We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very clean room with a great price” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Bedford Motel

Bedford Motel
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Bedford
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Bedford Motel
2195 W Lynchburg-Salem Tpk, Bedford, VA   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 4 hotels in Bedford
Wisconsin Dells, WI
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Very clean room with a great price”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2010 via mobile

We were in the area for the race at Martinsville, which was about an hours drive. I was skeptical of staying because of the rates. A lot of times a cheap motel does not equal clean! We own a cleaning service so we are very observant when we stay in a motel. I read the reviews beforehand and thought we would give it a try. So glad that we did. Our room had a king size bed with a pillowtop mattress. The mattress was a little harder than mine at home but comfortable enough. The room was very clean, not even cobwebs outside of the door. We did see a couple of pine bugs but they are harmless. They look a little prehistoric. We looked real close for any evidence of bed bugs but didn't see anything. We even lifted the mattress. The room was good sized with a small microwave and fridge. No coffeemaker so be sure to bring your own. All in all it was a very good rate ($45) per night for a good clean room.

  • Stayed October 2010
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

16 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    5
    3
    2
    2
    4
See reviews for
3
6
3
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2010

Yes, it's not the Ritz but all we needed was a place to sleep while visiting Bedford. I'm not a hotel snob but do enjoy a nice place to stay. However, you don't have a whole lot of choice when you are in Bedford. I read the reviews of this motel plus the Days Inn and Super 8 and after speaking with manager, decided that we were not above staying in this motel. The room was just fine for what we needed. Beds were adequate. Bathroom was clean and plenty of hot water. We did kill one little bug but that can happen anywhere. All in all, don't be afraid to stay at The Bedford Motel.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
italy
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2009

We chose this hotel for a 2 night stay while travelling through Va. We only lasted 10 minutes in the room and checked out. We were told that our booked room(non-smoking) was not available as they were having plumbing issues on one side of the hotel. The manager said we would be getting the room she usually holds for her family when they visit. She was very nice but the room was total crap! My husband used the toilet and had to take the tank lid off and play plumber to get it to flush, the room had a very strong odor of smoke and the element around the hotel felt unsafe. The view out the bathroom window was a very rundown trailer and there was junk surrounding the door to "our"room. We checked out immediatly and were charged $25 for the 10 minutes we were there trying to decide what to do. After checking out the Days Inn and Super 8 we drove on to Roanoke and never got a chance to see Bedford. Looks like the only option for a nice stay there would be a B&B in town.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Top Contributor
145 reviews 145 reviews
139 hotel reviews
Reviews in 138 cities Reviews in 138 cities
345 helpful votes 345 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2009

Spent the night in Bedford on business, and I thought this place looked okay. The owners were nice, and the rate was only $43. This is your typical '50s 'C'-shaped courtyard motel. The rooms are pretty big, and decently furnished. It's nothing fancy, but it's clean. The beds were a little mushy, but comfortable. The bathroom was small, the sink was actually outside in a funky old vanity that was just about the only vintage thing left in the room. US 460 is pretty busy and has a lot of trucks, so it wasn't the quietest night I've ever had.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Bedford Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bedford Motel

Address: 2195 W Lynchburg-Salem Tpk, Bedford, VA
Location: United States > Virginia > Bedford
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 hotels in Bedford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bedford Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Bedford Motel to your Saves list