We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Rustic Cabin in the Mountains” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Otter's Den Bed & Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Bedford
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Otter's Den Bed & Breakfast
Save Saved
You added Otter's Den Bed & Breakfast to your Saves list
8578 Peaks Road, Bedford, VA 24523   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 7 Bedford B&B and Inns
Toronto, Canada
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Great Rustic Cabin in the Mountains”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2011

Otters Den is a wonderfully historic inn nestled atop the Blue Mountains. We chose to stay here due to its setting in the woods, knowing that we were leaving the modern world behind. We love our wifi, and you won't find it here! Otters den did not disappoint. The view from the screened in porch was amazing and the sounds and smells of mountain country soothed our souls. We loved the 2 person tub for a morning soak while the birds sang.

Our hostess Mickie was very welcoming, like dropping in to visit a distant cousin. We felt good knowing our stay was a contribution after learning that her husband recently passed away. The grounds are needing some care, but the room was clean and well prepared. Over breakfast we learned just how much effort Mickie has to put in to keep the place going. She prepares an extremely hearty breakfast - we never tasted such good grits!

If you are looking for a place to stay in a natural setting, stay at Otters Den. It's also a great place to start your trip to Otters Peak hiking trails or the Blue Ridge Parkway.

Room Tip: Take the upper King room if it's in your budget!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

21 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    9
    6
    0
    2
    4
See reviews for
Families
0
14
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Des Moines, Iowa
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2011

We stayed at The Otter's Den on a trip down the Blue Ridge Parkway. It is nestled in the woods, with wonderful flower gardens. The owner collects otter objects, so you see all kinds of otters around the Inn. There is a very large common room with a fireplace and TV. We chose the 1st floor room to have a screen porch with access to the gardens, attached to the room. It is an extremely old log cabin, so it is very cool to stay there.

Room Tip: I suggest a 1st floor room for outside access.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2010

The lodge is totally different taste from modern hotel. If you look for a place with all kinds of fancy electronic included, this is definitely not a good match for you.

The lodge itself is a over hundred year building but with excellent condition. All the interior decoration are very unique and cute. The owner herself is a big fan of otter so that you can see all kinds of otter related collection around the house.

The property owner is very friendly and talkative. She will provide with you abundant breakfast every morning and share you with the local information and experience.

But you may think about it before you decide to make a reservation if you are extremely sensitive to bugs. Due to the natural environment around, you may experience few stink bugs in your room due to the fact it is likely to be attracted by the light. But as long as you don't keep the light closed to you open all the time, they may not stay so close to you. I personally won't feel uncomfortable with it.

I definitely would still consider to live in Otter Den's B&B next time while I re-visit Blue Ridge Parkway.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swansea, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2009

A group of us visited Otter's Den whilst driving down the Blue Ridge Skyline Drive. We had tried to book by email but telephoned when we received no reply. The scenery and wildlife in the area are stunning but we were very disappointed with the standard of the accommodation. Michie was very welcoming and appears to do her best but the place seems too much for her. Her breakfasts were reasonable and she advised us where to eat in Bedford in the evening. However, rooms were scruffy; towels and linen were worn and marked; drawers were full of junk; One of our rooms had nowhere to hang clothes - one that did had an open rack in the bathroom; windows and flyscreens didn't close properly; the upstairs bedroom was really hot and the aircon was both noisy and ineffective; sinks and toilets were stained and marked. Sorry to be a dissenting voice but it really does need a major update.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, NC
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2009

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the Otters Den. The view was really nice from the screened in porch off of our room. We watched the lights come on in the valley below at dusk and watched them go out again one by one at about 10:30pm. It was a very peaceful setting and a relaxing stay. The proximity to town was just right- not to close, not too far, and we explored alot of the shops and cafe's in Bedford. We were pleasantly surprised at the amount of artists works on display, and good restaurants, oh, and the " Well" (health and wellness shop) was a good supplier of essential oils, healthy foods, and, from their signage- reiki and massage. The owner of the Otters Den, Michie, is a very nice lady, and alot of fun to talk to. Her breakfasts were wonderful. We had to ask for less food- we arent eaters of huge breakfasts. She asked us what we liked and what time we prefered to eat- very accomodating. The Peaks of Otter mountains are beautiful, and the cabins location is great. The history of the cabin is facinating (I think 200 years old). I will definately stay there again. It is a great place for a romantic getaway, or to bring friends or family.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2009

We just spent two nights in the bed and breakfast that the gracious, humble host Michie runs and we were treated to a beautiful mountain view from the bedroom we stayed in. There were trails in the back that we enjoyed walking on. Breakfast was filling and delicious. Would definetly recommend and would hope to visit again!

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
virginia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2008

If you love nature and the rustic beauty of historical Log homes you will fall in love with this bed & breakfast and it's owner. As we sat and chatted with Michie and listened to her stories of her and her husband who died recently we were so moved. This is true rustic americanna and simple way of life. I found myself just wanting to go back and hang out for the day and help out around the grounds just for her company and to soak up the serennity of the log home and the property ! Keep it alive Michie you are awesome.

  • Liked — The beauty of rustic log home living
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Otter's Den Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Otter's Den Bed & Breakfast

Address: 8578 Peaks Road, Bedford, VA 24523
Location: United States > Virginia > Bedford
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Bedford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Also Known As:
Otter`s Den Hotel Bedford
Otter`s Den Bed And Breakfast

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Otter's Den Bed & Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.