We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“They Do Everything Right” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Battletown Inn - CLOSED

The Battletown Inn
102 W. Main St., Berryville, VA
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Cuisines: Contemporary
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“They Do Everything Right”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013

This place is a curiosity. It is almost literally in the middle of nowhere. It sits on the main drag in Berryville, VA, which is one of those towns that is about three blocks long. The town as a whole seems to have fallen on hard times. That's what makes the Battletown Inn such a curiosity - because given its location, it would be surprising to find a restaurant serving very high-quality food thoughtfully prepared, accompanied by excellent service. Yet, that's exactly what this restaurant dishes up. My wife and I have been there three times over the last 18 months (if we were locals it would definitely be more often.) Each time, we have immensely enjoyed the experience.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

41 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    21
    14
    4
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Berryville, Virginia
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Great anniversary”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

Since it was snowing, we decided to stay close to home. We have lived in town for 3 years and this was the first time we had eaten here. We didn't have reservations, but didn't need any as we ate fairly early on a Friday evening.

We started off with the seafood quesedilla which was very good. Next we got the BTI Steak and Fries. It was the BEST steak I have had in years. Very, very tender! Then we shared a dessert which obviously didn't make a big impression as I can't remember what it was (except it had ice cream on top).

The wait staff was very friendly and attentive.

The only really disappointing thing was the servings were small. I actually left there hungry and that doesn't happen often. I gave it 4 stars instead of 5 for this reason. But overall I was very happy and plan to go back.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Havre de Grace, Maryland
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“This place has really good food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

My husband and I had dinner and stayed the night at the inn and the food was very good. The portions are small but the food was well made and it had great flavor. On the Fall menu I had the deviled eggs (appetizer), they were wondeful and the steak (also just perfect) and my husband had the organic chicken (special of the day), also fantastic. For dessert my we split the pecan and bourbon tart- fantastic. When in the area I would eat there again. The atmosphere is great too, very warm and inviting.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Homedale, Idaho
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Dinner for two”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

We had reservations for Friday Night. The very nice waiter told me that the first appetizer I ordered from the menu was not available because it was out of season. The Fried Green Tomatoes (3) with cheese and ham on them were a little greasy. For an entree I ordered the Crab Cakes. There were three and they were delicious. They were even better after I ordered cocktail sauce to go with them rather than the Romalafe that came with them.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryland, US
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Fine Dining, Remotely.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012

We ate at the Battletown Inn and we absolutely loved it. The service was friendly and fantastic. The food was fabulous. The atmosphere was unique and inviting. It was such a surprise since it is very remote. If we ever make our way back to Berryville (or close enough) we would definitely go back.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Battletown Inn also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Battletown Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.