We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely location and good wine” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Veramar Vineyard

Veramar Vineyard
905 Quarry Road, Berryville, VA 22611
540-955-5510
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 14 attractions in Berryville
Type: Wineries
Attraction Details
Fairfax, Virginia
Top Contributor
94 reviews 94 reviews
40 attraction reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Lovely location and good wine”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

We thoroughly enjoyed our afternoon at Veramar. The views are beautiful, and there are a variety of quiet, comfortable places to sit with a glass of wine or have a small picnic--tables on the stone patio or along the pine hedge, a large swinging bench by the pond, or a white gazebo with a view of the valley. The tasting room is spacious and welcoming, and also has a seating area. The wines were good--especially the rose and whites.
We visited on a Sunday afternoon, and fortunately it wasn't too crowded. We sat at a table shaded by an umbrella, and had a small picnic we brought with us, and then did the wine tasting.
We have been to several vineyards and wineries in this area, and Veramar is probably one of our new favorites.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

36 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    17
    12
    6
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Pittsburgh, PA
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Tasty and Relaxing”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

My husband and I visited Veramar Vineyards hoping to find a nice wine or two. We ended up walking away with much more than that!

After sampling several wines (most of which were wonderful), we were told that we could purchase a glass or bottle of wine to enjoy on the large patio. We also had the option of purchasing cheese, salami and/or bread, or having someone grill us a portabella mushroom sandwich. (I believe that the grilling is either on Saturdays or Weekends only.) What more could a girl want? My husband and I then proceeded to take our cheese and wine to the patio, and enjoy! This was such a wonderful and relaxing experience! The view of the field behind the winery is beautiful and the staff couldn’t have been nicer. I sent pictures to my friends while we were enjoying our wine and they all asked, “Where is that?”

I told my husband that we will definitely visit Veramar Vineyards again!

As an FYI, anyone who partakes of the sampling or drinking of the wine will be carded. No matter what your age, be sure to bring your ID; you don’t want to leave it behind and miss out on an excellent time!

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Wine & Scenery”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

We stopped here to do a tasting and will go back again. We were not too impressed by the wines, we thought the Chardonnay was good enough to get a bottle to enjoy outside while taking in the scenery. I HIGHLY recommend bringing your own food or picnic, which a lot of people did and they allow outside. The food prices were ridiculous, $4.50 for a warmed cut-up french bread. But we just splurged since we were there celebrating. The view is wonderful and you can walk around the vineyard. They have plenty of seating or open area for kids to run around, which I have to say I was surprised at how many children/families there were. Maybe we will bring our kids next time and another friend or two to share the wine with.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, District of Columbia, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“"Out of Africa"”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013

While Veramar is not located in Africa, its actually something right out of Africa. Imagine sitting in a comfy adirondack chair with a chilled glass of Veramar wine along with some of their cheese they offer while gazing at the fields in the foreground of the Shenandoah River and the hazy Blue Ridge Mountain. Any time now, one would expect grazing giraffes and herds of elephants to enter the picture in the foreground of the Blue Ridge, especially in the midst of summer when the Shenandoah Valley turns golden brown. This is what you will see when visiting Veramar. It is one of our most favorite places to bring guests from out of town. Veramar is one of the most idyllic spots in all of Virginia. If you love the outdoors and enjoy the beauty that nature has to offer, you'll love Veramar. A must see!!

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“This place did not disappoint”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

I went there with a group of friends over the weekend. You can bring your own food and eat outside, which was nice. A few of us did the full tasting and then we say outside for ours chatting with a few bottles of wine. The women who work there are super nice. The vineyard was beautiful and not too far from Washington, DC. This would make a great side trip when planning a visit to the nation's capital. Oh and the wine was delicious!

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Veramar Vineyard also viewed

 

Been to Veramar Vineyard? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Veramar Vineyard, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Veramar Vineyard to your Saves list