We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Romantic Getaway” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Rosemont Manor

Save Saved
You added Rosemont Manor to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Rosemont Manor
16 Rosemont Manor Lane, Berryville, VA 22611   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Deal
Passes to Local Wineries
Ranked #2 of 8 Berryville B&B and Inns
MD
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Romantic Getaway”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

We used a Travelzoo special to stay at the Rosemont Manor for my birthday weekend. The entire place is beautiful. We upgraded to a suite which I highly recommend, but all of the rooms are nice. The rooms also look exactly like they do on the website. It's not like a lot of places where you arrive to find that the pictures on the website were clearly taken a decade earlier. The service was great, everyone was friendly, we had a very relaxing stay. Berryville is in the middle of nowhere, but if you do a little research ahead of time there are fun things to do in the area. The C&O canal towpath was a great place to ride bikes and we had planned on going canoeing had it not rained. The nearby town of Winchester is worth a visit. They have a pedestrian mall with some shops and restaurants.

Room Tip: I believe most of the rooms have tubs with a handheld shower (I believe there is another review that...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RMInnkeeper, Owner at Rosemont Manor, responded to this review, June 11, 2013
Thank you so much for your review, and happy birthday! We are so glad that you chose Rosemont for your special getaway. It sounds like you made the best of your time here in the area, including a jaunt into nearby Winchester. We are pleased that you found the rooms, service, and hospitality at Rosemont to be top-notch, as that is always our goal. Thank you again for taking the time to write a review. Come see us again soon!

Warmly,
William "Biff" Genda
Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

155 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    119
    29
    5
    0
    2
See reviews for
19
109
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Waltham, Massachusetts
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2013

I attended a fantastic wedding in May, 2013 at Rosemont Manor in Berryville, VA, and stayed one night in the main house. Everything about the experience was perfect -- the setting for the ceremony was beautiful, cocktails on the porch overlooking the beautiful scenery, and the dinner for about 120 in the Carriage House was also perfect. Loved the room, and the service was equally excellent. Would strongly recommend this venue for a wedding or any other stay.

Room Tip: I was in the Johnson room, and it was very pretty (feminine).
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RMInnkeeper, Owner at Rosemont Manor, responded to this review, June 3, 2013
Thank you so much for your wonderful review! We are so glad that you enjoyed the wedding and your overnight stay at Rosemont. With the combination of the main manor with its Grand Portico and views of the Blue Ridge Mountains, the nearby Carriage House, and overnight accommodations for just over 75 people, Rosemont specializes in "destination style" weddings where families and friends can all come for extended time together that lasts more than just an afternoon. Thank you again for taking the time to share your experience at Rosemont - we appreciate the recommendation!

Warmly,
William "Biff" Genda
Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Orange, Florida
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

Great property and beautiful grounds a great choice for a reunion from a few to several people. Especially choosing one of the cottages works well. This is not the place for those who need to be plugged in to their email or internet. There is no TV either. So it is perfect for a get together with friends and to concentrate on each other.

Room Tip: No bad rooms, but some a bit larger than others. This is an old manor house after all.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RMInnkeeper, Owner at Rosemont Manor, responded to this review, June 3, 2013
Thank you so much for your review! We are so pleased that you and your friends enjoyed your reunion at Rosemont! It is wonderful when a group of friends can get away and enjoy the beauty of the manor and its surrounding 60 acres of grounds. Not having TV's at Rosemont is a very intentional decision, so that our guests can have a place of quiet respite without the noise of a "talk box" coming from a nearby room! To clarify in terms of internet access, we DO have free wifi within the main manor and in the Carriage House, but not in the cottages.

Thank you again for taking the time to write us such a kind and gracious review! We appreciate your group for choosing Rosemont, and hope that you will make it an annual tradition!

Warmly,
William "Biff" Genda
Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fredericksburg, Virginia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013

We had the great pleasure of staying two nights at Historic Rosemont Manor in Berryville VA May 1st and 2nd, 2013. It is easily reached from Northern VA out Route 7 towards Winchester and once you turn into their entrance, it’s like stepping back to a more gentile era with beautiful and well kept grounds and a marvelously restored estate home. We were fortunate that the Dogwoods were in bloom and the Weeping Cherry Trees were just dropping their blossoms. When combined with the lilacs, there was a delightful fragrance throughout the expansive grounds. We were welcomed with a glass of wine and light hors d’oeuvres by the cheery hostess who led all the new guests on a tour of the many guest rooms on the way to ours which was the Byrd’s Study, chosen because it had a small balcony overlooking the back lawn. The room was delightfully appointed and very comfortable. The door to the private bath actually had the height markers from the Byrd children still inscribed from Christmas 1936. While small, the bathroom and tiled shower were fully functional. Everything was spotless and the bed lights were bright enough for reading without any problems. The rooms have radios but no TVs. The Wi FI reception was excellent throughout the home and included with the room as is a wonderful breakfast. The hostess goes over the breakfast menu when you check-in and the chef is very willing to accommodate and dietary needs. Both mornings the breakfast, served between 8:30 and 9:15, was delicious and included a fruit plate, hot entre, as well as juices and coffee. The guestroom was quiet and the bedding quite comfortable with very nice sheets. Twice a year there is a benefit art show at nearby Millwood and we enjoyed exploring the old mill with a rare interior waterwheel as we viewed the offerings from many local and talented artists. Berryville is located in the heart of Virginia wine country so there are many wineries within an easy drive as well as Civil War battlefields and historic areas like Harper’s Ferry West Virginia and the towns of Winchester and Middleburg Virginia. The Sky Line Drive and state parks offer a variety of nearby hiking opportunities. However, you may not be able to drag yourself away from the tranquility and the beautiful grounds featuring many exotic and rare trees on their 60 acres and have a detailed map to allow you to explore them on your own. The home is an architectural delight only recently reopened to the public (January 2011) with tremendous facilities for weddings (30 in the first year and more each year since). The rooms are named for the dignitaries who stayed here when Rosemont was the home of Virginia Senator Byrd and include such names as Kennedy, Churchill, Eisenhower, Nixon, Roosevelt, and many more. We opted for a room with a shower but now realize that each of the “bathtub” rooms include a hand-held shower nozzle and would be just fine. We are looking forward to our next visit and plan to be sure to make it back to see the estate decorated for Christmas.

Room Tip: Some of the larger rooms may only have a bathtub but all come with a hand-held shower wand so don...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RMInnkeeper, Owner at Rosemont Manor, responded to this review, May 6, 2013
Thank you so much for your very kind and gracious words. We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay and embraced all that Rosemont and the surrounding area have to offer. We appreciate you taking the time to share your experiences at Rosemont, and we look forward to your next visit - Christmastime is a wonderful choice!

Warmly,
William "Biff" Genda
Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013

I bought a coupon through Recoup for 2 nights in a suite, with breakfast both days, a picnic lunch, a wine and cheese reception, and tastings for 2 at 3 winerys. Before purchasing the coupon, I did my homework on the dates and days of the week allowed for the stay (these are CLEARLY labeled, check before you buy) and on basic information about the manor especially since I had never stayed at a B&B before. Rosemont is a historic B&B, NOT a Comfort Inn, adjust your expectations accordingly. Before I get into details, I have to say we went with the purpose of unplugging, relaxing, and exploring VA wine country. To that end, Rosemont was PERFECT and we will definitely return. Frankly, I cannot imagine staying at another B&B because I feel like Rosemont will just put them to shame.

PROS -

-It only took us about 80 minutes to get to Rosemont from DC, and it was an easy drive. Definitely doable for a 2 day stay!
-The staff were AMAZING. So nice, so helpful, so accommodating. We had to reschedule multiple times because of freak occurrences (my mother passed away, snow storm, etc.) and they could not have been nicer. Many of them asked what we planned to do while in the area (and seemed genuinely interested) and offered up advice on places to go based on those interests.
-You know when you see amazing pictures of something, show up and are like "Eh." This was NOT like that. It is just as immaculately kept as the pictures show. The portico is amazing and the floors are made out of special material that doesn't absorb heat or inclement weather the way real wood does. You can tell that is is lovingly cared for. Really well done.
-ALL of the rooms and suites have private bathrooms. I found this to be a major plus, as it seems to be a luxury at most B&B's.
-breakfast was WONDERFUL day one was a really yummy parfait with banana nut french toast and sausage and day 2 was a sweet potato pancake with bacon, eggs, and fresh fruit.
-No TVs! Again, this is a historic old home, so the walls are a bit on the thin side. It was nice to know we could come and unplug without listening to another room blasting a tv all night.
-Less than 5 minutes from downtown Berryville (which had some surprisingly expensive food -- I'm looking at you Battletown Inn with that pathetic $8 starter salad) but while on the portico it felt like you were in the middle of nowhere. Best of both worlds!

CONS -
-Disclaimer: I knew this going in because I checked their website, but while the rooms all have private bathrooms, each one is different. Some only have showers, and some only have baths with handhelds. Again, ALL of this information is on their website, so check before you pick a room and make sure you're comfortable with what you choose. We stayed in the Churchill Suite, which had duel sinks and an AWESOME giant tub. It was a little weird washing my hair with a handheld (mostly because I was terrified of ruining the amazing mirror above the tub) but it was fine for 2 days on a lazy vaca, and frankly I wouldn't have traded that tub for anything. The water pressure on the handheld was too light for my thick hair, though. The bathroom is definitely more modern than most of the others, which seem to have claw foot tubs.
-The reason I couldn't give 5 stars: bugs. So I am TERRIFIED of any and all bugs. There seemed to be bugs on the large side (not like cockroach large but definitely sizable) throughout the manor. They looked like stink bugs, but there were 5 in our bathroom during the stay, at least 5 throughout the room, and I saw them occasionally throughout the manor (on a love seat, in a flower on the table at breakfast, on door frames, etc.) I realize it was spring in an old home, but it was a bit disconcerting when I put on my glasses in the morning to realize I had a ladybug chilling on my lens. I ended up making sure that our bags were firmly zipped shut throughout the stay to avoid any unwanted critters making the trip back to DC.
-The free guest parking was nice, but keep in mind its not directly on top of the manor (like 2 minutes walk on the grounds) but in the dead of night, that walk is blocked by the space they seem to use for wedding receptions and special events and therefore that walk is pretty dark. My city imagination was running wild, but I'm sure there was nothing to worry about, just something to keep in mind.

TIPS:
-The suites are A LOT bigger than most of the rooms, if you're not a light packer, or if you think you will want some space in your room to relax, go with a suite.
-The newer wing is down a hallway away from the grand staircase, and as a result seems like the room might maintain better heat in the cold months.
-The Roosevelt suite is perfect for those unable to do a long set of stairs, because it is on the first floor. BUT, keep in mind, it is on the first floor, and it's right next to the guest entrance/exit.
-You cannot walk to the wineries from Rosemont, so plan ahead and don't drink and drive!
-I know it says that restaurants in the area are open until 11 on their respective websites... but they're not. We walked into a restaurant in town at 8:45pm and was told they were about to close the kitchen (they were SUPER nice and still sat us - we made it quick getting soup, salad, and a sandwich) and the server warned us "I know some small towns aren't like this, but this one totally shuts down at 9pm. One time a couple from DC asked me what nightclubs were good around here." Berryville... nightclubs...c'mon America, let's not embarrass ourselves.
-Do your research in advance, EVERYTHING you could ever need to know about Rosemont is on their website, just look! THEN ask for advice and they'll give you awesome recommendations!

Room Tip: Roosevelt Suite is on the first floor next to guest entrance/exit, Eisenhower and Churchill suites a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RMInnkeeper, Owner at Rosemont Manor, responded to this review, April 15, 2013
Thank you so much for your comprehensive review! We are so glad that you enjoyed your stay at Rosemont and were able to relax and unwind during your getaway. It sounds like you made the most of your time both at the manor and in Berryville and the surrounding area.

We also appreciate your comments about reading the website. We work diligently to provide the very best and most updated information about Rosemont on our website. Unlike many businesses who rarely revisit their web content, we make updates and improvements to our website on a weekly if not daily basis. To that end, there really should be no surprises for our guests when they come to stay, including the fact that we do not have TV's (for the very reasons you mentioned). The information about each of the individual bathrooms is also listed in each room's description on the website so that our guests can make an informed choice. (And many, like you, love having the large sculpted or clawfoot tubs even though they involve the use of the hand-held shower.) So, THANK YOU, for reading the website ahead of time so that you could plan your Rosemont stay according to your preferences.

Thank you also for your kind words about our staff, breakfasts, and the overall beauty of Rosemont. We do our best to post amazing photographs, but we really do believe Rosemont is a place you have to see (in person!) to believe.

Now, if I may, I'd like to address a couple of the other issues mentioned. First, yes, what you saw were stinkbugs. They are the BANE of the mid-Atlantic! They are harmless to humans, other than their not-so-lovely appearance, but they are certainly quite difficult to get rid of. They can be found in and around any home in our area, and guess what they love most -- old wood! Naturally, a 200 year old manor, despite being newly restored, is a paradise for these critters. Nonetheless, we do everything in our power to keep them out, and to remove them when they make their way in. We encourage guests, if they encounter one of these unwelcome visitors, to alert a staff member who will promptly remove it for them.

Also, in terms of the parking area, that is a space that should most definitely have been illuminated for you, so we apologize if the parking area was dark. There are lights there, so we will look into this immediately and make sure that the bulbs are in good working order so that this should not be a continued issue.

Thank you again for taking the time to share your experiences at Rosemont! We are flattered that you feel we are above and beyond other B&B's, and we hope that means you'll come back to see us again!

Sincerely,
William "Biff" Genda
Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

We spent two nights at the Rosemont at one of their suites and found the property to be beautifully restored and the staff very friendly and accommodative. The room was well appointed, beautifully decorated with an eye toward keeping the period feel in tact. Breakfast was delicious and interesting, not your standard eggs and bacon. The front porch is a beautiful place to relax with a book or a cocktail. Be sure to bring your own drinks as the manor doesn't have a bar and a wine reception is offered on your first night only, not nightly as is the case in other bed and breakfasts. My only complaint was with the stink bugs. I did not even know what they were until we saw them in our room. It seems the are quite prevalent in this area particularly in the colder months. They are harmless, don't bite and are easily killed but they are quite ugly. If you are squeamish about bugs you may have a rough time as we probably killed more than a dozen each day. The hotel is located off the track but close to some nice vineyards.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RMInnkeeper, Owner at Rosemont Manor, responded to this review, April 2, 2013
Thank you so much for your feedback! We are so glad that you enjoyed your accommodations at Rosemont as well as the breakfasts and overall service. It sounds like you did a great job of taking advantage of the mountain views off the Grand Portico and visiting local vineyards during your trip.

We do apologize for the stink bugs - they are truly a challenge to every homeowner and business owner in our region! We do our best to keep them at bay without using environmentally harmful pesticides, but they do sometimes make their way in at this time of year. We encourage guests to alert the staff whenever one of the unwelcome "critters" is found and we'll be happy to remove it for you.

Thank you again for choosing Rosemont for your overnight getaway. We hope you will come back and see us again soon.

Sincerely,
William "Biff" Genda
Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Federalsburg Maryland
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

Rosemont Manor is a historical cultural icon where American history dwells. Here is where you can walk in the same halls where some of the most influential American Presidents walked. I could almost feel the presence of Franklin D Roosevelt, Richard Nixon, and John F Kennedy as I strolled Rosemont's halls. The grounds of Rosemont were expansive and beautiful. The architectural beauty beyond description. The morning breakfast was outstanding and everyone at Rosemont made me feel special.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RMInnkeeper, Owner at Rosemont Manor, responded to this review, March 16, 2013
Thank you so much for your gracious review. We are always pleased to hear that our guests have truly embraced the rich history which surrounds Rosemont. From its inception as a wedding present from the first high sheriff of Clarke County for his bride, to the Civil War battle fought on the grounds, to the Byrd Family and their distinguished Presidential and influential guests, Rosemont really is brimming with over 200 years of history.

We are so glad that you enjoyed a comfortable stay and a delicious breakfast as well! Thank you again for your kind words and we hope that you'll be back to see us again soon.

Warmly,
William "Biff" Genda
Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Rosemont Manor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rosemont Manor

Address: 16 Rosemont Manor Lane, Berryville, VA 22611
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Berryville
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Berryville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with T4B so you can book your Rosemont Manor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rosemont Manor Hotel Berryville

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rosemont Manor, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.