We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Surpasses all expectations!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Rosemont Manor

Save Saved
You added Rosemont Manor to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Rosemont Manor
16 Rosemont Manor Lane, Berryville, VA 22611   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Passes to Local Wineries
Ranked #2 of 8 Berryville B&B and Inns
1 review
“Surpasses all expectations!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2012 via mobile

My husband and I stayed at Rosemont for two nights in September 2012. We were so impressed! Rosemont is beautiful in itself - charming and classy, without feeling stuffy or unwelcoming. We especially loved sitting on the rocking chairs on the large outdoor portico - so peaceful and relaxing. The grounds are well-maintained, and the guest room was very comfortable, clean and nicely decorated. You can tell that the staff strive to make each guest's stay wonderful. While there, we enjoyed DELICIOUS breakfasts, Starbucks coffee, snacks, wine & cheese and a picnic lunch. As far as the personnel go, we have never been treated so nicely! The woman who checked us in was polite, friendly, professional, and she took time to explain all the pertinent details of our stay. The general manager remembered our names and went out of his way to make us feel welcome. The owner is also amiable and spent time talking with all of the guests. We have never been to a hotel/B&B with that kind of personal touch. Even the women who served coffee and breakfast were awesome! We absolutely cannot wait to go back (unfortunately, we had never been to any kind of B&B before this, so I'm afraid our expectations are quite high now!). If you are looking for a beautiful, relaxing place to stay in Virginia that treats their guests with true hospitality- this is it!

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RMInnkeeper, Owner at Rosemont Manor, responded to this review, September 6, 2012
We are so glad you enjoyed your stay at Rosemont and we thank you so much for taking the time to write a review. As you have so kindly said, we really do strive to make sure that our guests have a great experience, and we hope to always exceed your expectations! We are blessed with a staff that truly believes in the legacy of Rosemont as a place of welcoming hospitality, respite, and comfort. Our goal is for you to feel at home here -- only a little more pampered!

Once again, we really appreciate your gracious words, and we hope you'll come see us again soon.

Warmly,

William "Biff" Genda
Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

156 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    119
    30
    5
    0
    2
See reviews for
19
110
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
StratfordNew Jersey
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2012

My husband and I just returned from a 2 night visit to this beautiful manor. We stayed in the well appointed Nixon Suite which had a wonderful soaking tub and attached porch. This was a lovely spot to enjoy the blue moon this week. The staff were friendly and welcoming. The chef did an outstanding job with our gourmet breakfasts each morning and they were served in an elegant dining room with views of the grounds and water fountain. We enjoyed a day trip to Harper's Ferry and the second day had a wonderful time and lunch at the Bluemont Winery. We also enjoyed our outdoor dining experience at the Battletown Inn in Berryville and the casual atmosphere and dinner at Camino Real for Mexican fare. We will definitely return to enjoy these terrific accommodations and this scenic area of the country.

Room Tip: We upgraded to a suite and will do it again in the future. It was roomy and comfy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RMInnkeeper, Owner at Rosemont Manor, responded to this review, September 6, 2012
Thank you so much, Diane, for your gracious words and for coming to see us at Rosemont! We are so glad you enjoyed the Nixon Suite, which is a popular choice for its rich history and expansive views of the property. It sounds like you made some great choices for dining and sightseeing in the area as well (both Camino Real and The Battletown are favorites among our staff). Harper's Ferry and Bluemont Vineyards are just a short drive away and make for great day trips.

Thanks again for taking the time to write a review, and we hope to see you at Rosemont again soon!

Warmly,

William "Biff" Genda
Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stafford, Virginia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2012

First the positives:
+ Very friendly staff - Susanne was awesome; extremely personable, knowledgeable, and helpful
+ The Manor was very big, and the grounds were expansive (5000 acres I think) yet it remained quaint; great views from the back porch while sipping a glass of wine.
+ Breakfast was good and the staff were accommodating
+ Small town of Berrysville is charming and there's a lovely park with a nice trail nearby or hiking trails that are also close. Plus, wineries galore!
+ We liked that there were no TVs on the property but they still have radios with IPOD integration. Taking baths in the old style bath claw foot tub was nice too. Very romantic.
+ We found an online special which included a nice picnic with wine for 2 and for what we paid we thought it was a good value; however,
The negatives:
- We thought regular price was too pricey and would not consider staying again at their regular rates
- I personally thought the lawn should have been mowed about 1.5 inch closer; would have made it easier to get lost around the property
Overall: Excellent romantic getaway! We will be back. I think it would be a great place to enjoy in the fall (if you can book a room around that time).

Room Tip: We had a chance to check out The Nixon and The Kennedy and were VERY HAPPY with our choice of room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RMInnkeeper, Owner at Rosemont Manor, responded to this review, August 28, 2012
Thank you so much for your review. We are so glad you enjoyed the Eisenhower Suite and the rest of the manor during your stay at Rosemont. It also sounds like you did a great job of taking advantage of all that Berryville and the surrounding area has to offer. As for the grass, we have been blessed with a lot of rain this summer (unlike most of the rest of the country!) and do our best to keep things trimmed up on our 60 acres of park-like grounds.

You are correct that fall is a wonderful time to come to Rosemont, so we hope to see you back!

Sincerely,

William "Biff' Genda
Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milford
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2012

We enjoyed our stay so much in July, we're coming back in Dec. and bringing friends. It's a great little get-a-way. Everyone made us feel welcome, very friendly. Breakfast was very good and giving us a box lunch was a nice added touch.
Thank you.
Elsie & Pat P.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RMInnkeeper, Owner at Rosemont Manor, responded to this review, August 16, 2012
Thank you, Elsie and Pat, for choosing Rosemont, and thank you for your review! We are so glad that you enjoyed your stay, and we look forward to seeing you again and meeting your friends when you come again in December.

Warmly,

William "Biff" Genda
Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, District of Columbia, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2012

With my husband and daughter, we spent the day at Rosemont Manor yesterday. The beautiful drive thru Virginia countryside-every curve and hill dotted with vineyards and horse farms, just set the stage the gorgeous, picturesque Rosemont! The grounds were pristine, yet natural- not too done or fussed over. The Manor was just perfect and attention to every little detail was evident. The menu for afternoon tea was delicious right down to the homemade verbena, lemon herb ice cream. Biff, the owner, was very funny and shared interesting facts about the Rosemont history (political and otherwise) and famous people who have relaxed there. Probably the hi-light of our day was 10 year old Jonathan, one of the sons of Biff and Barb. He very competently and professionally gave each guest a presentation about the civil war and shared some artifacts that had been found on the Rosemont grounds. Complete with a coat and tie, Jonathon gets an "A" in public speaking and good manners! Do yourself a favor and make the drive to Berryville and Rosemont. What a lovely way to fall off the grid!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RMInnkeeper, Owner at Rosemont Manor, responded to this review, August 16, 2012
We enjoyed having you and your family for tea, and we are so grateful to you for taking the time to write a review! Rosemont really is a family-owned and operated business, and I like to involve my children in helping out whenever possible. I have passed on your compliments to Jonathan and he appreciates your review as well!

We are also pleased that you enjoyed the tea, manor, and grounds, and we hope that you'll come out to see us again soon!

Warmly,

William "Biff" Genda
Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfax, Va.
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2012

How can you improve upon perfection? We visited Rosemont Manor Aug 8-9 to celebrate our wedding anniversary. All of our expectations were met … and then some. The staff (especially Suzanne) was extremely attentive and catered to our every need. The historic building was originally constructed in 1811, enlarged in the late 1920s, and completely remodeled and exquisitely furnished in 2010 for its transition into a first class B&B. History buffs should note for over four decades Rosemont was the home of Harry F. Byrd, powerful Virginia Governor and US Senator. Our accommodations in the Lindbergh Suite were excellent, and for a modest price increase we could have had a much larger suite. Sitting on the porch and looking over the 160 surrounding acres while sipping tea and watching the wildlife was a real treat. We’re hoping to return during the Xmas holidays to enjoy the holiday decorations at Rosemont. There’s plenty to do in Berryville and nearby Winchester, including wineries, historic homes, and museums. Hey, this is getting to sound like a fake review by management, but I promise we’re for-real first time paying customers!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RMInnkeeper, Owner at Rosemont Manor, responded to this review, August 16, 2012
Thank you so much for your review! We are so glad you enjoyed your stay at Rosemont and we appreciate you sharing your experience. It sounds like you made the most of all that Rosemont has to offer, including the history of the manor, the wildlife on our 60 acres, and the opportunities in the surrounding area.

You have also struck on an excellent idea to come back at Christmastime to see the decorations! We put a great deal of time, love, and attention into our holiday display, and as a result, we have many guests who specifically plan to visit during the Christmas season.

Again, thank you for your kind words, and we look forward to seeing you at Rosemont again soon.

Warmly,

William "Biff" Genda
Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2012

We thoroughly enjoyed our 2-night stay at Rosemont! The staff were very welcoming and friendly. Breakfast was delicious and served in the elegant dining room. Be ready to sit with another couple during breakfast, but that is a perk of staying at a B&B. The grounds are absolutely gorgeous! My husband and I strolled around the grounds taking pictures for well over an hour, and we enjoyed a bottle of wine on the front porch in the evening. We stayed in the Einstein room, which was lovely. The double shower head was great! The staff had wonderful recommendations for nearby wineries and restaurants. I highly recommend!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RMInnkeeper, Owner at Rosemont Manor, responded to this review, August 6, 2012
Thank you so much for choosing Rosemont for your B&B getaway and for taking the time to share your experience. We are so glad you enjoyed your time here and took advantage of the many great spots on the property for photo-ops! We hope you'll come see us again soon.

Warmly,

William "Biff" Genda
Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Rosemont Manor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rosemont Manor

Address: 16 Rosemont Manor Lane, Berryville, VA 22611
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Berryville
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Berryville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with T4B so you can book your Rosemont Manor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rosemont Manor Hotel Berryville

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rosemont Manor, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.