We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of Virginia's finest” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Shenandoah River State Park

Shenandoah River State Park
350 Daughter of Stars Drive, Bentonville, VA
Website
Improve this listing
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Attraction details
Midlothian, Virginia
Top Contributor
125 reviews 125 reviews
43 attraction reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“One of Virginia's finest”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2014

First time at this park for us. Celebrating a birthday. Too cold to tent camp this time of year so we rented a cabin. The cabin was surprisingly new and very well equipped. They have two, three and six bedroom cabins available with all linens, heat and AC. Our cabin had two decks, a grill and a fire pit, along with a covered and uncovered deck. We overlooked the river which is the south fork of the Shenandoah. There is kayaking, biking, canoeing and lots of hikes to take. All hikes are marked in their trail maps available at the visitor center. You can visit the park for the day, bring your tent or RV, or rent cabins. Your choice. You can also bring your horse to ride if you have one. If you are spending the night, reservations are a must. No swimming available at the park but you can wade in the river. Convenient to the Skyline Drive as well. Picnic area is also available.

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

53 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    40
    12
    1
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sterling, Virginia
Top Contributor
234 reviews 234 reviews
96 attraction reviews
Reviews in 142 cities Reviews in 142 cities
143 helpful votes 143 helpful votes
“A wonderful park”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2014

I visited in the rain and my enthusiasm for this park was not squelched one bit. There are a number of trails that are extremely well marked. There are trails into the hills and down by the river. There's a canoe launch and a well-manicured campground. The Culler's overlook is outstanding if you cannot get out of your car or walk a long way. The "primitive" campground had potable water and vault toilets, so it's not as primitive as the name would imply. Some will welcome that and others will want a bit more roughing it. The facilities are in great shape. There are picnic areas for groups and individuals. I walked the Cottonwood trail and there are a few minor stream crossings this time of year until the water runs low. I will definitely return in some nicer weather to do some of the other trails. The admission fee is $4.

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kristinehamn, Sweden
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“blue sky”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2014

Nice ride on the scenic drive for some extra $! Awsome views! Bring your camera. Great, even in wintertime without snow. Take your time when you visit.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marshall, Virginia
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
23 attraction reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
“Peaceful and Scenic”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2013

I did 2 hikes here in 3 days. This park is a gem in the already beautiful countryside outside Front Royal. There are trails along the Shenandoah River or up high where the views are spectacular. All the trails I hiked were very well marked and there are maps at the Visitors Center which is also worth a visit for the wildlife exhibit. A gorgeous well maintained park which I'm very fortunate to have close to home. There is a $3 admission fee.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, VA
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“A Scenic and Serene Getaway”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2013

Only 70 miles from downtown DC, this newly minted state park is a scenic and serene getaway. The cabins are situated on a bluff and boast all the modern comforts. From the our cabin porch we looked down to a spreading meadow, then the river and then off to the mountains in the distance. The 22 miles of hiking trails in the park are well marked, broad and made for the casual hiker. The park has an advantageous location. Close by you'll find canoe rentals, Skyline Caverns and Skyline Drive. More advanced hikers will find trailheads along Skyline Drive. Front Royal, about 10 miles away, has restaurants, shops and grocery stores. All in all, this is a terrific, easy to get to state park for a relaxing and scenic break.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Shenandoah River State Park also viewed

 
Shenandoah National Park, VA
 

Been to Shenandoah River State Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Shenandoah River State Park, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.