We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A touch of history and great dining experience” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Olde Liberty Station

Olde Liberty Station
515 Bedford Ave, Bedford, VA 24523-1921
540-587-9377
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 52 Restaurants in Bedford
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups, Doing business, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations
Dugspur, Virginia
Top Contributor
111 reviews 111 reviews
86 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“A touch of history and great dining experience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2012

A short walk from our B&B, we found the Olde Liberty Station to be a nice mix of history and good food. There was a wait for dinner and we went to the bar for an appetizer and drinks.
The selection of microbrews was good, martini excellent.
We made a decision to eat at the bar just as a table came available. The service was prompt and courteous. We enjoyed a tasty Greek steak salad and pork chop. Both well prepared and delicious.
We skipped dessert due to time limitations but want to come back to try the famous cheesecake.
Pleasant stop for both the food and historical ambiance.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

182 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    98
    65
    15
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
SF Bay Area
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Great Lunch”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2012

I had lunch here while visiting a 7th generation friend from Bedford. It used to be the railroad station when they still had passenger service. The original staion burned down, but the townsfolks took up a collection and helped fund it's phoenix-like return. Glad they did it. It's a favorite spot for locals in the center of town.

Just real good home-made food and very reasonable prices and good service. I had a grilled chicken sandwich with swiss cheese and bacon on herb and sun-dried tomato Focaccia bread. It was really yummy and served with either soup or salad. I had salad which was composed of various mixed greens and no iceberg. Less than $7.50 a yummy bargain.

I didn't have opportunity to have dinner here, but I bet it's real good.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesapeake
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“A Must Stop”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

OH BOY!!!, what a pleasant surprise Liberty Station N&W was! Established in 1905, the restaurant is tastefully decorated with 1900's dark oak and 21st century appropriate wallpaper and paint. We were greeted by a pleasant gentleman behind a station ticket counter. The service was excellent. The food, especially the cheesecake and cobbler desserts, was outstanding. So glad we followed up on the recommendation of a former Bedford resident. If Liberty Station were closer to the VA flatlands, I'd surely be eating there quite often.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mount Pleasant, Texas
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Traveling Treasure”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2012

Driving home from vacation, I searched for recommended restaurants along our path. So glad we decided to give it a try. It was DELICIOUS! We started with Baked Spinach and Artichoke Dip. Divine! For our meal, my husband ordered fried fish. Being from Texas, we are accustomed to corn meal breading only. I'm not sure what the fish was battered with, but it was heavenly! I couldn't decide between the Almond Joy Chicken Salad and the Fried Green Tomato BLT on sourdough bread, so the very accommodating waitress gave me a small portion of salad with the sandwich. Both were filled with eye-rolling goodness. For dessert, we split the Three Berry Strudel. The pastry wasn't quite done, but we didn't slow down long enough to complain!

We are looking for reasons to travel this direction again so we can stop by. Makes my mouth water just thinking about it.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Train Lovers Paradise and Decent Food as Well.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2012

This is a beautiful, clean, and pleasant restaurant in and old train station. The menu has a good selection and the prices are very reasonable. We have been there twice in the last 4 months and both visits were quite pleasant. The service is fast and friendly, if a bit overattentive at times. They make their own cheesecake which is delicious. You will want to save room for dessert.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Olde Liberty Station also viewed

 

Been to Olde Liberty Station? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Olde Liberty Station, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.