We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fun for the kids” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Bryce Ski Area

Bryce Ski Area
Basye, VA
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 4 Attractions in Basye
Type: Ski/ Snowboard Areas, Sports
Attraction details
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
19 attraction reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Fun for the kids”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

I remember coming as a child and although the natural snow season has not been the best, my kids loved learning about and seeing the snow making process. We had fun watching the kids learn to ski and fall :-). The slopes were just enough to be exciting but not itimidating.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

19 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    4
    12
    1
    1
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Johns Creek, Georgia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Fun skiing in the South”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

When we arrived in VA (12/30/12), there was natural snow on the ground. The ski area also had man made snow. During the week, most of the snow on the ground had melted but the snow on the slopes was still good enough to have fun on. There are two chair lifts but one of them was not running. And from the looks, I'm not sure I would have wanted to ride it. But the #1 lift was brand new this season and easy to get on & off of. There were 3 runs open the week we were there, one green named Redeye and two blue named Bodlegger & Revenner's Run. They were challenging enough for my novice legs that I didn't need anything else. The ski staff was friendly enough. The restaurant at the base of the mountain was reasonably priced and also had friendly staff, though they were a bit slow to check on you. The Chili was great!

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basye, Virginia
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
13 attraction reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Nice little resort”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013 via mobile

Don't come here expecting black diamond trails. It is a fine resort for beginners and intermediates. It is a place you can just turn your kids loose and not worry. They have a new quad which is a line eater.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nags Head, North Carolina
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Great Resort for Children!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

Smaller resort, with great facilities for children to learn to ski. 5 year took learn to ski lessons and the instructors were fantastic. 8 year old took learn to ski lesson and had a very small class size. Everyone at the resort was very helpful. They even picked us up in the parking lot on a golf cart to start the day!

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Bryce”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

Great for skiing/snowboarding. Tubing was not impressive but may be due to the weather. Wish they had other amenities for those who don't ski, maybe a spa or ice skating.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bryce Ski Area also viewed

 

Been to Bryce Ski Area? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bryce Ski Area, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.