009, and recently returned for a brief getaway from the (4 month old) baby and the stresses of normal life. We were more than pleased that the Smithfield Farm experience is every bit as wonderful and relaxing as it was when we first stayed there. Ruth is a wonderful host, the food is excellent, and if you want to just relax, I can't think of anywhere better. We cannot wait to go back, and go back we will!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Smithfield Farm Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Smithfield Farm Bed and Breakfast

Address: 568 Smithfield Lane, Berryville, VA 22611
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Berryville
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Berryville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
400 acre organic livestock farm surrounds the b&b. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Smithfield Farm Hotel Berryville
Smithfield Farm b&b

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Smithfield Farm Bed and Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.