We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good place to rest and see area inexpensive” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bedford Motel

Bedford Motel
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Bedford
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Bedford Motel
2195 W Lynchburg-Salem Tpk, Bedford, VA   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 4 hotels in Bedford
Danville, Virginia, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Good place to rest and see area inexpensive”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2012

I could'nt be happier with any non chain motel. It was clean,great service, and no life history at check in. I plan to stay next time I'm in town.The owner really cares about his guest and was very proud of his clean rooms and happy to show them before I checked in.The room was more than advertized. It had a fridge, microwave, recliner ,desk, free HBO. I never expected so much from
vintage motel. It was a great blast from the past adventure and better than the big money chains
Thirty years ago this would be the Hylton..

Room Tip: try to get away from highway. not too bad but get some road noise on end rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

15 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    4
    3
    2
    2
    4
See reviews for
3
6
2
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Keysville, Virginia, United States
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2012

Planned to stay here in my hometown for a family reunion...Website boasts Pet Friendly and only a $7 pet charge.... Was going to charge us $25 instead. When my wife told the desk clerk, replied was that the room cleaning rate was $25 and told my wife that pet people mess up the room with all the hair and barking dogs. Suggested we stay somewhere else if we didnt like it.... credit card charged 82$ for leaving and breaking reservation when we did...

Room Tip: rough crowd staying here...would not suggest children and def. not pets
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Georgia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2011

I admire what the new owners have attempted to do with this vintage motor court motel. The carpets are fairly new, the mattress is firm and the bathrooms, while small, have been renovated. It’s a clean place and that is half the battle when selecting and evaluating a motel.

The owner is very friendly and accommodating. She is quite enthusiastic about her property that she has owned for four years. Early check-ins are permitted and she even provided us with a king bed for the same price as a queen. In some ways, she is correct in her claim that it is a better place to stay than the Super 8 down the road, which is overdue for an overhaul. The Super 8 however, has a very pleasant view of the Peaks Of Otter. The Bedford Motel is certainly preferable to the Days Inn, at least since I last stayed there many years ago. With her pleasant, hospitable attitude and cordiality, I really wanted to like this place.

There are problems, however. Minor but notable, upon check-in, there was a fly in the room. More of an issue is that the motel is just yards away from main route 460 going into Bedford in one direction and Roanoke in the other. Bring earplugs because the traffic noises with be noticeable and steady into the late and early morning hours. Though the windows appear to have been upgraded, the standard wood doors with not mask any of the traffic racket. Truck noise is especially disturbing and for unknown reasons, it is worse at 2:00 A.M. than it is at 7:00 A.M. Quite honestly, this venue is noisier than a modern motel located near a major metropolitan airport.

The TV in our room was small and it was the old picture tube type, not a modern flat screen. It did have convenient jacks ion the side for audio and video inputs. There was a refrigerator and microwave in the room, which is always a plus. Another little goodie on the plus side is the combination vent fan and heater in the bathroom. If you wonder where all the bathroom heat lamps have gone, this is as good, if not better. This feature was probably my favorite part of the stay.

The towels were too small though and in need of replacement as they are thin as cheesecloth. A box of tissues also would have been nice. The bathtub drain was in need of unclogging. The only part of the bathroom that was overlooked was the shower curtain. It had some mildew on it and needed to be thoroughly cleaned or replaced.

The sink area needs to be updated and it would be helpful if there were more shelf space on which to place toiletries. With space at a premium, such a table or shelf would need to be placed below the air conditioner unit.

The room was furnished with mismatched furniture and decor which wasn't a big deal but one of the sitting chairs had a damaged back. The desk chair was uncomfortable and had only a thin pad covering the wicker seat.

The mattress on the king size bed was firm but for reasons I can only speculate, it was wrapped in a vinyl cover bag. This restricted the ventilation abilities of the mattress and made it a bit hot.

The wireless internet signal was weak, snail’s pace slow and frustratingly sporadic and far too often, non-existent. Going outside with the laptop helped tremendously but was impractical to do at times. Also, using the computer outside was no remedy for dropouts. If you have a smart-phone, connection shouldn’t be as much of a problem. Perhaps asking for another room where the internet is stronger will help but it doesn’t matter if there is free Wi-Fi if it is not accessible or too weak to be adequately functional.

The problem with Bedford, Virginia is that there really isn’t a decent motel to stay at which is also a good value. Much better deals can be had in Roanoke or Lynchburg. I’d say the only areas where the Bedford Motel exceeds the Super 8 is somewhat in cleanliness and certainly in price. I stayed at the Days Inn once and wouldn't consider staying there again. The Super 8 was great during its first few years but is overdue for a renovation. Once the Super 8 is updated, it will be the preferred choice except for the price, especially in peak season. If you play Priceline however, you may be able to get the Super 8 for about the same rate as the Bedford Motel.

I would have rated this property as average if it wasn't for the excessive traffic noise.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Harbor
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2011

I do a lot of traveling for Project Appleseeds, a non-profit ed org, and as such have seen a lot of low-priced motels. The Bedford Motel is the best value I have ever seen. For $50 I got a super-clean room, felt absolutely welcome and enjoyed a great night's sleep on a very comfortable bed. The room had been very recently remodeled from floor to ceiling and smelled brand-new.

There is a decent breakfast and lunch place next door, although the service was better at the hotel. There are several must-see items around Bedford: Thomas Jefferson's Poplar Forest Retreat, the National D-Day Memorial and one of Patrick Henry's plantations. I got to see the first two and would highly recommend both.

I tried the two "name brand" hotels nearby and they were dirty and over-priced, with surly staff - the Bedford Motel is THE place to stay in Beford.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grasonville, Maryland
Top Contributor
144 reviews 144 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 68 cities Reviews in 68 cities
99 helpful votes 99 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2011

We stayed there in April for one night to visit the WWII memorial. I made reservations 2 days in advance for a king non smoking room. Check in was smooth and the woman who appeared to be an owner told me that most of the rooms were rehabbed but she was out of them. Our room was clean but would have been marked as out of service on other motels. No head board, duct tape covering holes in the wall, 2 steps up to the bathroom which had an oversized vanity in it. If you sat on the toilet you had as much room as you would have on an airplane. This should have been removed and replaced with a pedestal sink. The outdoor lights shown in our window all night because the wore out curtains did not cover the window properly. On the outside the walkways were filled with construction stuff and a few mattresses on end under plastic. It has the appearance that they gave been working on the motel for some time. The only thing good about our stay was the mattress (hope if did not sit out in the weather like its brothers). Not worth the $51 including tax per night.

On a brighter note the breakfast next door was terrific!

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wisconsin Dells, WI
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2010 via mobile

We were in the area for the race at Martinsville, which was about an hours drive. I was skeptical of staying because of the rates. A lot of times a cheap motel does not equal clean! We own a cleaning service so we are very observant when we stay in a motel. I read the reviews beforehand and thought we would give it a try. So glad that we did. Our room had a king size bed with a pillowtop mattress. The mattress was a little harder than mine at home but comfortable enough. The room was very clean, not even cobwebs outside of the door. We did see a couple of pine bugs but they are harmless. They look a little prehistoric. We looked real close for any evidence of bed bugs but didn't see anything. We even lifted the mattress. The room was good sized with a small microwave and fridge. No coffeemaker so be sure to bring your own. All in all it was a very good rate ($45) per night for a good clean room.

  • Stayed October 2010
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2010

Yes, it's not the Ritz but all we needed was a place to sleep while visiting Bedford. I'm not a hotel snob but do enjoy a nice place to stay. However, you don't have a whole lot of choice when you are in Bedford. I read the reviews of this motel plus the Days Inn and Super 8 and after speaking with manager, decided that we were not above staying in this motel. The room was just fine for what we needed. Beds were adequate. Bathroom was clean and plenty of hot water. We did kill one little bug but that can happen anywhere. All in all, don't be afraid to stay at The Bedford Motel.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Bedford Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bedford Motel

Address: 2195 W Lynchburg-Salem Tpk, Bedford, VA
Location: United States > Virginia > Bedford
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 hotels in Bedford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bedford Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Bedford Motel to your Saves list