We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Something different” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Peaks of Otter Lodge

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Peaks of Otter Lodge to your Saves list
Peaks of Otter Lodge
85554 Blue Ridge Parkway, Bedford, VA 24523   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Bedford
Stavanger, Norway
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Something different”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2014

Driving though Blue Ridge Parkway this was a ideal place to stay for a night. Nice room with a beutiful view of the lake and easy access to the mountains. The service was very good and we really felt welcomed. The restaurant was very good as well. Lots of nature and animals for the kids to explore with Deers close by. The fireflies were also amazing. We also hiked up to the sharp top of the Peaks of Otter with a magnificent view. In total a fantastic stay.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

237 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    118
    89
    19
    9
    2
See reviews for
42
140
16
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (112)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Lancaster, Pennsylvania
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2014

We stayed only one night on our trip along the Blue Ridge Parkway. We do plan to go back one day to enjoy this Lodge again. Each room has its own balcony or patio, and a view of the lake. While the rooms were not fancy, they were comfortable and clean. Our bathroom was vintage, even had a "razor slot" which my husband thought was so cool. The people at the front desk and in the restaurant were all very friendly and welcoming. The food in the restaurant was excellent.

Room Tip: There are two floors here, we preferred the top floor so we could have a balcony. If you have small...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincolnton, North Carolina
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2014

The peacefulness of the lodge and its surrounds is wonderful! The restaurant was delicious and the choices were outstanding! We will recommend this Lodge to our other co-workers that will be traveling to this area in the next coming months!! I am also planning a trip for my husband and I to visit too!!

Room Tip: Request a balcony!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2014

Amazing 30th anniversary trip for a week - a very, very good time away - room, food, location - all excellent. The view from the well appointed, rustic rooms across the lake to the mountains is wonderful - with wildlife, scenic beauty, and good tourist locations within a short drive away.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Webster, New York
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

Stayed one night, wish we had booked two nights. The location can't be beat. We loved having a patio with 2 chairs overlooking the lake and Sharp Top mountain. The food was good in the restaurant , although a bit slow considering the few people there. But, we were on vacation and enjoying the lovely view. The room and bed were clean and comfortable and although the bathroom was a bit dated looking we didn't mind due to everything else being nice. The staff were all very friendly and helpful. Would definitely return to this location. There is also a mile long path around the lake.

Room Tip: All the rooms face the water and have back and front entries.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

Updated, clean, comfortable and views you don't see everyday!! Pleasantly surprised by everything. Breakfast was great, too. Helpful staff and our dog was welcomed, as well. Our room was just as nice as the rooms not specified for pets. Our view was just as spectacular. A great place for bicyclists, hikers and nature lovers.

Room Tip: Rooms for people traveling with a pet. Clean and comfortable, just like all the other rooms.
See more room tips
Green Features: On the Blue Ridge Parkway and very aware of environmental practices.
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryland, USA
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

The lodge rooms are not very fancy. They were clean and adequate. The best part is the deck that over looks Abbott Lake. This is what makes this a good place to stay! The view of Sharp Top mountain and the lake is beautiful! The restaurant has a beautiful view of the mountain and the lake as well with floor to ceiling windows. The view is the only good thing about the restaurant. We were not impressed with the food there. It has a very southern cuisine - salty oatmeal, fried almost everything. If you have gluten allergies/celiac's etc the food options are limited.
If however you drive along Route 43 from the lodge to Bedford, VA there is an INERADICABLE local orchard with the BEST homemade pies and lots of fresh fruits, vegetables and other home made delectable goodies! It is definitely worth a visit - Mountain Fruit & Produce (the outside does not look like much but go inside you will not be disappointed!!!!)
We got some food from Mountain Fruit & Produce and ate that on our deck watching the fawns frolic around Abbot Lake and it was one of the best meals and moments of our trip!

Room Tip: All the rooms face the lake - so all have excellent views!!!
See more room tips
Green Features: Very environmental friendly and have practices that help their guests lessen their environmental impact.
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Peaks of Otter Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Peaks of Otter Lodge

Address: 85554 Blue Ridge Parkway, Bedford, VA 24523
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Bedford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Bedford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 63
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Venere, Priceline, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Peaks of Otter Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Peaks of Otter Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.