We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a wonderful weekend” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Rosemont Manor

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Rosemont Manor to your Saves list
Rosemont Manor
16 Rosemont Manor Lane, Berryville, VA 22611   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 6 Berryville B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
crittenden,virginia
Level Contributor
114 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“a wonderful weekend”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

Just got back from a wonderful weekend at the Rosemont. The inn is in the town of berryville, va, a small charming town with many wineries within a 5 to 15 min ride. The inn is beautiful with mountain views all around. Our room was very pretty, we got to see some of the other rooms and all were different, and decorated very nice. They had a cheese and wine reception after check in, in the lobby, you could sit in the formal living room or the rocking chairs on the porch, to sit and enjoy the landscape. Breakfast was in the dinning room starting at 8: 30. The tables were set with white tables clothes, fine china, and fresh flowers. The breakfast started out with coffee, teas and juices, went to the first course of fruits and yogurts, and then on to the main course of eggs, meats and breads.The presentation of the food was all gourmet. They will even do a lunch basket for you if you would like to take it on your day trip. You have skyline drive close by, wineries, antiques, restaurants, horse racing, and casino all great for a day trip.
the perfect place for a get away.

Room Tip: I thought all rooms were nice, but one room had a balcony, and one room had a private porch what wou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RMInnkeeper, Owner at Rosemont Manor, responded to this review, March 1, 2013
We're so glad to hear you enjoyed your stay at Rosemont, and we appreciate you taking the time to share your experience. It sounds like you made the most of your time - enjoying Berryville and the surrounding attractions, as well as just relaxing at Rosemont and enjoying the peace and quiet.

We're also pleased that you enjoyed breakfast - our chef has travelled the world and is excited to offer delicious and unique selections to our guests. Her breakfasts are one of the reasons people say they come back to Rosemont!

Thank you again for your kind words, and we hope to see you at Rosemont again soon!

Warmly,
William "Biff" Genda
Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

183 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    141
    33
    7
    0
    2
See reviews for
22
128
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Silver Spring, Maryland
Level Contributor
47 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

I treated my husband to an extended birthday weekend at the Rosemont. I was pleasantly surprised by the fresh and airy feel of the historical B&B. The staff was friendly and helpful; the facility was clean; the small town of Berryville is a little sleepy, Winchester, a bit larger is just a few minutes away. We went in February so not a lot of green, but I could tell that the grounds were taken care of. I loved the view of the land from the portico. The breakfast was ok. My husband and I are used to big hardy breakfasts characteristic in the south, that was not the case here. Other than the stink bugs that remained a constant in our suite, we were pleased with our accomodations. I guess we had so many of the critters because our room was right next to the front entrance. We stayed in the Roosevelt suite. It was very comfortable and we were happy about having a room thermostat which allowed us to adjust the heat as necessary. I can see why couples would use this site as a wedding venue. It is lovely. If you go, be aware that many of the local restaurants are closed on Sunday or close early. Our hosts recommended the Battletown Inn and the Berryville Grill. We missed both of those and ended up at Mario's Pizzaria. We were not pleased at all with our pizzas. We would love to revisit the Rosemont in the spring or summer.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RMInnkeeper, Owner at Rosemont Manor, responded to this review, March 1, 2013
Thank you so much for choosing Rosemont for your overnight getway and thank you for taking the time to write a review. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed the beauty of the manor and the surrounding grounds. We do apologize for those darned stink bugs - that weekend was unseasonably warm in the Shenandoah Valley and we ended up with some unwanted visitors making their way into the manor through some open windows.

We're glad you were able to explore both Berryville and nearby Winchester during your stay as well. We do hope you'll make a trip back to see us in the spring or summer when everything is in bloom.

Sincerely,
William "Biff" Genda
Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leesburg, Virginia
Level Contributor
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

This review is a bit overdue (friend's wedding in Sept '12). My boyfriend was one of the groomsmen in the wedding on this elegant property. The wedding couple rented out the whole property for the weekend. It was beautiful! Each party member received their own accommodations for the weekend. There were wonderful breakfasts each morning and the food was outstanding. The rooms were clean, quiet and comfortable. The views were amazing and the property so picturesque! I loved having the rehearsal dinner on their grand porch and a cocktail hour the evening after the wedding. There was plenty to be done during the day in the town of Berryville as well. Including a small town barber shop! The entire experience was amazing. Let me not forget the wonderful and courteous staff who was a great help throughout the entire stay. Very, very friendly.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RMInnkeeper, Owner at Rosemont Manor, responded to this review, February 20, 2013
Thank you so much for your kind words -- it's never too late for a wonderful review like this one! We are so glad that you, your boyfriend, and your friends all enjoyed your weekend at Rosemont. Whether our guests are here for a wedding, an overnight getaway, or a manor house tea, we want their stay to be the ultimate in comfort and luxury. We are pleased to hear that you were able to experience the quaint, hometown feel of Berryville, as well as enjoying the 60 acre property at Rosemont and its views of the Blue Ridge Mountains. Thank you again for your gracious review, and we hope to see you at Rosemont again soon -- for an overnight stay, a tea, or maybe someday for your own wedding!

Warmly,
William "Biff" Genda
Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Potomac, Maryland
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

Our daughter was a bridesmaid in a wedding at Rosemont Manor last spring, 2012 and she could not say enough about the beauty of this Estate in Berryville, Va. and the Inn. Well my husband and I decided to give it a try 1 1/2 from Washington, D.C. and arrived late Friday night, enjoyed a wonderful meal at Battletown Inn and then promptly got sick with the stomach virus for the rest of the weekend and never left my room for 48 hours. The staff, Suzanne, Bill and myraid others were so attentive to my sick bay needs over the weekend. They went of their way to serve and help me during my brief sickness. The view out of my window snowing and the lovely atmosphere of our room certainly helped me get better faster. We cannot wait to visit again and see more of the grounds, see some of the sights around town and visit the Vineyards. What a place to be sick but feel so very cared for! Almost like home!!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RMInnkeeper, Owner at Rosemont Manor, responded to this review, February 5, 2013
Thank you so much for writing us such a wonderful review despite the less-than-ideal circumstances! We are sorry that you were not feeling well during your stay, but we are relieved to hear that we did everything we could to make you comfortable during your illness. It is always our goal to make our guests feel at home, yet with a little more pampering, so that desire is certainly amplified when someone is under the weather.

We do hope that you will come back again when you are feeling better so that you can fully enjoy the manor, 60 acre grounds, and the tourism opportunities of the surrounding area.

Thank you again for your kind words, and we are glad that you are back to good health!

Warmly,
William "Biff" Genda
Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

My wife and I recently married at Rosemont Manor. Our guests included family and children. Our total number of wedding guests were fourteen adults and ten children. The manor provide an elegant but comfortable setting for our wedding. One could get a sense of the historical ambiance of Rosemont Manor by the overall decor. Each couple had their own room that included a bathtub or shower. A few rooms had balconies which could be used for an elegant night accompanied with wine and cheese. We rented the entire manor which allowed children to play in designated play areas and run through out the property. Rosemont provided meals has we requested. Chef Tona put together the most spectacular food arrangements one could ask for. She is a true artist and her passion for food was felt through the detail she put into every meal. Chef Tona also explained how each meal was perpared and the ingredients that went into the preperation. Overall we could have not ask for a more perfect wedding. The Rosemont staff did an amazing job preparing and executing our wedding. Rosemont would be a great place for family reunions and gatherings, business getaways, and small weddings. Whatever your occasion, we highly recommend Rosemont Manor.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RMInnkeeper, Owner at Rosemont Manor, responded to this review, January 7, 2013
Congratulations on your recent wedding and thank you so much for taking the time to write a review! It was our pleasure to host you and your family for your special event. Rosemont was a private residence for nearly 200 years, and now as a wedding venue and B&B, it continues to be a place where family and good old fashioned southern hospitality are paramount.

Our new small wedding package offers an intimate, family-oriented option for couples looking for a meaningful event without all the bells and whistles. Providing the in-house catering (more like home cooking!) for these events is Chef Tona's passion, and really allows her to show off her many years of culinary expertise.

We are so grateful for your recommendation, and we really enjoyed meeting your wonderful family. We hope you'll come back and see us soon!

Warmly,
William "Biff" Genda
Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yardley, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2012

We have stayed at B&BS before, but none have been anywhere as breathtaking as this spectacular property - a truly extraordinary surprise. The house is a large and graceful manor house set in extensive grounds, which in the twentieth century hosted many famous guests including U.S. presidents, Churchill and Einstein. The rooms are named after some of these famous visitors. We were fortunate to stay in the Roosevelt suite, named for FDR. The public rooms and furniture are classically beautiful. These were enhanced by outstanding Christmas decorations - frankly the most tasteful and lovely we have seen anywhere. The staff was very friendly and attentive, and a tasty breakfast was elegantly presented and served. This is a real find and all round winner. We intend to be back!

Room Tip: Look on their website which has great photos of all rooms -then call Rosemont Manor. The manager is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
William G, Owner at Rosemont Manor, responded to this review, December 14, 2012
Thank you, David, for taking the time to share your thoughts on Rosemont! We are so pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay. We are blessed to be able to host our guests in such an historic setting, and we do our best to provide excellent customer service as well.

We look forward to having you back at Rosemont again soon!

Warmly,
William "Biff" Genda
Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

We basked in the beauty of this Georgian manor house with its heavy crowns and wainscotings, and traditional and contemporary Christmas decorations. While its wi-fi enabled we turned off the technology and turned back the clock in this stately setting. Each suite has a different theme with gorgeous rich colors and well appointed bathrooms.There is plenty of staff to see to your every question and request but they are transparent to your experience of carrying around a glass of wine and a plate of cheeses at the Inn Keepers party, listening to classic piano and playing a game of chess. In this historic area there are lots of places to visit but our real find was our evening at L'Auberge Provencale in White Post, just 10 miles away. This top Zagat # 57 French inn and restaurant is another warm location where you are treated like family. while enjoying the gourmet foods and wines. It took me almost my my whole over night stay to unwind. Next time two nights!

Room Tip: The Churchill Suite is the quietest and many the largest
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
William G, Owner at Rosemont Manor, responded to this review, December 10, 2012
Thank you so much for your kind and well-spoken review! We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay at Rosemont during the holiday season. We do strive to make sure that our guests are attended to as needed, yet can feel at home without anyone hovering over them, so we are glad that you found this to be the case during your stay.

We are also pleased to hear that you enjoyed dining at nearby L'Auberge! We will be sure to pass along your recommendation to future guests.

Speaking of future guests, we hope you will come back soon for two nights! We look forward to your return, and thank you again for taking the time to share your experience.

Warmly,
William "Biff" Genda
Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Berryville
9.3 mi away
The George Washington A Wyndham Grand Hotel
11.1 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Winchester
8.5 mi away
aloft Winchester
aloft Winchester
#12 of 27 in Winchester
4.0 of 5 stars 348 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.4 mi away
Candlewood Suites Winchester
Candlewood Suites Winchester
#14 of 27 in Winchester
4.0 of 5 stars 103 reviews
8.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Winchester-North
Hampton Inn Winchester-North
#3 of 27 in Winchester
4.5 of 5 stars 371 reviews
12.8 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Charles Town
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rosemont Manor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rosemont Manor

Address: 16 Rosemont Manor Lane, Berryville, VA 22611
Location: United States > Virginia > Berryville
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Berryville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Number of rooms: 11
Also Known As:
Rosemont Manor Hotel Berryville

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rosemont Manor, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.