We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wedding Party” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Rosemont Manor

Save Saved
You added Rosemont Manor to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Rosemont Manor
16 Rosemont Manor Lane, Berryville, VA 22611   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Passes to Local Wineries
Ranked #2 of 6 Berryville B&B and Inns
Leesburg, Virginia
1 review
“Wedding Party”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

This review is a bit overdue (friend's wedding in Sept '12). My boyfriend was one of the groomsmen in the wedding on this elegant property. The wedding couple rented out the whole property for the weekend. It was beautiful! Each party member received their own accommodations for the weekend. There were wonderful breakfasts each morning and the food was outstanding. The rooms were clean, quiet and comfortable. The views were amazing and the property so picturesque! I loved having the rehearsal dinner on their grand porch and a cocktail hour the evening after the wedding. There was plenty to be done during the day in the town of Berryville as well. Including a small town barber shop! The entire experience was amazing. Let me not forget the wonderful and courteous staff who was a great help throughout the entire stay. Very, very friendly.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RMInnkeeper, Owner at Rosemont Manor, responded to this review, February 20, 2013
Thank you so much for your kind words -- it's never too late for a wonderful review like this one! We are so glad that you, your boyfriend, and your friends all enjoyed your weekend at Rosemont. Whether our guests are here for a wedding, an overnight getaway, or a manor house tea, we want their stay to be the ultimate in comfort and luxury. We are pleased to hear that you were able to experience the quaint, hometown feel of Berryville, as well as enjoying the 60 acre property at Rosemont and its views of the Blue Ridge Mountains. Thank you again for your gracious review, and we hope to see you at Rosemont again soon -- for an overnight stay, a tea, or maybe someday for your own wedding!

Warmly,
William "Biff" Genda
Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

163 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    125
    31
    5
    0
    2
See reviews for
20
114
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Potomac, Maryland
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

Our daughter was a bridesmaid in a wedding at Rosemont Manor last spring, 2012 and she could not say enough about the beauty of this Estate in Berryville, Va. and the Inn. Well my husband and I decided to give it a try 1 1/2 from Washington, D.C. and arrived late Friday night, enjoyed a wonderful meal at Battletown Inn and then promptly got sick with the stomach virus for the rest of the weekend and never left my room for 48 hours. The staff, Suzanne, Bill and myraid others were so attentive to my sick bay needs over the weekend. They went of their way to serve and help me during my brief sickness. The view out of my window snowing and the lovely atmosphere of our room certainly helped me get better faster. We cannot wait to visit again and see more of the grounds, see some of the sights around town and visit the Vineyards. What a place to be sick but feel so very cared for! Almost like home!!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RMInnkeeper, Owner at Rosemont Manor, responded to this review, February 5, 2013
Thank you so much for writing us such a wonderful review despite the less-than-ideal circumstances! We are sorry that you were not feeling well during your stay, but we are relieved to hear that we did everything we could to make you comfortable during your illness. It is always our goal to make our guests feel at home, yet with a little more pampering, so that desire is certainly amplified when someone is under the weather.

We do hope that you will come back again when you are feeling better so that you can fully enjoy the manor, 60 acre grounds, and the tourism opportunities of the surrounding area.

Thank you again for your kind words, and we are glad that you are back to good health!

Warmly,
William "Biff" Genda
Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013 via mobile

My wife and I recently married at Rosemont Manor. Our guests included family and children. Our total number of wedding guests were fourteen adults and ten children. The manor provide an elegant but comfortable setting for our wedding. One could get a sense of the historical ambiance of Rosemont Manor by the overall decor. Each couple had their own room that included a bathtub or shower. A few rooms had balconies which could be used for an elegant night accompanied with wine and cheese. We rented the entire manor which allowed children to play in designated play areas and run through out the property. Rosemont provided meals has we requested. Chef Tona put together the most spectacular food arrangements one could ask for. She is a true artist and her passion for food was felt through the detail she put into every meal. Chef Tona also explained how each meal was perpared and the ingredients that went into the preperation. Overall we could have not ask for a more perfect wedding. The Rosemont staff did an amazing job preparing and executing our wedding. Rosemont would be a great place for family reunions and gatherings, business getaways, and small weddings. Whatever your occasion, we highly recommend Rosemont Manor.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RMInnkeeper, Owner at Rosemont Manor, responded to this review, January 7, 2013
Congratulations on your recent wedding and thank you so much for taking the time to write a review! It was our pleasure to host you and your family for your special event. Rosemont was a private residence for nearly 200 years, and now as a wedding venue and B&B, it continues to be a place where family and good old fashioned southern hospitality are paramount.

Our new small wedding package offers an intimate, family-oriented option for couples looking for a meaningful event without all the bells and whistles. Providing the in-house catering (more like home cooking!) for these events is Chef Tona's passion, and really allows her to show off her many years of culinary expertise.

We are so grateful for your recommendation, and we really enjoyed meeting your wonderful family. We hope you'll come back and see us soon!

Warmly,
William "Biff" Genda
Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yardley, Pennsylvania
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2012

We have stayed at B&BS before, but none have been anywhere as breathtaking as this spectacular property - a truly extraordinary surprise. The house is a large and graceful manor house set in extensive grounds, which in the twentieth century hosted many famous guests including U.S. presidents, Churchill and Einstein. The rooms are named after some of these famous visitors. We were fortunate to stay in the Roosevelt suite, named for FDR. The public rooms and furniture are classically beautiful. These were enhanced by outstanding Christmas decorations - frankly the most tasteful and lovely we have seen anywhere. The staff was very friendly and attentive, and a tasty breakfast was elegantly presented and served. This is a real find and all round winner. We intend to be back!

Room Tip: Look on their website which has great photos of all rooms -then call Rosemont Manor. The manager is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
William G, Owner at Rosemont Manor, responded to this review, December 14, 2012
Thank you, David, for taking the time to share your thoughts on Rosemont! We are so pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay. We are blessed to be able to host our guests in such an historic setting, and we do our best to provide excellent customer service as well.

We look forward to having you back at Rosemont again soon!

Warmly,
William "Biff" Genda
Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

We basked in the beauty of this Georgian manor house with its heavy crowns and wainscotings, and traditional and contemporary Christmas decorations. While its wi-fi enabled we turned off the technology and turned back the clock in this stately setting. Each suite has a different theme with gorgeous rich colors and well appointed bathrooms.There is plenty of staff to see to your every question and request but they are transparent to your experience of carrying around a glass of wine and a plate of cheeses at the Inn Keepers party, listening to classic piano and playing a game of chess. In this historic area there are lots of places to visit but our real find was our evening at L'Auberge Provencale in White Post, just 10 miles away. This top Zagat # 57 French inn and restaurant is another warm location where you are treated like family. while enjoying the gourmet foods and wines. It took me almost my my whole over night stay to unwind. Next time two nights!

Room Tip: The Churchill Suite is the quietest and many the largest
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
William G, Owner at Rosemont Manor, responded to this review, December 10, 2012
Thank you so much for your kind and well-spoken review! We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay at Rosemont during the holiday season. We do strive to make sure that our guests are attended to as needed, yet can feel at home without anyone hovering over them, so we are glad that you found this to be the case during your stay.

We are also pleased to hear that you enjoyed dining at nearby L'Auberge! We will be sure to pass along your recommendation to future guests.

Speaking of future guests, we hope you will come back soon for two nights! We look forward to your return, and thank you again for taking the time to share your experience.

Warmly,
William "Biff" Genda
Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roanoke, VA
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012 via mobile

We held our daughter's wedding here and couldn't have been happier with the place and the people. From the wedding planner to the caterer, all supplemental services were excellent. The Manor itself is an historic site rich with stories. The grounds are beautiful, but were especially so on that beautiful fall weekend.
It is perfect for having a smaller wedding and having close friends and relatives stay on the grounds. There are great Civil War sites and vineyards to visit nearby.
Absolutely two thumbs up for those who want help with organizing a wedding.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RMInnkeeper, Owner at Rosemont Manor, responded to this review, November 19, 2012
Thank you so much for choosing Historic Rosemont for your daughter's big day, and thank you for taking the time to write a review. At Rosemont, our wedding clients become like family to us, and we make it a priority to make the process as smooth as possible for the bride, groom, and their families so that they can all relax and enjoy the festivities. We do our best to work with you to meet your needs, solve any potential problems before they arise, and to alleviate any fears you may have so that your dream wedding becomes a reality. With a variety of wedding packages, and multiple indoor and outdoor ceremony and reception locations, Rosemont truly is a wedding venue for all seasons. Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we wish both you, and your daughter and son-in-law all the best.

Warmly,
William "Biff" Genda
Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryland, US
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

Surprised we found this gem of a place & town only an hour and half away from us. The manor itself is rich with history and is nestled quietly on a beautiful property. Me and my wife enjoyed the peace we found at the Manor. We took our picnic lunch out to the grass and enjoyed the quiet from our busy lives.

Manor was very accommodating. They had snacks and beverages at no cost. Breakfast each morning was delicious. The picnic basket was a wonderful touch. And we loved having no tvs. They also provided us with many coupons to use throughout town.

The only downside to the manor (which is very hard to blame because of its age) are the paper thin walls. I'm sure some rooms are better than others. We could hear the conversations (in detail) of both of our neighbors. I felt bad if I had to use the bathroom during the night because I didn't want to wake up our neighbors. But that is sort of expected in a place such as this.

Overall, I would recommend this to people (mostly couples) and I would come back again (and try a different room).

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RMInnkeeper, Owner at Rosemont Manor, responded to this review, November 8, 2012
We are so glad you found us! Thank you for your review and for recommending us to others looking for a romantic getaway or quiet retreat. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your picnic lunch and that you received excellent service. We do hope you'll come back and see us again soon.

Warmly,
William "Biff" Genda
Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Rosemont Manor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rosemont Manor

Address: 16 Rosemont Manor Lane, Berryville, VA 22611
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Berryville
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Berryville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with T4B so you can book your Rosemont Manor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rosemont Manor Hotel Berryville

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rosemont Manor, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.