We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Visit every year!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Philpott Lake

Philpott Lake
1058 Philpott Dam Road, Bassett, VA 24055
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 2 things to do in Bassett
Attraction details
Rocky Mount, Virginia
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Visit every year!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2012

We love Philpott lake. We prefer it over Smith Mountain lake. It's not congested. Not houses. I can bring my dogs to the campgrounds. The sites are nice and they just built a new bath house near the camper camping!

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

28 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    19
    3
    6
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Floyd, Virginia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Beautiful Area”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2012

I rode horses with my family on trails that lead to the lake. The area is gorgeous and very private!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ohio
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
22 attraction reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
“Gorgeous and Deep!!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2012

We drove 8 hours to get to the lake. Crossed more mountains than we wanted to count. The visitor's center was open a little early, but the volunteer couldn't tell us much about fishing the lake. We did get a generic map of the lake that helped some. We couldn't find a fishing map of the lake anywhere...not in Collinsville, Bassett or Martinsville or online. Is there one?
The water was 86 degrees in August. There are no marinas on the lake, but several boat ramps. Expect to pay $3 in correct cash each day that you fish. There are small envelopes at each ramp for your $$ and a hanger for your vehicle.
The water is very clear and very deep...everywhere. 180 feet at the dam. Many, many places were 40-80 feet deep just a step from the shore. There are mile markers that help with knowing where you are because most of it looks exactly the same.
We were fishing for bass and caught two in 14 hours of fishing. Neither were keepers. Most fishermen that we talked to were after muskie and fishing very deep.
At the far end of the Mile Marker 4 cove that heads toward Fairy Stone Lake, there is a cool waterfall that is an overflo from Fairy Stone. You can't access Fairy Stone Lake from Philpott. The water there was an average 12 feet and we could see lots of fish on our Hummingbird, but couldn't catch any.
We only saw 2 houses on the edge of the lake and both were very high, on the top of cliffs high above the lake. No access to the lake for either one.
Our bass boat flew over this lake. The water was clean and the lake is beautiful. But fishing was a bust for us. You have to know how to fish deep and have to have the equipment to fish deep.
Goosepoint and Salthouse (opposite sides of the lake) both have camping facilities. Several folks had kayaks and lauched from these two sites. Great lake to kayak on because it is so calm. Some folks were camping on an island in the middle of the lake that is only boat access.
I was disappointed that I didn't see much wildlife. I didn't see any turtles, frogs, Eagles, etc. but the 4" blue gills were fun to watch in the water.
Advice we were given about fishing....From daylight until about 10am, fish from the bank and throw out. Let your crankbait sink and then bounce it off the bottom as it comes up the 40 or so feet side of the bank.
Forget about shallow or top water fishing. The water is too warm in August and the fish are very deep. There are some fish attractors located near Goose Point Campground. We saw boats parked in a couple of places, but again they were probably fishing for muskie and very deep.
The few people that we saw and talked to were very nice and helpful. But all said that this is a difficult lake to fish.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mount Airy, North Carolina
Top Contributor
205 reviews 205 reviews
15 attraction reviews
Reviews in 61 cities Reviews in 61 cities
168 helpful votes 168 helpful votes
“A nice family get away place.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2012

Campground and lake. I haven't been here in over 10 years . It was nice just a little far to drive. Once you get there it is nice but you are in no where.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
24073
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
13 attraction reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Hard to get too with a big boat but once you do it's lovely”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2012

Nice place, we camped here and enjoyed it very much.

Visited June 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Philpott Lake also viewed

Been to Philpott Lake? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Philpott Lake, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.