We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A perfect introduction to the Blue Ridge Mountains” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Vanquility Acres Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Bedford
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Vanquility Acres Inn
105 Angus Terrace, Bedford, VA 24523   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 7 Bedford B&B and Inns
GreenLeadersGold level
northants
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“A perfect introduction to the Blue Ridge Mountains”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013

My husband and I stayed here in August, having spent 6 weeks around the Norfolk area of Virginia. This is a little piece of tranquility, a real home from home. We were given a very warm welcome, had lovely accommodation with fabulous views and a super all home cooked breakfast. They use all their own produce, including homemade breads, cakes and jams. We couldn't have asked for anything better. It is in a great location for visiting the Blue Ridge Mountains and we did some great walking. We will definitely go back. Thank you.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

62 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    58
    3
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
8
36
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Ashland, Virginia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

Why stay in a “never-knowing-what-you’re-going-to-get” hotel when you can experience the wonderful accommodations of Ellen & John’s Vanquility Acres Inn? As part of a recent vacation, we wanted to tour Bedford’s D-Day Memorial. For an overnight stay, we liked what we saw on the Vanquility Acres Inn website. We chose the extremely comfortable, spacious and beautifully decorated Blue Ridge Room. Ellen has thought of everything!! Her personal attention to detail matches how she “would want to be treated” herself. The bedroom and private bathroom are immaculately clean, with lots of conveniences. Before it got dark, we took a stroll around the quiet and peaceful neighborhood, enjoying the beautiful view of the mountains. For breakfast the next morning, we devoured Ellen's scrumptious homemade breakfast. On the dining room table, we discovered a bottle of John’s outstanding fruit-flavored honey, which came from his own bees in the backyard. During our meal, we enjoyed fun and interesting conversations with other guests and Ellen. If you have any special dietary needs, you only need to let Ellen know in advance. After enjoying more delightful conversation with Ellen, we packed up to leave for our day of touring. We both left the Inn feeling like we’d found a brother and sister, and would love to have stayed longer. Later that afternoon, we drove to Bedford’s Liberty Station restaurant for a tasty lunch. The restored historic railroad-station-turned-restaurant was highly recommended by Ellen and other locals. We already have recommended Vanquility Acres Inn to co-workers, family, friends, and neighbors. After such a positive experience, we both agree that when in the Bedford area, we wouldn’t think of staying anywhere else. -Debbie & Ronnie (Ashland, Va.)

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Royal Leamington Spa
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013

Any accomodation limitations (shared shower facility with our travel friends next door) were more than compensated for by the excellent breakfasts (best of our trip during our stay at various hotels in six US states ( our first US visit !!)) ) and the considerable friendliness of our hosts (and other breakfast guests).We had excellent views of the countryside, the lake and the goats meandering to and fro across the bridge . All provided for an enjoyable final two days stay prior to our flight back home to the UK .A big thank you once more to our hosts!!
Stuart & Ann (Royal Leamington Spa, England).

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesapeake, Virginia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013

We were desperate to find a place at the last minute. Ellen was very accommodating and had a wonderful comfy room available. It is very tranquil and quiet. The view of the mountains is superb, with the pond a nice contrast. Enjoyed the home made breakfast, especially the veggie frittata made with fresh eggs from her hens. Very close to the Blue Ridge. Highly recommend to travelers from the Hampton Roads area as the four hour drive can't be beat getting there.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, Virginia, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

Coming originally from California and living in Hampton Roads currently, this was a breath of fresh air, literally. Situated in the rural residential community of Bedford, this is a peaceful and beautiful place to stay. Fairly easy access to the Blue Ridge Parkway and near some of the more remote historical sites of Virginia, the location is great. The accommodations are top notch; guest rooms are spacious and comfortable. The Vanquility Suite where we stayed was complete with a sink and mini-fridge, enclosed porch and open porch, view of the open land and mountains in the background, easy hot-tub access, and most notable an immensely comfortable king size bed. John and Ellen are very nice, and when other guests are present offer the opportunity to eat and commune with others. I would definitely recommend this to anyone, but especially those looking for a more peaceful and communal type of stay.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

From the moment we stepped on the porch and were greeted by Ellen we knew this was a special place. Ellen, her husband and her son made us feel like family. The rooms were clean and comfortable and even had reading material. The view of the mountains can't be beat and closer to home the pond, hearing the frogs, the chickens, and seeing the goats all added up to a feeling of relaxation and contentment. Ellen and her family couldn't have been more helpful and we were surrounded by beauty - what more can you ask! Suffice it to say, we'll be back!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lexington, Kentucky
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

This is a wonderful place to visit. We loved our large, comfortable room, and the great view of the Peaks of Otters, the pond on Vanquillity's property, and the Nubian goats frolicking in the fields or crossing their bridge. The breakfasts were outstanding all three days we were there. It was near the lovely town of Bedford, which has a couple of terrific restaurants, and not far from the historical sites we wished to visit. Also, it is very close to some beautiful trails in the Blue Ridge Mts. Ellen and John indeed treated us like family, and we enjoyed meeting Ellen's son Brian as well. We highly recommend this B&B!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Vanquility Acres Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vanquility Acres Inn

Address: 105 Angus Terrace, Bedford, VA 24523
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Bedford
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Bedford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Country home built on 10 acres with fantastic views of the Blue Ridge Mountains. 4 large suites w/private baths, hot tub, pond for fishing, covered patio with chiminea fireplace, cable TV, ceiling fans and in room coffee center, wireless internet and electric fireplaces. 2 Miles to Bedford Centertown, 8 miles to Peaks of Otter Mountains. "Where you arrive as a guest and leave as a friend." ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Vanquility Acres Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Vanquility Acres Inn to your Saves list