We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Millstone Tea Room

Millstone Tea Room
9058 Big Island Hwy, Route 122, Bedford, VA 24523-5271
540-587-7100
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 52 Restaurants in Bedford
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Breakfast
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast
cary, nc
1 review
“Outstanding”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2012

Absolutely wonderful - had the shrimp and grits and it was so good (I don't even like grits). Makes me sad that I moved to the DC area, no reason to go down to Central Virginia anymore. Beautiful setting too.

  • Visited May 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

61 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    52
    4
    3
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bedford, Virginia
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Too Much Money, Not Enough Food”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2012

The last time my wife and I went, which admittedly was several years ago, we found the entrees to be quite pricey for the amount of food they put on the plate (good food by the way) - we decided not to go back again - was a nice atmosphere - a little out of the way place - staff was friendly.

  • Visited April 2011
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lynchburg, Virginia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Fresh, Local, Friendly, Focused, and Intimate”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2012

Millstone Tearoom is a gem in an otherwise dusty area of restaurant choices. In the Bedford and Lynchburg areas, the options for locally-owned dining experiences are few. While there are plenty of places to get mediocre Mexican fare, generic chicken dishes, or a large slab of meat labeled as steak, there aren't many places where they know your name, welcome you with hugs, yet consistently put out fresh, exquisitely prepared food that is as unique as the environment. Nestled in between the Blue Ridge Mountains and the range of hills running along the James River, is a little cabin with one and half rooms of rustic charm. If you're looking for intimate and easy, this is the place. In the winter, the wood stove is churning and the lights twinkle off the copper tables. In the summer, the crickets thrum, the cows across the road, snuff and moo and the birds sing. Melanie and crew are welcoming and easy, but don't let the down-home Southern charm fool you. This place in the country is anything but country and the simple setting belies the complex flavors presented in their food. Even the most simply prepared pork chop is perfectly cooked and seasoned in a way that enhances, not disguises the flavor of the locally-sourced meat. A small ramekin of macaroni and cheese is the perfect amount of a very rich, broiled-on-top treat. The bread is homemade, as are the dressings, barbecue sauce (their own Sauce #11), and exceptional, decadent desserts. Melanie has a knack for making ice cream, the cinnamon being her best we've had anywhere. Bread puddings, profiteroles, pie and even homemade sugared donuts are just some of the desserts we've sampled here. Even when you're trying to apply the "one bite" rule, it's impossible not to clean your plate. The portions are not tremendous for some dishes, but I must say you won't leave hungry. Every meal comes with a soup or delightfully fresh salad and their appetizers range from homemade (to-die-for) gnocchi, to tempura prawns, to artisan flatbread pizzas. There are homey comfort food dishes like shrimp and grits, pan-fried trout, hominy, and fried oysters, but everything has a twist to accommodate sophisticated "city" palettes. As a self-proclaimed food snob, there aren't many places I'll choose to eat, instead cooking myself most nights. But when it comes to special occasions, like birthdays, anniversaries and Valentine's Day, this is first on my list. This year, we waited too long to book for V-day, so we chose to eat there the following night and were not disappointed that we waited. Highlights for the hearty eaters include: the pork chop, short ribs, and poutine. The mussels are delightful and they do a great job with duck and crab cakes. For those who have had poor experiences here, I cannot imagine where their tastebuds lie or from where they are writing, because as someone who has travelled all over and eaten at some of the best restaurants in Las Vegas, New York, San Francisco, Italy and Paris, I can honestly recommend Millstone as a terrific dining option in an otherwise drab landscape of dining choices.

  • Visited February 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lynchburg, Virginia, United States
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Scenic drive”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2012

This is out in the country but it's good food. However, bring a small flashlight to see the menu as the lighting is dim for ambiance.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“The best around!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2011

Millstone Tea Room is the kind of place you think about visiting on your next vacation. Fortunately, it's a peaceful drive from Bedford, Lynchburg, and Roanoke. And it's worth the drive from even further away. The menu is seasonal and if you think you're going to be served something that you can get anywhere else, you're going to be pleasantly surprised. Each menu selection is unique.

The service is friendly and thoughtful. The decor is eclectic and the atmosphere is delightful. Ask for a table on the patio on a warm spring evening or after the sun goes down on a hot summer night. Perfect for enjoying a glass of one of Jared and Melanie's chilled selections.

Sunday brunch will not disappoint before or after a leisurely drive along the Parkway. (Get directions first or use your GPS if you're not familiar with the area.)

My favorites are the shrimp and grits, fried oysters, or steamed mussels, swimming in a sauce which requires dipping with the fresh bread.

You will want to return...often.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Millstone Tea Room also viewed

 

Been to Millstone Tea Room? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Millstone Tea Room, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.