We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Romantic Escape from the DC area” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Rosemont Manor

Save Saved
You added Rosemont Manor to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Rosemont Manor
16 Rosemont Manor Lane, Berryville, VA 22611   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Deal
Passes to Local Wineries
Maryland, US
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Romantic Escape from the DC area”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

Surprised we found this gem of a place & town only an hour and half away from us. The manor itself is rich with history and is nestled quietly on a beautiful property. Me and my wife enjoyed the peace we found at the Manor. We took our picnic lunch out to the grass and enjoyed the quiet from our busy lives.

Manor was very accommodating. They had snacks and beverages at no cost. Breakfast each morning was delicious. The picnic basket was a wonderful touch. And we loved having no tvs. They also provided us with many coupons to use throughout town.

The only downside to the manor (which is very hard to blame because of its age) are the paper thin walls. I'm sure some rooms are better than others. We could hear the conversations (in detail) of both of our neighbors. I felt bad if I had to use the bathroom during the night because I didn't want to wake up our neighbors. But that is sort of expected in a place such as this.

Overall, I would recommend this to people (mostly couples) and I would come back again (and try a different room).

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RMInnkeeper, Owner at Rosemont Manor, responded to this review, November 8, 2012
We are so glad you found us! Thank you for your review and for recommending us to others looking for a romantic getaway or quiet retreat. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your picnic lunch and that you received excellent service. We do hope you'll come back and see us again soon.

Warmly,
William "Biff" Genda
Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

146 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    113
    28
    4
    0
    1
See reviews for
17
103
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Chapel Hill, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2012

It was a crisp fall day when we checked into the Rosemont Manor. We chose the Nixon suite because of its larger size and a sun porch. The room was quite nice except for the rather bad Nixon portrait and a few stink bugs. I guess we will have to choose a different room next time.
After unpacking we explored some of the other rooms which had yet to be occupied. All were very well decorated with themes based upon historical figures who had visited the Manor.
In the late afternoon, we were treated to wine, cheese and other snacks.
The town of Berryville has some very good places to eat or one could drive a few miles more to Winchester for a broader selection.
That night we were quite pleased with the comfort of the queen sized bed and slept very well.
The next morning we had a great breakfast which included three ginger pancakes with a dollop of vanilla yogurt topped with apple-butter jam, link sausage and baked apples. Yum-Yum.
In our package we were given passes to three nearby boutique wineries; each with their own variety of grapes and ways of creating some interesting wines. Rosemont also packed us a picnic basket lunch including a chicken wrap, chips, apple, cookies, bottled water and wine. Because of the excellent weather, we were able to enjoy a wonderful lunch on the road in a very scenic area of Virginia.
There is no television, so we brought reading material to enjoy before going to bed.
Breakfast the next morning included half of a pear accented with Devonshire cream, three cheese omelet, Canadian bacon and corn muffins. The service both mornings was outstanding.
We also were very pleased with all the other staff at the Rosemont.
This was a nice getaway with many interesting things to do or not do.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RMInnkeeper, Owner at Rosemont Manor, responded to this review, October 16, 2012
Thank you so much for choosing Rosemont for your fall getaway and for taking the time to share your experience. We are so glad that you found the accommodations to be relaxing and comfortable. We are pleased that you enjoyed your home-cooked breakfasts and picnic lunch, and that you were able to find time to visit the nearby wineries as well. Again, thank you for your kind words and we hope you'll come see us at Rosemont again soon.

Warmly,
William "Biff" Genda
Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Towson, Maryland, United States
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

As a mid week get away, my wife and I traveled about 90 miles to the Rosemont Manor in Berryville. It is an historic, wonderfully landscaped, very relaxed bed and breakfast. It was very pleasant rocking in the chairs on the large porch enjoying the view of the grounds and mountains in the distance. Our room was decorated nicely and was comfortable. Breakfast was really tasty. The staff was very welcoming and we thoroughly enjoyed this mid week get away.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RMInnkeeper, Owner at Rosemont Manor, responded to this review, October 3, 2012
We are so glad you enjoyed your mid-week stay at Rosemont! We are pleased to hear that your room was comfortable, and that you received a warm welcome and great breakfasts. We want our guests to truly feel at home and to be able to relax and fully enjoy their stay. Thanks so much for taking the time to share your experience. We hope to see you at Rosemont again soon.

Warmly,
William "Biff" Genda
Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmington, Delaware
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

Wonderful historic Mansion with huge rocking chairs on the enormous portico. Friendly staff and great accomodations. Beautifully landscaped grounds with acres of walking area. A nice quiet place to relax and get away from all the stress in our lives. Breakfasts were delicious and they have a room with complimentary snacks, water bottles, sodas and ice available at all times.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RMInnkeeper, Owner at Rosemont Manor, responded to this review, October 3, 2012
Thanks so much for choosing Rosemont for your relaxing getaway and thank you for your gracious review. We are pleased to hear that your time at Rosemont was rejuvinating and enjoyable. The rocking chairs are a fairly new addition and we're glad you were able to sit and enjoy the views of the Blue Ridge Mountains. We hope that you will come see us again soon!

Warmly,
William "Biff" Genda
Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newtown, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2012

My husband and I just got back from a mini getaway at the Rosemont. We were extremely pleased with our stay. The house itself was gorgeous and sits on 60 acres of beautiful grounds. The staff was super friendly and knowledgeable regarding the surrounding area. They really did go out of their way to make you feel very welcome. Berryville itself is a quaint little town with some really nice places to eat along with some very nice wineries that we visited. They have a wine and cheese reception on Monday and Wednesdays so that you can get to know the other guests staying in the manor. Breakfast in the morning was delicious! We had fresh fruit, vegetable and egg fratattas, bacon and biscuits. The surrounding towns (Leesburg, Winchester, George Town, Harpers Ferry, WV) have lots to do. Whether you're into antingues, great food, great wine, history or adventure, it's all right there. Go visit if you can, you won't be disappointed!

Room Tip: We stayed in the Johnson room which was lovely. It was very bright and cheery and the queen size be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RMInnkeeper, Owner at Rosemont Manor, responded to this review, September 23, 2012
Thank you so much for choosing Rosemont for your getaway and thank you for taking the time to write a review, We are so glad that you enjoyed your stay and were able to enjoy the surrounding areas of Berryville, Charlestown, Harper's Ferry, etc. We do try to be as knowledgeable as possible when it comes to local restaurants and attractions. My family has lived in the area for many years and most of our staff is from Berryville as well, so we know all of the "best kept secrets"!

We're pleased to hear that you enjoyed the innkeeper's wine and cheese reception, currently being held on Monday and Wednesday evenings. These days do change seasonally, so we encourage future guests to check, when making their reservations, to find out when the receptions are being held at the time of their stay.

Thanks again for your kind words and we hope you'll come see us at Rosemont again soon.

Warmly,

William "Biff" Genda
Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reston
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2012

In Aug. 2012 i took my mom on a "Mom/Daughter" weekend. Rosemont was perfect... It is in a small quaint town, 15 min. from Winchester where there is some great boutique shopping... but the best was Rosemont itself. It's more of an event to be there - then to be at just a hotel. It is full of history, has beautiful grounds and the decor and interior is so tasteful and beautiful. The staff is warm and friendly. It was fun to learn the history of the place and the size makes it a great place to walk around... in the evening, after dinner, my mom and i played games in the parlor. In the evening, on the first night, they have cheese, crackers, and wine and we sat on the veranda and watched deer in the distance. It is a Great getaway!

Room Tip: We liked the Einstein room...it's perfect for two.. the bathroom has two double shower heads.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RMInnkeeper, Owner at Rosemont Manor, responded to this review, September 10, 2012
We are so pleased to hear that you and your mom enjoyed your special weekend at Rosemont! Thank you so much for taking the time to share your experiences. We're glad you liked the innkeeper's wine and cheese reception, which takes place on selected evenings in the historic Nimitz Lounge. How fun that you got a glimpse of our deer family! The 8-point buck and his entourage have been making more frequent appearances recently, so that's great that you got to say hello.

Thanks again for your review and we hope you'll make it a tradition and bring your mom back to Rosemont for another visit soon!

Warmly,
William "Biff" Genda
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2012 via mobile

My husband and I stayed at Rosemont for two nights in September 2012. We were so impressed! Rosemont is beautiful in itself - charming and classy, without feeling stuffy or unwelcoming. We especially loved sitting on the rocking chairs on the large outdoor portico - so peaceful and relaxing. The grounds are well-maintained, and the guest room was very comfortable, clean and nicely decorated. You can tell that the staff strive to make each guest's stay wonderful. While there, we enjoyed DELICIOUS breakfasts, Starbucks coffee, snacks, wine & cheese and a picnic lunch. As far as the personnel go, we have never been treated so nicely! The woman who checked us in was polite, friendly, professional, and she took time to explain all the pertinent details of our stay. The general manager remembered our names and went out of his way to make us feel welcome. The owner is also amiable and spent time talking with all of the guests. We have never been to a hotel/B&B with that kind of personal touch. Even the women who served coffee and breakfast were awesome! We absolutely cannot wait to go back (unfortunately, we had never been to any kind of B&B before this, so I'm afraid our expectations are quite high now!). If you are looking for a beautiful, relaxing place to stay in Virginia that treats their guests with true hospitality- this is it!

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RMInnkeeper, Owner at Rosemont Manor, responded to this review, September 6, 2012
We are so glad you enjoyed your stay at Rosemont and we thank you so much for taking the time to write a review. As you have so kindly said, we really do strive to make sure that our guests have a great experience, and we hope to always exceed your expectations! We are blessed with a staff that truly believes in the legacy of Rosemont as a place of welcoming hospitality, respite, and comfort. Our goal is for you to feel at home here -- only a little more pampered!

Once again, we really appreciate your gracious words, and we hope you'll come see us again soon.

Warmly,

William "Biff" Genda
Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Rosemont Manor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rosemont Manor

Also Known As:
Rosemont Manor Hotel Berryville
Rosemont Manor Hotel
Address: 16 Rosemont Manor Lane, Berryville, VA 22611
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Berryville
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Berryville
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with T4B so you can book your Rosemont Manor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rosemont Manor, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.