We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Private entrances to room -- beautiful property -- friendly hosts!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Roost Bed and Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Bedford
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Roost Bed and Breakfast
Save Saved
You added The Roost Bed and Breakfast to your Saves list
1380 Otterlea Lane, Bedford, VA 24523   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 7 Bedford B&B and Inns
Staunton, VA
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Private entrances to room -- beautiful property -- friendly hosts!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

It's very nice to have a room at a B&B with a private entrance. Also, the home is set on a lovely landscaped property with a large pond. Your host will even take you on a "mule ride" around the pond. (Hint: it's not an animal ride.) Our room was spacious and comfortable and the bathroom was pretty and very clean. We had original artwork in our room and found out at breakfast that the beautiful watercolor paintings are by Sue, the innkeeper! Ask to see her other work. You may even find some art to take home since a few of her watercolors are for sale . . . and they are lovely. Breakfast was delicious. You'll find the hosts are very friendly and helpful. What more could you ask for at a B&B -- enjoy your stay at this quiet and beautiful B&B set on a gorgeous property.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

29 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    28
    1
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
4
19
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Danville, Virginia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

My husband and I stayed 3 nights in October which meant we woke up to not only beautiful colors but 3 different and great breakfasts. Makes our mouths water just thinking about the goooood cooking! Andy and Sue makes you feel like its home and you belong there. They are good down to earth people. Their home is immaculate. You can take a walk and/or ride "the mule" (loved "the mule") to see the gorgeous grounds. We did both. Could not have asked for a better stay.

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amherst, Virginia
Top Contributor
132 reviews 132 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

Andy and Sue are the best. We stayed 2 nights in the "Nest". A very well equipped room, with everything you would need. Their breakfasts are awesome. First day was fresh pears/peaches, a apple compote, a berry/peach cobble, a large omelet with cheese, bacon and potatoes,fresh blueberry scones, and last but not least local ( VA ) stone ground grits. The 2nd day was more fresh fruit, a different scone, a berry/peach tart, egg casserole with cheese and ham, and her own homemade scrapple. Makes you want to cry. The have wonderful grounds to roam, or just sit in the swing. Is very convenient to both the Parkway and Bedford. Andy can be talked into giving a "mule" ride around the area.

Room Tip: They are in the country, when driving at dusk and after dark, be very aware of deer and other animal...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
roostbb, Owner at The Roost Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, September 25, 2012
Thanks so much for the great review. I didn,t know my scrapple was THAT good. Sue @ the roostbb
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bucks, UK
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2012

What a wonderful B&B! My husband, young son and I stayed for 1 night in August. We had booked just as a stop gap on our way through, but could have happily stayed for longer! Andy & Sue are so very hospitable and their home is simply beautiful. We stayed in the Coop, which was quite possibly bigger than the downstairs of my home! It was spotlessly clean, had everything we needed and Sue had even provided us with some home-made warm savoury bites for our arrival. Breakfast was exceptional... Sue really is a fantastic cook!
They made us feel very welcome and we all enjoyed being taken off round their stunning grounds in the golf cart. The area around their home is beautiful, very tranquil and quiet, with views over the peaks. We actually really liked Bedford too. Sue & Andy recommended The Station restaurant which was brilliant.
Thank you Sue & Andy... it was a pleasure to meet you both and to stay in your home. We very much hope to return one day and we will definitely stay for longer than 1 night!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
roostbb, Owner at The Roost Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, September 13, 2012
Hi Emma, Thank so much for the wonderful review of The Roost we really enjoyed meeting you and your wonderful family
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2012

My wife and I had a most enjoyable stay at The Roost. Very scenic location near Peaks of Otter. Sue and Andy were fantastic hosts. They gave us good recommendations on various tourist attractions, restaurants, etc in the Bedford area. Breakfasts were varied and delicious. We highly recommend a stay here.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
roostbb, Owner at The Roost Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, September 13, 2012
Hi Jerry, Thank you for writing such a nice review for us .We really enjoyed meeting you all and are so glad you enjoyed your trip Hope to see you again. Sue
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, OH
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2012

You will not find a more beautiful place or warmer hospitality! Sue and Andy will make you feel like you are staying with family. Their spectacular landingscaping makes you feel like you are walking through a queen's garden! The pond and fountain are an outdoor sanctuary! Their home is beautuifully decorated, yet very cozy. Sue's breakfast can't be topped. You are in for a treat at the "Roost"! This was our first experience at a bed breakfast. We doubt if we will ever find a more welcoming one!

Room Tip: We stayed in "The Nest". I was concerned that two twins made into a king would not be com...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Purcellville, Virginia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2012

As I was writing my check to pay for our stay at the Roost, I felt somewhat awkward...

My wife and I had just spent the night at Andy and Sue's home, and had just eaten a delicious breakfast consisting of egg casserole made with ham, swiss cheese, and green onions, homemade biscuits, fresh fruit, bacon, with OJ and coffee. Oh, and we also had desert! That's right, desert for breakfast - a crepe filled with a delicious cream cheese filling and topped with whipped cream, fresh strawberries, and drizzled with chocolate. Amazing. We had stayed the night in the room called the Nest. The room was very comfortable, clean, and the bed was one of the most comfortable beds I have slept in. My pregnant bride, who has a difficult time sleeping right now, had one of the best rests she's had in a while. Oh, and Sue had made 2 delicious eclaires to greet us when we arrived. Andy and Sue have done an amazing job with their property - the scenery is gorgeous and very peaceful. The gardens are some of the best I've seen anywhere and there is nothing better than finishing the day watching the fireflies at night, of which there are plenty. You can tell they put in a lot of work to keep their home pristine. And the best part is Andy and Sue are like family. And you will be made to feel the same. My wife and I thoroughly enjoyed getting to know them and will definitely be returning for a longer stay.

...I wrote that check, feeling awkward because I felt like I had spent the night with family, not in a stranger's Bed and Breakfast.

Todd and Heather Harrell

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Roost Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Roost Bed and Breakfast

Address: 1380 Otterlea Lane, Bedford, VA 24523
Location: United States > Virginia > Bedford
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Bedford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 2

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Roost Bed and Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.