We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very pleasant and relaxing weekend getaway” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Berryville Inn

Berryville Inn
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Berryville
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Berryville Inn
203 S. Buckmarsh St., Berryville, VA   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 8 Berryville B&B and Inns
Centreville, Virginia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Very pleasant and relaxing weekend getaway”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

I was looking for places to stay for our “not so far” getaway (from the kids) to celebrate our 10th year wedding anniversary. I came across the Berryville Inn website and although I’ve never stayed at a B&B before, I decided to make a reservation since the pictures were inviting and seems like a place we could just relax. I opted for the Romance Package which includes two dozen roses, a bottle of Italian Prosecco and a box of chocolate truffles (made from a local monastery a few miles away) and arranged for a couple’s massage in our room. I booked the French Suite since it had a balcony.

Although we were presented with nearby attractions, we really just wanted to lay low and relax so we dined at the local restaurants which were all walking distance (couple blocks) from the B&B. In the morning, the breakfast courses served were fantastic and enjoyed having conversations with the innkeeper and the other guests. We mostly stayed in our room, around the house and the back yard with many options such as a hammock, patio, gazebo, etc. We did visit a couple of places in the area such as the monastery and local vineyard for some wine tasting. We had a great time and will come back again in the future.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BerryvilleInn, Owner at Berryville Inn, responded to this review, July 25, 2013
Thanks Joe and so good to keep in touch with you both. We certainly enjoyed your visit; so wonderful to see you enjoying each other's company on your wedding anniversary and we were thrilled to share in just a small piece of it. Glad you enjoyed the truffles, wine and roses!

Janet & Tom, Innkeepers
Berryville Inn B&B
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

36 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    29
    5
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
7
17
2
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bethlehem, Pennsylvania
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

What a gem of a B&B, nestled in the Virginia countryside! My husband and I spent two nights at the Inn after having been in D.C. The Inn is absolutely charming in every way, from showcasing Janet's expertise in interior decorating with collectibles and artisan furnishings, to her Master Gardner touch so obvious in the beautiful landscaping and gardens surrounding the house. Hosts, Janet and husband, Tom, are wonderful, engaging folks and made us feel like old friends. We stayed in the Chocolate Room - beautifully decorated and very comfortable. I peeked into the French Room (after those guests had left) which is larger with its own balcony and very tastefully decorated in blues and yellows. Janet also showed us the third guest room decorated in an Adirondack theme with twin beds. The bath towels are thick and luscious and the shower in our lovely black & white bathroom was fantastic!
Mornings were special, starting with a carafe of coffee in the upstairs hall. Beautiful music playing in the downstairs library. And best of all, Janet's creative breakfast entrees (I think she must be a "master" chef, too!)
We highly recommend the Berryville Inn and hope to return at some time!

Room Tip: An upstairs hall closet, by the black and white bath, contains baskets with every toiletry item you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

We decided to stay here one night while visiting a local winery and to celebrate our 12th wedding anniversary. I thought the house was on more land but it is right up against a road. Also, the house is for sale, has been for a year. We had to turn around to find the enterance due to it not being marked. You have to walk through the grass to go around to the front but be careful about dog poop. There are two dogs on the premises and we had to dodge the poop (really!!). It has a nice backyard and garden but the house on the outside looks a little rundown. Inside, it is very unique and had LOTS of antiques and collectibles. Thruthfully, other than an island B&B and a few B&B-like inns in Ireland, this is my first in the US. The female owner, Janet, greeted us and told us what the schedule was for the food the next morning and showed us our room. She was polite and also brought us some cold water. The French Room was very nicely decorated. There is NO central air through the entire house, so the bathroom and hallways get VERY hot and humid. There is an a/c unit in the bedroom. We had to keep it cranked on 70 with both ceiling fans on at least medium in order not to be hot. The house is definitely old, and in some places it shows, but overall, they have done a good job keeping it nice. I would not recommend standing or sitting on the balcony off our room, I took one step on it and it moved and I was afraid it was going to fall apart. The coffee outside our room in the morning was nice, however, not enough Splenda for 4 people was provided and not refilled nor asked our preference as well as only cream was provided and had something black floating in it. Since a rundown of breakfast times was not provided again in person or in writing, we just guessed what it was again....something about cold food at this time, then warm food at this time etc.....cold food was greek yogurt, with a pineapple cut up with other fruit in it (covered in gnat and flies BTW) and Kashi cereal....really. Janet did however cook a crepe wrapped around an egg omelet with cheese portobello mushrooms and asparagus. It was good yes. But the mango salsa on the plate was from Costco she admitted. And then dessert was coffee icecream. So, to me, that breakfast was NICE but not anywhere near LUXURY. Coversation with the other guests felt a little forced since we had to come down and eat all at the same time.....but they were nice. So, a bit of a problem. Went to go take a shower, and no hot water. One of the other guests was showering, so I asked Janet. She said she never experienced that before, they had a huge water heater and that Jim was not there to check it out....and get this, "GO USE THE OTHER GUESTS SHOWER WHEN THEY ARE DONE!" Are you KIDDING me! You can imagine my thoughts, as I will not post them here. We did after 10 mins figure out that we could get luke warm water if we keep the knob in the "middleish" spot. Also, the showerhead had one setting and one pressure only, and it was pins and needles, I almost took my eye out tryng to wash my face. We will not return and will not suggest this place to others. I only give it 3 stars because overall the house is nice and 1/2 of the breakfast was good.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BerryvilleInn, Owner at Berryville Inn, responded to this review, July 17, 2013
As the Innkeeper/owner of the Berryville Inn, I totally agree with this guest’s self-assessment that “B&B’s are not for me”! Some travelers just need the predictability of chain hotel accommodations. However, true B&B guests thrive on the uniqueness of various accommodations regarding their guestrooms, menu, décor, grounds, local amenities, etc. that form the character of the property; the genuine B&B guest desires something beyond what home offers (or why leave home?) Compare this guest’s review vs the “A Real Jewel” review from guests who shared our accommodations on the same identical weekend of July 2!

The only complaint of merit involves “poop” which is obviously not acceptable, and was a mystery as we follow a daily regimen of cleaning up from our 2 dogs. Upon investigation, we discovered that a neighbor dog had been paying nocturnal visit to our yard, offering deposits, which we have since discussed with his owner.

It’s not really shocking that the Berryville Inn B&B was offered for sale as a side interest as most B&B owners don’t continue with this business indefinitely. We don’t expect to go anywhere anytime soon! BTW, the B&B is well marked with a sign in front of the B&B on So. Buckmarsh St, as well as a second sign on the side street near the entrance.

The weather during the weekend of mention followed several weeks of unbelievably hot, humid conditions throughout No.Virginia, wearing on everyone’s patience. However, we offer individual air conditioning units in our guest rooms to allow guests their unique temperature preferences (i.e. a hotel); the bathrooms have 3 speed fans that are quite effective. The guestroom includes two 6’ diameter 3 speed ceiling fans; a screened door to the balcony; and a new GE air conditioning unit that could chill the room to 55 degrees if needed! The hallways are not air conditioned, but who lives in hallways?

The wonderful, effective shower has more than adequate spray force; the temperature gauge however is unique from most standard dials, but all previous guests have been able to feel the difference between “hot” and “cold” water.

This guest’s fear of walking on the balcony unfortunately prevented her enjoyment of views of the gardens and evening star gazing; the balcony was installed above the back porch roof during its 1910 construction as a common architectural feature of Colonial Revival mansions and is totally secure. Our lovely house has enjoyed many guests, parties and events for 103 years and its condition is maintained on a regular schedule.

The Berryville Inn is known for its wonderful breakfasts with menu offerings and flexible mealtimes clearly communicated to the guests upon arrival; other guests have typically appreciated this flexibility. The freshly split huge Dole pineapple apparently emitted such a sweet fragrance, it obviously sent an alert to an errant fruit fly in the neighborhood to annoy our guests during the 10 minute hiatus in the dining room when the pineapple was unguarded while awaiting the guests’ arrival to breakfast; in the future, plastic wrap will surround the fruit during this time. And, unfortunate that this guest felt forced to converse with another couple during breakfast!

We are quite pleased with the offerings of our 3 course breakfasts. After freshly brewed coffee and tea available just outside the guestroom doors, we offer in the dining room a self-serve healthy cold course of Greek yogurt, Kashi cereal, Bare Naked granola, fresh fruit, 2% milk, two juice varieties, plus the lovely pineapple shell filled with its cut contents and local blueberries and cherries. What’s wrong with that kick-start of the day?

The savory entrée during this visit was a freshly made crepe filled with creamed eggs, sautéed asparagus & mushrooms, brie cheese, topped with hollandaise sauce, bacon on the side. The dessert dish was Italian cappuccino Gelato and an Italian Pirrout cookie. The following day’s dessert was a baked turnover of our famous butter pie crust, enclosing a filling of fresh blueberries and peaches, picked from the local fruit farm on the previous day……too bad these guests in question didn’t spend a second day!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Virginia
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

We recently stayed in the Chocolate room at the Berryville Inn for several nights. The room was gorgeous and extremely comfortable. The hosts were lovely and extremely helpful, providing a great list of activities and restaurants in the area. Breakfast each morning was different each day and delicious each day as well. We would absolutely recommend staying here to anyone for a weekend. It is a lovely place.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2012

We would recommend the Berryville Inn to anybody who enjoys a comfortable stay in a warm, welcoming and beautiful house. The hosts (and Honey Bee) couldn't have made us feel more welcome, we enjoyed every minute of it. We left wishing we could have stayed longer.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
McLean, Virginia
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2012

We recently spent one night at Berryville Inn and stayed in the Chocolate Room. The other couple we were travelling with stayed in the French Suite. While it was a bit bigger and had a private balcony, both rooms were beautifully decorated and comfortable, as well as the bathrooms. The entire house is just so pretty, and Janet makes sure you have a special experience staying there. Everything, from beautiful music in the morning to the gourmet breakfast, made us feel pampered and appreciated. The front porch is comfortable and beautiful as well, we really enjoyed having our coffee there. I was impressed that Janet had organic and gluten-free cereals available for breakfast, though you'll want to save room for her delicious hot breakfast items. Our party left hoping to come back.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Potomac Falls, VA
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2012

We stayed at the Berryville Inn on Saturday and had a lovely experience. We stayed in the French Suite and it was comfortable and beautifully decorated. I peeked into the Chocolate Room and it was just as elegant. The breakfast on Sunday was delicious and beautifully presented. We were treated like the innkeepers good friends and made to feel very welcome but were given all the privacy we wanted. It was a great experience and we are looking forward to visiting again.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Berryville Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Berryville Inn

Address: 203 S. Buckmarsh St., Berryville, VA
Location: United States > Virginia > Berryville
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Berryville

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Berryville Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Berryville Inn to your Saves list
;