We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Fall Vacation” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Rosemont Manor

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save Saved
You added Rosemont Manor to your Saves list
Rosemont Manor
16 Rosemont Manor Lane, Berryville, VA 22611   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Deal
Passes to Local Wineries
Ranked #2 of 6 Berryville B&B and Inns
Wilmington, Delaware
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Great Fall Vacation”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

Wonderful historic Mansion with huge rocking chairs on the enormous portico. Friendly staff and great accomodations. Beautifully landscaped grounds with acres of walking area. A nice quiet place to relax and get away from all the stress in our lives. Breakfasts were delicious and they have a room with complimentary snacks, water bottles, sodas and ice available at all times.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RMInnkeeper, Owner at Rosemont Manor, responded to this review, October 3, 2012
Thanks so much for choosing Rosemont for your relaxing getaway and thank you for your gracious review. We are pleased to hear that your time at Rosemont was rejuvinating and enjoyable. The rocking chairs are a fairly new addition and we're glad you were able to sit and enjoy the views of the Blue Ridge Mountains. We hope that you will come see us again soon!

Warmly,
William "Biff" Genda
Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

164 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    126
    31
    5
    0
    2
See reviews for
20
115
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Newtown, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2012

My husband and I just got back from a mini getaway at the Rosemont. We were extremely pleased with our stay. The house itself was gorgeous and sits on 60 acres of beautiful grounds. The staff was super friendly and knowledgeable regarding the surrounding area. They really did go out of their way to make you feel very welcome. Berryville itself is a quaint little town with some really nice places to eat along with some very nice wineries that we visited. They have a wine and cheese reception on Monday and Wednesdays so that you can get to know the other guests staying in the manor. Breakfast in the morning was delicious! We had fresh fruit, vegetable and egg fratattas, bacon and biscuits. The surrounding towns (Leesburg, Winchester, George Town, Harpers Ferry, WV) have lots to do. Whether you're into antingues, great food, great wine, history or adventure, it's all right there. Go visit if you can, you won't be disappointed!

Room Tip: We stayed in the Johnson room which was lovely. It was very bright and cheery and the queen size be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RMInnkeeper, Owner at Rosemont Manor, responded to this review, September 23, 2012
Thank you so much for choosing Rosemont for your getaway and thank you for taking the time to write a review, We are so glad that you enjoyed your stay and were able to enjoy the surrounding areas of Berryville, Charlestown, Harper's Ferry, etc. We do try to be as knowledgeable as possible when it comes to local restaurants and attractions. My family has lived in the area for many years and most of our staff is from Berryville as well, so we know all of the "best kept secrets"!

We're pleased to hear that you enjoyed the innkeeper's wine and cheese reception, currently being held on Monday and Wednesday evenings. These days do change seasonally, so we encourage future guests to check, when making their reservations, to find out when the receptions are being held at the time of their stay.

Thanks again for your kind words and we hope you'll come see us at Rosemont again soon.

Warmly,

William "Biff" Genda
Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reston
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2012

In Aug. 2012 i took my mom on a "Mom/Daughter" weekend. Rosemont was perfect... It is in a small quaint town, 15 min. from Winchester where there is some great boutique shopping... but the best was Rosemont itself. It's more of an event to be there - then to be at just a hotel. It is full of history, has beautiful grounds and the decor and interior is so tasteful and beautiful. The staff is warm and friendly. It was fun to learn the history of the place and the size makes it a great place to walk around... in the evening, after dinner, my mom and i played games in the parlor. In the evening, on the first night, they have cheese, crackers, and wine and we sat on the veranda and watched deer in the distance. It is a Great getaway!

Room Tip: We liked the Einstein room...it's perfect for two.. the bathroom has two double shower heads.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RMInnkeeper, Owner at Rosemont Manor, responded to this review, September 10, 2012
We are so pleased to hear that you and your mom enjoyed your special weekend at Rosemont! Thank you so much for taking the time to share your experiences. We're glad you liked the innkeeper's wine and cheese reception, which takes place on selected evenings in the historic Nimitz Lounge. How fun that you got a glimpse of our deer family! The 8-point buck and his entourage have been making more frequent appearances recently, so that's great that you got to say hello.

Thanks again for your review and we hope you'll make it a tradition and bring your mom back to Rosemont for another visit soon!

Warmly,
William "Biff" Genda
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2012 via mobile

My husband and I stayed at Rosemont for two nights in September 2012. We were so impressed! Rosemont is beautiful in itself - charming and classy, without feeling stuffy or unwelcoming. We especially loved sitting on the rocking chairs on the large outdoor portico - so peaceful and relaxing. The grounds are well-maintained, and the guest room was very comfortable, clean and nicely decorated. You can tell that the staff strive to make each guest's stay wonderful. While there, we enjoyed DELICIOUS breakfasts, Starbucks coffee, snacks, wine & cheese and a picnic lunch. As far as the personnel go, we have never been treated so nicely! The woman who checked us in was polite, friendly, professional, and she took time to explain all the pertinent details of our stay. The general manager remembered our names and went out of his way to make us feel welcome. The owner is also amiable and spent time talking with all of the guests. We have never been to a hotel/B&B with that kind of personal touch. Even the women who served coffee and breakfast were awesome! We absolutely cannot wait to go back (unfortunately, we had never been to any kind of B&B before this, so I'm afraid our expectations are quite high now!). If you are looking for a beautiful, relaxing place to stay in Virginia that treats their guests with true hospitality- this is it!

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RMInnkeeper, Owner at Rosemont Manor, responded to this review, September 6, 2012
We are so glad you enjoyed your stay at Rosemont and we thank you so much for taking the time to write a review. As you have so kindly said, we really do strive to make sure that our guests have a great experience, and we hope to always exceed your expectations! We are blessed with a staff that truly believes in the legacy of Rosemont as a place of welcoming hospitality, respite, and comfort. Our goal is for you to feel at home here -- only a little more pampered!

Once again, we really appreciate your gracious words, and we hope you'll come see us again soon.

Warmly,

William "Biff" Genda
Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StratfordNew Jersey
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2012

My husband and I just returned from a 2 night visit to this beautiful manor. We stayed in the well appointed Nixon Suite which had a wonderful soaking tub and attached porch. This was a lovely spot to enjoy the blue moon this week. The staff were friendly and welcoming. The chef did an outstanding job with our gourmet breakfasts each morning and they were served in an elegant dining room with views of the grounds and water fountain. We enjoyed a day trip to Harper's Ferry and the second day had a wonderful time and lunch at the Bluemont Winery. We also enjoyed our outdoor dining experience at the Battletown Inn in Berryville and the casual atmosphere and dinner at Camino Real for Mexican fare. We will definitely return to enjoy these terrific accommodations and this scenic area of the country.

Room Tip: We upgraded to a suite and will do it again in the future. It was roomy and comfy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RMInnkeeper, Owner at Rosemont Manor, responded to this review, September 6, 2012
Thank you so much, Diane, for your gracious words and for coming to see us at Rosemont! We are so glad you enjoyed the Nixon Suite, which is a popular choice for its rich history and expansive views of the property. It sounds like you made some great choices for dining and sightseeing in the area as well (both Camino Real and The Battletown are favorites among our staff). Harper's Ferry and Bluemont Vineyards are just a short drive away and make for great day trips.

Thanks again for taking the time to write a review, and we hope to see you at Rosemont again soon!

Warmly,

William "Biff" Genda
Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stafford, Virginia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2012

First the positives:
+ Very friendly staff - Susanne was awesome; extremely personable, knowledgeable, and helpful
+ The Manor was very big, and the grounds were expansive (5000 acres I think) yet it remained quaint; great views from the back porch while sipping a glass of wine.
+ Breakfast was good and the staff were accommodating
+ Small town of Berrysville is charming and there's a lovely park with a nice trail nearby or hiking trails that are also close. Plus, wineries galore!
+ We liked that there were no TVs on the property but they still have radios with IPOD integration. Taking baths in the old style bath claw foot tub was nice too. Very romantic.
+ We found an online special which included a nice picnic with wine for 2 and for what we paid we thought it was a good value; however,
The negatives:
- We thought regular price was too pricey and would not consider staying again at their regular rates
- I personally thought the lawn should have been mowed about 1.5 inch closer; would have made it easier to get lost around the property
Overall: Excellent romantic getaway! We will be back. I think it would be a great place to enjoy in the fall (if you can book a room around that time).

Room Tip: We had a chance to check out The Nixon and The Kennedy and were VERY HAPPY with our choice of room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RMInnkeeper, Owner at Rosemont Manor, responded to this review, August 28, 2012
Thank you so much for your review. We are so glad you enjoyed the Eisenhower Suite and the rest of the manor during your stay at Rosemont. It also sounds like you did a great job of taking advantage of all that Berryville and the surrounding area has to offer. As for the grass, we have been blessed with a lot of rain this summer (unlike most of the rest of the country!) and do our best to keep things trimmed up on our 60 acres of park-like grounds.

You are correct that fall is a wonderful time to come to Rosemont, so we hope to see you back!

Sincerely,

William "Biff' Genda
Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milford
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2012

We enjoyed our stay so much in July, we're coming back in Dec. and bringing friends. It's a great little get-a-way. Everyone made us feel welcome, very friendly. Breakfast was very good and giving us a box lunch was a nice added touch.
Thank you.
Elsie & Pat P.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RMInnkeeper, Owner at Rosemont Manor, responded to this review, August 16, 2012
Thank you, Elsie and Pat, for choosing Rosemont, and thank you for your review! We are so glad that you enjoyed your stay, and we look forward to seeing you again and meeting your friends when you come again in December.

Warmly,

William "Biff" Genda
Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Rosemont Manor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rosemont Manor

Address: 16 Rosemont Manor Lane, Berryville, VA 22611
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Berryville
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Berryville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with T4B so you can book your Rosemont Manor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rosemont Manor Hotel Berryville

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rosemont Manor, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.