We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First Wine- tasting experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Johnson's Orchards

Johnson's Orchards
2122 Sheep Creek Road, Bedford, VA 24523
(540) 586-3707
Improve this listing
Ranked #5 of 11 things to do in Bedford
Attraction details
Roanoke, Virginia
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“First Wine- tasting experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

This was worth the drive to visit this "sweet" wine-tasting site. They have wine-tasting in which you purchase a small glass ($3-4). Very knowledgeable staff working there. What i didnt know until i was leaving is that you can purchase the fruit from the orchards. You pick and pay by the pound. Great concept, great atmosphere, just great!

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

24 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    14
    3
    3
    1
    3
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bedford, Virginia
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“"Horse & Hound" at Johnson's Orchards”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

July always brings the "Horse & Hound Festival" to the Johnson's Orchard each year. We attend to see the horse exhibits, the dogs having fun with their owners, arts and crafts & delicious food for sale & various wineries offering samples from their vineyards. A band performs wonderful music on stage throughout the festivities. It's always a fun time for all!

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Forest, Virginia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Don't Waste Your Time!!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

NOT WORTH YOUR TROUBLE EITHER!!!
At their gift shop....the lady behind the register was very condescending and a bit of a [--] when I asked her a simple question. Also, the stuff ( jellies, jams, wines ect.) on the shelves were dirty and dusty, which make you wonder how old they are.

OH!!!....I only gave them 1 star because you can't submit a review with giving them something. They didn't even deserve this one :(

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roanoke, Virginia
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Nice little place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

My wife just started drinking wine and we pass this place every weekend on our way to visit family. So we decided to stop in and check it out. It is winter time so the only thing going on it the little wine shop. (Although we were told that during the summer they have various activities for kids and families.) Walking in we were greeted by a very nice lady who was quick to offer any help she could and offered a wine sampling. All of the wines that i samples except one were very sweet wines. This is not the place to come looking for dry red wines. This is fruit punch with a kick. Which we like. After sampling who knows how many i walked away with 4 bottles. No need for me telling you which is the best.... Strawberry shortcake, pear, passion fruit, mango, and about 15 other ones. Go check it out and pick your favorite. Its free and something to do on the weekend. They were all very good. I also picked up some 4 bean salad which was very good. Tasted like granny's.....

So now this is a every sunday stop. Passion fruit is the best... :)

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buchanan, Virginia
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Nice”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2012

I like it due to the fact that it is family oriented. I will most likely go back. It can get quite warm in the summer.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Johnson's Orchards also viewed

 

Been to Johnson's Orchards? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Johnson's Orchards, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.