We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Peaks of Otter Lodge

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Peaks of Otter Lodge to your Saves list
Peaks of Otter Lodge
85554 Blue Ridge Parkway, Bedford, VA 24523   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Bedford
Richmond, Kentucky
1 review
“Nice Experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2014

I selected the Peaks of Otter Lodge on my first trip on the Skyline Drive and the Blue Ridge Parkway. It's location on the Parkway adds to the travel experience. The lodge is situated on a small lake with the Peak in the background. The staff are helpful and checking in or out was not an issue. Purchased a bottle of wine at the gift store. It was her first day of work and I was her first customer. Sent pics to family members and will use this facility in the future.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

200 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    98
    77
    15
    8
    2
See reviews for
37
115
12
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (95)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Palmyra, Virginia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2014

The view of the lake and Sharp Top from my room and from the Restaurant was breathtaking and watching the barn swallows and red wing blackbirds was a joyous and relaxing experience. The food was excellent, as it has always been in past years. The peacefullness of Peaks of Otter lodge cannot be experienced anywhere else in my experience. Everyone on the staff is so friendly and the surroundings so comfortable and simple that we look forward to continue our 30 some year tradition of visiting.

Room Tip: First floor rooms in the lodges are closer to the deer that graze by the lake, just outside the larg...
See more room tips
Green Features: I was glad to see the awarness of perserving our environment present in the resort.
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Williamsburg, Virginia
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2014

Although we live in Virginia, and have visited the Peaks of Otter area several times, we had never stayed at the Peaks of Otter Lodge. This mountain retreat on the Blue Ridge Parkway is a perfect way to enjoy the sights and sounds of the Blue Ridge mountains for more than just a day trip. The hotel is located overlooking a bucolic setting on a small lake, with one of the Peaks of Otter as a backdrop. The Lodge, and guest rooms, are a bit dated, but adequate for a very peaceful stay. The restaurant is very good, however, dinner menu selections are somewhat limited. Breakfast is wonderful! A great way to explore and engage one of our national treasures --- the Blue Ridge Parkway.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Smithfield, Virginia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

Absolutely amazed at the beauty of Peaks of Otter. First time experiencing the mountains in the Summer season...just as beautiful as in the Winter! Beautiful scenery right outside on my balcony at the lodge. I could sit there all day and admire the "Peak".

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carrollton, Virginia, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

This was a spur of the moment trip with our friends. We only stayed overnight which was a shame we couldn't enjoy the mountain and general store and other visitors opportunities. Very beautiful and peaceful.

Room Tip: I believe all rooms face the mountain
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2014

Our trip was truly amazing. If you love the outdoors, this is a must place to stay! The trails & picnic areas were spectacular! The drive to get there was awesome through the mountains. I would definitely recommend this place to anyone looking for a getaway. Wi-Fi was spotty but that was okay. Unplugging for a week was much needed.

Green Features: I loved the environmental friendly practices displayed by the Lodge. It was refreshing to see a place acting on helping the environment instead of asking.
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gainesville, FL
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2014

Plain but extremely nice motel in really great setting. All rooms have patio or balcony overlooking a beautiful lake. Lots of well-maintained trails lead off from the property and we saw many deer. Restaurant is OK--basic, but food was good. The beautiful setting overwhelms all and the locale is super for a multi-day stay while enjoying the scenery and trails.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Peaks of Otter Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Peaks of Otter Lodge

Address: 85554 Blue Ridge Parkway, Bedford, VA 24523
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Bedford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Bedford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 63
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Venere, Odigeo, Priceline and Tingo so you can book your Peaks of Otter Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Peaks of Otter Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.