We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Afternoon Tea” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Rosemont Manor

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save Saved
You added Rosemont Manor to your Saves list
Rosemont Manor
16 Rosemont Manor Lane, Berryville, VA 22611   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Deal
Passes to Local Wineries
Ranked #2 of 6 Berryville B&B and Inns
Winchester, Virginia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Afternoon Tea”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

On Sunday,July 7, 2013, I had the pleasure of attending a tea held at Rosemont Manor with friends. It was a wonderful experience. The owner, Mr Genda welcomed us and gave us a tour of the historic house and grounds. He explained the history of the house and showed us many of the trees and flowers on the property. He was so kind and made us feel so welcomed. The tea was grand! The teas, the food, the ambience were presented in such a lovely way. Tona, the Rosemont chef, did a wonderful job of explaining the the different finger sandwiches, scones and ice cream that were served to us, as well as telling us how she made them! They were delicious. Jonathan, the owner's son, came around to each table and showed us the artifacts that had been found on the property many from the civil war. His presentaion was top notch. Playing the grand piano in the living room was Ben ( another son of Mr. Genda) the music was just the extra touch to make the experience special. After the tea we were able to tour the guest rooms that were not occupied. What a treat! Beautiful, simply beautiful.Mr. Genda even showed us a two way mirror in the Kennedy Room bathroom. I will not give the explanation away, but do ask about it when you visit. Do visit the Rosemont Manor for an afternoon tea or an overnight. It is an amazing place and Mr. Genda and his staff go out of their way to make you feel special. Top notch in every respect!

Debbie Gathercole
Winchester,VA

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RMInnkeeper, Owner at Rosemont Manor, responded to this review, July 10, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to write such a kind and gracious review! As you mentioned, Rosemont is a family-owned business and we are so glad that you had the opportunity to meet and interact with Jonathan and Ben. All of the Rosemont staff strives to give our guests a relaxing and enjoyable experience, so we truly appreciate your words of encouragement and commendation! We hope you will come see us at Rosemont again soon.

Warmly,
William "Biff" Genda
Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

165 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    127
    31
    5
    0
    2
See reviews for
20
116
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Virginia, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

Spent a delightful afternoon at Rosemont Manor enjoying a "Tea & Tour" package. The grounds are incredibly beautiful at any season; the food was delicious and the Manor is impeccably furnished & tastefully decorated. There couldn't be a better place for any event -- whether a simple afternoon tea, bed & breakfast, or wedding. Highly highly recommend you check it out!!!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RMInnkeeper, Owner at Rosemont Manor, responded to this review, July 10, 2013
Thank you so much for your kind words! We are so glad that you enjoyed your tea and tour. We appreciate your gracious endorsement of all that we do here at Rosemont - teas, overnight accommodations, weddings, and other special events. In all aspects of our business, we strive for excellence in service and hospitality. Thank you again for your recommendation, and we hope you will come see us again soon!

Warmly,
William "Biff" Genda
Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Annapolis, Maryland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

We just returned from a beautiful wedding at Rosemont Manor. From walking through the front door, we were treated royally by the staff. The rooms were lovely and so nice to relax in while waiting for the festivities to begin. The bride and her party had lovely large rooms to get ready and of course in a beautiful manor like Rosemont the photo opportunities were amazing. Several of the family members stayed overnight which was so nice to all be under one roof and have such beautiful rooms to retreat to. The ceremony was breathtaking with the large porch for cocktails and appetizers and then going down to the carriage house for the reception was wonderful. Food, drink and overall atmosphere made for a wonderful day for us (family of the flower girl) and I can only imagine the memories it made for the families of the bride and groom. Looking forward to coming back to Rosemont for a quiet weekend retreat or family reunion!
Thank you, Rosemont.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RMInnkeeper, Owner at Rosemont Manor, responded to this review, June 18, 2013
Thank you for your kind words! We are so thankful that you and your family and friends enjoyed your time at Rosemont. We are pleased to hear that the service, food, accommodations, and overall atmosphere was top notch, as that is always our goal. Regardless of whether folks are here for a wedding, a tea, an overnight stay, or a corporate/special event, we want to make sure each guest is treated like a member of our family. Thank you again for taking the time to write a review, and we do hope to see you again soon for your own overnight getaway!

Warmly,
William "Biff" Genda
Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MD
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

We used a Travelzoo special to stay at the Rosemont Manor for my birthday weekend. The entire place is beautiful. We upgraded to a suite which I highly recommend, but all of the rooms are nice. The rooms also look exactly like they do on the website. It's not like a lot of places where you arrive to find that the pictures on the website were clearly taken a decade earlier. The service was great, everyone was friendly, we had a very relaxing stay. Berryville is in the middle of nowhere, but if you do a little research ahead of time there are fun things to do in the area. The C&O canal towpath was a great place to ride bikes and we had planned on going canoeing had it not rained. The nearby town of Winchester is worth a visit. They have a pedestrian mall with some shops and restaurants.

Room Tip: I believe most of the rooms have tubs with a handheld shower (I believe there is another review that...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RMInnkeeper, Owner at Rosemont Manor, responded to this review, June 11, 2013
Thank you so much for your review, and happy birthday! We are so glad that you chose Rosemont for your special getaway. It sounds like you made the best of your time here in the area, including a jaunt into nearby Winchester. We are pleased that you found the rooms, service, and hospitality at Rosemont to be top-notch, as that is always our goal. Thank you again for taking the time to write a review. Come see us again soon!

Warmly,
William "Biff" Genda
Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waltham, Massachusetts
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2013

I attended a fantastic wedding in May, 2013 at Rosemont Manor in Berryville, VA, and stayed one night in the main house. Everything about the experience was perfect -- the setting for the ceremony was beautiful, cocktails on the porch overlooking the beautiful scenery, and the dinner for about 120 in the Carriage House was also perfect. Loved the room, and the service was equally excellent. Would strongly recommend this venue for a wedding or any other stay.

Room Tip: I was in the Johnson room, and it was very pretty (feminine).
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RMInnkeeper, Owner at Rosemont Manor, responded to this review, June 3, 2013
Thank you so much for your wonderful review! We are so glad that you enjoyed the wedding and your overnight stay at Rosemont. With the combination of the main manor with its Grand Portico and views of the Blue Ridge Mountains, the nearby Carriage House, and overnight accommodations for just over 75 people, Rosemont specializes in "destination style" weddings where families and friends can all come for extended time together that lasts more than just an afternoon. Thank you again for taking the time to share your experience at Rosemont - we appreciate the recommendation!

Warmly,
William "Biff" Genda
Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Orange, Florida
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

Great property and beautiful grounds a great choice for a reunion from a few to several people. Especially choosing one of the cottages works well. This is not the place for those who need to be plugged in to their email or internet. There is no TV either. So it is perfect for a get together with friends and to concentrate on each other.

Room Tip: No bad rooms, but some a bit larger than others. This is an old manor house after all.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RMInnkeeper, Owner at Rosemont Manor, responded to this review, June 3, 2013
Thank you so much for your review! We are so pleased that you and your friends enjoyed your reunion at Rosemont! It is wonderful when a group of friends can get away and enjoy the beauty of the manor and its surrounding 60 acres of grounds. Not having TV's at Rosemont is a very intentional decision, so that our guests can have a place of quiet respite without the noise of a "talk box" coming from a nearby room! To clarify in terms of internet access, we DO have free wifi within the main manor and in the Carriage House, but not in the cottages.

Thank you again for taking the time to write us such a kind and gracious review! We appreciate your group for choosing Rosemont, and hope that you will make it an annual tradition!

Warmly,
William "Biff" Genda
Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fredericksburg, Virginia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013

We had the great pleasure of staying two nights at Historic Rosemont Manor in Berryville VA May 1st and 2nd, 2013. It is easily reached from Northern VA out Route 7 towards Winchester and once you turn into their entrance, it’s like stepping back to a more gentile era with beautiful and well kept grounds and a marvelously restored estate home. We were fortunate that the Dogwoods were in bloom and the Weeping Cherry Trees were just dropping their blossoms. When combined with the lilacs, there was a delightful fragrance throughout the expansive grounds. We were welcomed with a glass of wine and light hors d’oeuvres by the cheery hostess who led all the new guests on a tour of the many guest rooms on the way to ours which was the Byrd’s Study, chosen because it had a small balcony overlooking the back lawn. The room was delightfully appointed and very comfortable. The door to the private bath actually had the height markers from the Byrd children still inscribed from Christmas 1936. While small, the bathroom and tiled shower were fully functional. Everything was spotless and the bed lights were bright enough for reading without any problems. The rooms have radios but no TVs. The Wi FI reception was excellent throughout the home and included with the room as is a wonderful breakfast. The hostess goes over the breakfast menu when you check-in and the chef is very willing to accommodate and dietary needs. Both mornings the breakfast, served between 8:30 and 9:15, was delicious and included a fruit plate, hot entre, as well as juices and coffee. The guestroom was quiet and the bedding quite comfortable with very nice sheets. Twice a year there is a benefit art show at nearby Millwood and we enjoyed exploring the old mill with a rare interior waterwheel as we viewed the offerings from many local and talented artists. Berryville is located in the heart of Virginia wine country so there are many wineries within an easy drive as well as Civil War battlefields and historic areas like Harper’s Ferry West Virginia and the towns of Winchester and Middleburg Virginia. The Sky Line Drive and state parks offer a variety of nearby hiking opportunities. However, you may not be able to drag yourself away from the tranquility and the beautiful grounds featuring many exotic and rare trees on their 60 acres and have a detailed map to allow you to explore them on your own. The home is an architectural delight only recently reopened to the public (January 2011) with tremendous facilities for weddings (30 in the first year and more each year since). The rooms are named for the dignitaries who stayed here when Rosemont was the home of Virginia Senator Byrd and include such names as Kennedy, Churchill, Eisenhower, Nixon, Roosevelt, and many more. We opted for a room with a shower but now realize that each of the “bathtub” rooms include a hand-held shower nozzle and would be just fine. We are looking forward to our next visit and plan to be sure to make it back to see the estate decorated for Christmas.

Room Tip: Some of the larger rooms may only have a bathtub but all come with a hand-held shower wand so don...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RMInnkeeper, Owner at Rosemont Manor, responded to this review, May 6, 2013
Thank you so much for your very kind and gracious words. We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay and embraced all that Rosemont and the surrounding area have to offer. We appreciate you taking the time to share your experiences at Rosemont, and we look forward to your next visit - Christmastime is a wonderful choice!

Warmly,
William "Biff" Genda
Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Rosemont Manor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rosemont Manor

Address: 16 Rosemont Manor Lane, Berryville, VA 22611
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Berryville
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Berryville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with T4B so you can book your Rosemont Manor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rosemont Manor Hotel Berryville

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rosemont Manor, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.