We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Peaks of Otter Lodge

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Peaks of Otter Lodge to your Saves list
Peaks of Otter Lodge
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   85554 Blue Ridge Parkway, Bedford, VA 24523   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Bedford
Certificate of Excellence
Richmond, Kentucky
2 reviews
“Nice Experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2014

I selected the Peaks of Otter Lodge on my first trip on the Skyline Drive and the Blue Ridge Parkway. It's location on the Parkway adds to the travel experience. The lodge is situated on a small lake with the Peak in the background. The staff are helpful and checking in or out was not an issue. Purchased a bottle of wine at the gift store. It was her first day of work and I was her first customer. Sent pics to family members and will use this facility in the future.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Hclark6326
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

531 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Palmyra, Virginia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2014

The view of the lake and Sharp Top from my room and from the Restaurant was breathtaking and watching the barn swallows and red wing blackbirds was a joyous and relaxing experience. The food was excellent, as it has always been in past years. The peacefullness of Peaks of Otter lodge cannot be experienced anywhere else in my experience. Everyone on the staff is so friendly and the surroundings so comfortable and simple that we look forward to continue our 30 some year tradition of visiting.

Room Tip: First floor rooms in the lodges are closer to the deer that graze by the lake, just outside the larg...
See more room tips
Green Features: I was glad to see the awarness of perserving our environment present in the resort.
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RepeatVisitor2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Williamsburg, Virginia
Level Contributor
60 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2014

Although we live in Virginia, and have visited the Peaks of Otter area several times, we had never stayed at the Peaks of Otter Lodge. This mountain retreat on the Blue Ridge Parkway is a perfect way to enjoy the sights and sounds of the Blue Ridge mountains for more than just a day trip. The hotel is located overlooking a bucolic setting on a small lake, with one of the Peaks of Otter as a backdrop. The Lodge, and guest rooms, are a bit dated, but adequate for a very peaceful stay. The restaurant is very good, however, dinner menu selections are somewhat limited. Breakfast is wonderful! A great way to explore and engage one of our national treasures --- the Blue Ridge Parkway.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Scott_Langhorst
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Smithfield, Virginia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

Absolutely amazed at the beauty of Peaks of Otter. First time experiencing the mountains in the Summer season...just as beautiful as in the Winter! Beautiful scenery right outside on my balcony at the lodge. I could sit there all day and admire the "Peak".

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jennifer M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carrollton, Virginia, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

This was a spur of the moment trip with our friends. We only stayed overnight which was a shame we couldn't enjoy the mountain and general store and other visitors opportunities. Very beautiful and peaceful.

Room Tip: I believe all rooms face the mountain
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2014

Our trip was truly amazing. If you love the outdoors, this is a must place to stay! The trails & picnic areas were spectacular! The drive to get there was awesome through the mountains. I would definitely recommend this place to anyone looking for a getaway. Wi-Fi was spotty but that was okay. Unplugging for a week was much needed.

Green Features: I loved the environmental friendly practices displayed by the Lodge. It was refreshing to see a place acting on helping the environment instead of asking.
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Angie F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gainesville, FL
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2014

Plain but extremely nice motel in really great setting. All rooms have patio or balcony overlooking a beautiful lake. Lots of well-maintained trails lead off from the property and we saw many deer. Restaurant is OK--basic, but food was good. The beautiful setting overwhelms all and the locale is super for a multi-day stay while enjoying the scenery and trails.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Albert K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bedford
12.9 mi away
Natural Bridge Hotel & Conference Center
24.9 mi away
Robert E Lee Hotel
Robert E Lee Hotel
#8 of 16 in Lexington
4.0 of 5 stars 69 reviews
22.0 mi away
The Hotel Roanoke & Conference Center, a Doubletree by Hilton Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
24.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Lynchburg
16.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Troutville-Roanoke North
23.0 mi away
Cambria Hotel & Suites
Cambria Hotel & Suites
#2 of 39 in Roanoke
4.5 of 5 stars 602 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Peaks of Otter Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Peaks of Otter Lodge

Address: 85554 Blue Ridge Parkway, Bedford, VA 24523
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Bedford
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Bedford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:3 star — Peaks of Otter Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 63
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Hotwire so you can book your Peaks of Otter Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing