We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just Lovely!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Forget-Me-Not Bed and Breakfast

The Forget-Me-Not Bed and Breakfast
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Bedford
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Forget-Me-Not Bed and Breakfast
Save
You added The Forget-Me-Not Bed and Breakfast to your Saves list
733 Peaks Street, Bedford, VA 24523   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 7 Bedford B&B and Inns
Columbia, South Carolina
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Just Lovely!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2013

If you love the intrigue of old homes, then you will love the Forget-me-not! I loved all the fun antiques & family heirlooms that Kathy has displayed around the room & her home. Kathy's breakfasts were also delicious! We've always admired the stately old homes in Bedford, so it was a lot of fun to finally stay in one! Bedford has always reminded my husband & I of what Mayberry would look like. The B&B is also really close to the main stretch of shops in downtown Bedford, probably less than 30 min from the Peaks of Otter & not far from the National D-Day Memorial. It was a fun place for my husband & I to stay for our anniversary!

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

16 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    13
    2
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
1
10
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Twain Harte, California
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

Can't say enough about the Forget-Me-Not Bed and Breakfast! Kathy and John are such nice hosts! They made us feel so welcome in our cozy little room. We were only able to stay one night and wished it could have been more. Our breakfast, served by John, was amazing! If you get a chance to stay here, don't pass it up!

Room Tip: Only one room! That makes is very special!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

If you enjoy personal attention yet appreciate privacy, this place is ideal. Built in the style of traditional homes in the area, the house has character and is renovated just enough to retain the feel of gracious, old Virginia. It has a private entrance and bath, and Kathy keeps the space fresh-smelling clean. Because it is a so small, she can cater to preferences but knows how to give a visitor enough space to make it a true holiday experience.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013 via mobile

First and foremost, Kathy and John are warm, welcoming and informative hosts. From the moment we arrived they made us feel welcome and at home. The room is spotless and the shower a major highlight! They were more than happy to offer great local advice and the breakfast was delicious. The thing I will remember the most about the B&B is the lovely conversation and genuine interest and care that Kathy and John showed us. It made our stay in Bedford and I would highly recommend staying here - hiking nearby is great and Sharp Top is a great place for views. Thank you Forget me Not for a great stay!

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2013 via mobile

My husband and I stayed at the forget me not. What a delightful stay. Kathy and John are gracious hosts. I absolutely recommend this B and B. The room is in a quaint setting and you surround yourself with items of days gone by.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2013

I stayed here once a few years ago and once recently. This place is truly a great B&B. The room is meticulously cleaned. The bathroom is spotless. I was so impressed with everything. Kathy and John make their guests feel like they are family, excellent hosts. Breakfast is to die for. Request the buttermilk pancakes. I have had pancakes in many different parts of the country and the ones they make at the Forget-Me-Not are the best I have ever had.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NJ
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2013

Took a quick trip to Bedford and wanted to stay in town. Forget-Me-Not was the perfect location--easy to find, easy walk to restaurants. Most important, Kathy and John were the most friendly and easygoing hosts, making us feel at home from the moment we arrived. Room was very comfortable, and decorated with an abundance of interesting antiques. A tasty breakfast with good conversation rounded out our much-too-short stay. We'll be back!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Forget-Me-Not Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Forget-Me-Not Bed and Breakfast

Address: 733 Peaks Street, Bedford, VA 24523
Location: United States > Virginia > Bedford
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Bedford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 1
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
On the crest of a ten acre field, our Victorian home sits proudly alongside stately walnut and pecan trees. The wrap-around front porch, warmed by a century of sunrises, has a side door for the private use of our guests. On the main floor, our guest room has an heirloom antique double canopy bed and private bathroom. Within walking distance to Bedford's quaint downtown restaurants and shops. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Forget-Me-Not Bed and Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.