We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Peaks of Otter Lodge, Blue Ridge Parkway” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Peaks of Otter Lodge

Save Saved
You added Peaks of Otter Lodge to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Peaks of Otter Lodge
85554 Blue Ridge Parkway, Bedford, VA 24523   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Bedford
Gainesville, FL
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Peaks of Otter Lodge, Blue Ridge Parkway”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2014

Plain but extremely nice motel in really great setting. All rooms have patio or balcony overlooking a beautiful lake. Lots of well-maintained trails lead off from the property and we saw many deer. Restaurant is OK--basic, but food was good. The beautiful setting overwhelms all and the locale is super for a multi-day stay while enjoying the scenery and trails.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

165 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    82
    62
    13
    7
    1
See reviews for
34
96
11
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (79)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2014

Wonderful location on the Blue Ridge Parkway. Grounds and scenery on the sight were spectacular. Separate building for check-in with restaurant serving 3 meals and gift shop with local artisans. Separate 3 guest buildings all with nice lake and mountain view . 1 mile walking trail around lake was nice. My only downfall was choosing a lower walkout basement unit. Should have been on the second floor. Buildings are older but clean. Room was dated but had flat screen TV, and wifi access . Small deck to go outside but had rail across so had to exit from front door and walk around back. This was in the unit under the stairs. The center lower level units had concrete slab patios that you could walk right out to lake. I would try that. No cell service whatsoever and no phone in room. Didn't know that upfront and alittle worried not being able to call home Staff were extremely cordial and helpful. Can't beat the location. Would visit again

Room Tip: 2nd floor first choice or if want to walk directly out to lake from back door choose a center lower...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2014

Great place to stay in the mountains. Quiet and beautiful. Great walking path around the lake and an option to walk up or bus up the mountain. We saw otters, deer and hawks. .First floor is a must so that you can walk out to the lake and sit on the porch

Room Tip: first floor to walk out.
See more room tips
Green Features: Very green with towel program and biodegradable products. Guests are encouraged to be eco friendly.
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westbrook, Maine
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2014

My husband and I stopped here along our motorcycle trip from ME to SC. We'd experienced thundershowers in Wanesboro, VA and didn't start up the Blue Ridge until 5:30pm. It was a huge relief to learn that we could stay at a lodge along the way, without even having to descend to find a motel. Our check-in experience was a little slow, but well worth the wait. There was also an attached restaurant, although service there was quite slow in the evening. The views down to Lake Abbott from our room and also from the restaurant were awesome, and I would have enjoyed staying longer to do some hiking in the area. We had a first floor room, with back door opening fight onto the lawn overlooking the lake. I definitely recommend this facility to other travelers and look forward to returning there again in the future.

Green Features: A good idea, although we only stayed for one night.
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dana M, Front Office Manager at Peaks of Otter Lodge, responded to this review, July 27, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write about your visit! We are glad to hear you enjoyed your stay and hope to have you as our guest again!

Sincerest Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2014

We're retired but enjoy views, walks, and short hikes from comfortable and clean lodges. Peaks of Otter Lodge offered about everything we enjoy at a reasonable price. The view of Abbott Lake from our balcony was terrific as was the balcony; our room was very clean, comfortable, and well-equipped (though not sumptuous); and we enjoyed both running and walking on the local trails.

The restaurant served among the best "lodge" food we'd experienced in recent times, again with the pleasure of a great view.

We were not successful in cell phone service (which may be a blessing).

The lodge is also very well located for nearby access to trails and terrific views of the peaks.

Room Tip: No comment. We liked our room, but couldn't distinguish it from others.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dana M, Front Office Manager at Peaks of Otter Lodge, responded to this review, July 27, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write about your experience at Peaks of Otter Lodge. We look forward to having you as our guest again!

Sincerest Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2014

We were in a standard king room after a long day of riding for 89$. It was very clean and had all of the necessary amenities...AC/ Wifi/ and a comfortable bed. All of the rooms had a nice view of the lake. We read the reviews about the dining room requiring business casual attire, but did not have any problem getting seated or served in clean jeans and a t-shirt. Staff was very friendly. Nicest place we stayed on the entire trip and it's very convenient to be able to stay right on the parkway.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dana M, Front Office Manager at Peaks of Otter Lodge, responded to this review, July 27, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write about your experience at Peaks of Otter Lodge. Please do not ever hesitate to join us in the dining room in jeans and a t-shirt. We generally say that casual attire is all that is recommended for the dining room.

Sincerest Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Petersburg, Michigan
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2014

Conveniently located right off the parkway and nestled in the mountains. Very peaceful and scenic setting! Friendly staff and nice dining experience. Get a first floor balcony room to overlook the lake and be able to walk right out on the lawn. Would love to see the mountainview in the fall.

Room Tip: Lower floor with patio is nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dana M, Front Office Manager at Peaks of Otter Lodge, responded to this review, July 27, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write about your experience at Peaks of Otter Lodge. We look forward to having you as our guest in the near future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Peaks of Otter Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Peaks of Otter Lodge

Address: 85554 Blue Ridge Parkway, Bedford, VA 24523
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Bedford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Bedford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 63
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo, Odigeo, Venere and Otel so you can book your Peaks of Otter Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Peaks of Otter Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.