We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Authentic Log Lodge with a Beautiful View - Very Peaceful” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Otter's Den Bed & Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Bedford
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Otter's Den Bed & Breakfast
8578 Peaks Road, Bedford, VA 24523   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 7 Bedford B&B and Inns
Charlotte, NC
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Authentic Log Lodge with a Beautiful View - Very Peaceful”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2009

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the Otters Den. The view was really nice from the screened in porch off of our room. We watched the lights come on in the valley below at dusk and watched them go out again one by one at about 10:30pm. It was a very peaceful setting and a relaxing stay. The proximity to town was just right- not to close, not too far, and we explored alot of the shops and cafe's in Bedford. We were pleasantly surprised at the amount of artists works on display, and good restaurants, oh, and the " Well" (health and wellness shop) was a good supplier of essential oils, healthy foods, and, from their signage- reiki and massage. The owner of the Otters Den, Michie, is a very nice lady, and alot of fun to talk to. Her breakfasts were wonderful. We had to ask for less food- we arent eaters of huge breakfasts. She asked us what we liked and what time we prefered to eat- very accomodating. The Peaks of Otter mountains are beautiful, and the cabins location is great. The history of the cabin is facinating (I think 200 years old). I will definately stay there again. It is a great place for a romantic getaway, or to bring friends or family.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

21 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    9
    6
    0
    2
    4
See reviews for
Families
0
14
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Portsmouth
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2009

We just spent two nights in the bed and breakfast that the gracious, humble host Michie runs and we were treated to a beautiful mountain view from the bedroom we stayed in. There were trails in the back that we enjoyed walking on. Breakfast was filling and delicious. Would definetly recommend and would hope to visit again!

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
virginia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2008

If you love nature and the rustic beauty of historical Log homes you will fall in love with this bed & breakfast and it's owner. As we sat and chatted with Michie and listened to her stories of her and her husband who died recently we were so moved. This is true rustic americanna and simple way of life. I found myself just wanting to go back and hang out for the day and help out around the grounds just for her company and to soak up the serennity of the log home and the property ! Keep it alive Michie you are awesome.

  • Liked — The beauty of rustic log home living
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2008

My boyfriend and I decided to ride our bikes the entire length of Blue Ridge Parkway and Skyline drive on our motorcycles. We didn't book any rooms figuring we would just stop along the way. On our fourth day of travel we found Otter's Den on our way back to Blue Ridge Parkway after going to Peaks of Otter Winery just up the street. We had already planned on staying somewhere near when the sign popped out at us.

We were lucky enough to be the only ones staying there that night and had access to the entire grounds. We stayed at three other motels before and Otter's Den had the best bed!! The breakfast was fantastic and so was Mickey the owner. The grounds were beautiful and the view outstanding from the private balcony on the top floor. If you are looking for pretentious and sterile this is not the place for you. If you are looking for a little Virginia history, wildlife (lots of deer on the grounds) and a feel of the land you will love this place.

One note of caution though. If you are on motorcycles it is a gravel drive.

Thank you Mickey we will stay again!!

Amelia and Brian
Baltimore MD

  • Liked — The scenery
  • Disliked — Gravel Drive
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buckingham, VA
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2008

A quaint and unpretentious B&B tucked away in the mountains of central Virginia run by a terrific hostess who's informed about local attractions, happenings and gossip. She knows how to cook a real breakfast and is warm and generous with her meals and her time. She made us a little late night snack complete with apple pie just because she had extra that evening and knew we'd like it since we were on a cycling vacation and our appetites were non-stop. The grounds are sweet; ideal for the wanderer thanks to years of effort this couple have spent making their 10 or so acres a place to remember in the Peaks of Otter region.

Stayed May 2008
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lynchburg
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2007

We chose the Otter's Den for our honey moon, and we could not of picked a better place. It was so convenient to the Peaks of Otter where we were married.

The room was perfect. We stayed in the King room. The view was spectacular, and the private porch was so relaxing.

The wonderful home cooked breakfast and the hospitality was wonderful.

We could not of asked for a bette place in the world.
It made our wedding perfect!!!

Stayed November 2007
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryland
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2007

What a lovely setting for a B&B. The view was great, and we liked the rustic atmosphere. We really enjoyed our stay here.

Stayed January 2007
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Otter's Den Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Otter's Den Bed & Breakfast

Also Known As:
Otter`s Den Hotel
Otter`s Den Hotel Bedford
Otter`s Den Bed And Breakfast
Address: 8578 Peaks Road, Bedford, VA 24523
Location: United States > Virginia > Bedford
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Bedford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Otter's Den Bed & Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Otter's Den Bed & Breakfast to your Saves list