We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent Place to Stay” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Super 8 Bedford

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Super 8 Bedford to your Saves list
Super 8 Bedford
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   842 Sword Beach Lane, Bedford, VA 24523   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Stay 2+ Nights, Save 25%
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Bedford
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
196 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
“Decent Place to Stay”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

Our reviews of hotels start with the basic requirements of fridge, microwave, WiFi, guest laundry and free breakfast. This place met those basic requirements and therefore earns an average with us. The breakfast was the usual starch and sparse. We see that a lot. We did get a good night's sleep which is important to us. Yeah, a remodeling would help but it met our basic requirements and was a good place to stay.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sam s, Manager at Super 8 Bedford, responded to this review, October 23, 2013
Thanks for posting your review of our Super 8 Bedford Virginia! We offer friendly service, clean rooms and great value to our customers.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

189 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    38
    67
    39
    27
    18
See reviews for
74
46
16
26
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Verona, NJ
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

This Super 8 is super clean, and a great value for a great price. My husband and I stayed in a king-bedded room facing the back of the hotel which was quiet and very private. The room came equipped with a fridge and microwave and the bed was very comfortable. We would definitely return to this hotel if we needed to be in the Bedford area again.

Room Tip: If you're looking for privacy and a quiet room, ask for a room facing the back of the hotel towa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sam s, Manager at Super 8 Bedford, responded to this review, October 23, 2013
Thank you for staying with us and posting your review of our Super 8 Bedford Virginia! Our staff works to insure a great experience and clean rooms at a good value to our customers. Hope to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2013 via mobile

They gave us a discount without even asking. Their rooms were very stylish for an average priced hotel. Staff were very friendly. Rooms were very clean. I was very impressed with this hotel. I would definitely recommend this hotel to those traveling through the area. We had stayed in Appomattox the previous night and the hotel was very run down and overpriced. Arricing at this hotel the following day was such a relief.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Locust Grove, Virginia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

I have stayed at this hotel numerous times over the past 9 years and have always been pleased with my stay. The rooms are clean, the bed is comfortable, and the staff is friendly and helpful. If you stay in a room on the back side of the hotel, you have a view of the mountains and may see a rabbit, a groundhog, or a deer in the early morning. And if you like fresh air, the window opens. I travel a great deal and stay here, choosing to drive an hour to my destination in the morning, because this motel is clean, safe, quiet and comfortable--every single time that I stay.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bedford
8.2 mi away
Peaks of Otter Lodge
Peaks of Otter Lodge
#1 of 4 in Bedford
4.5 of 5 stars 419 reviews
20.3 mi away
Natural Bridge Hotel & Conference Center
19.8 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Lynchburg
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.5 mi away
Kirkley Hotel
Kirkley Hotel
#8 of 23 in Lynchburg
4.0 of 5 stars 659 reviews
13.9 mi away
Halesford Harbour Inn
Halesford Harbour Inn
#1 of 1 in Moneta
5.0 of 5 stars 38 reviews
20.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN Of Lynchburg
BEST WESTERN Of Lynchburg
#16 of 23 in Lynchburg
3.5 of 5 stars 98 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Super 8 Bedford? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Super 8 Bedford

Address: 842 Sword Beach Lane, Bedford, VA 24523
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Bedford
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Bedford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Super 8 Bedford 2*
Number of rooms: 58
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Super 8 in Bedford,VA is located at the foothills of the Blue Ridge Mountains. The Peaks of Otter provide guests with a scenic view. The Super 8 is a two story motel with no elevator, each room contains a 32" flat screen TV with cable including 3 HBO channels, micro/fridge, coffee maker and hairdryer. Complimentary continental breakfast is available from 6AM to 9AM daily. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Wyndham, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Odigeo, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Super 8 Bedford reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Super 8 Bedford Hotel Bedford
Super Eight Bedford

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Super 8 Bedford, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.