We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great little place.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Burnley Vineyards

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Burnley Vineyards
4500 Winery Lane, Barboursville, VA 22923
540 832 2828
Website
Improve this listing
Type: Wineries, Food & Drink
Attraction details
Mechanicsburg, Pennsylvania
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Great little place.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

Nice cozy place. Loved the unique spiced wine at the end! Their sweet wines were also very good because they weren't too sweet like the big popular wineries. Would return again!

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

27 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    10
    8
    4
    3
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Burnley and Mr. Horton... Read before you go!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2012

Last time I visited this winery 10 years ago - it was my favorite tour! So, naturally I could not wait to get back! I eagerly went in and approached a man standing behind the tasting bar. I inquired about the tour. He looked at me and said if you can come back here (behind the bar) and find some A** (left out the word) to give you a tour, then you can have a tour! I was stunned - there was another family and elementary age children with us! I asked his name and found out he was the owner. He continued to tell me his purchase price (liked I cared) when the winery started and told me "that was the tour" ! He said if I did not need anything else, than I could go to the cashier and purchase the "wine tasting" privilege! There were several other families in there. We all just left. I will never go back... I guess that is why the parking lot was empty when we got there and the other wineries were full!

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hartsville, South Carolina
Top Contributor
100 reviews 100 reviews
38 attraction reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
“A Great Little Winery in Virginia”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2012

While on a trip to visit our favorite winery in Virginia (Horton) we decided to stop by Burnley and it was a very good decision. This is a nice "petit" winery with a small but good selection of wines at very reasonable prices. My favorites were the Chardonnay. Crisp and not overly oaked. I also found the Reisling to be very good. I would highly recommend that you stop by when in the area and enjoy the wines from this small, family run winery.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Great experience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2012 via mobile

Went with a small group for a wine tasting. The service was wonderful. She was friendly and knowledgable. I also loved visiting with the dogs there. Wine was good. Would like to return in the future.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
Top Contributor
113 reviews 113 reviews
49 attraction reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
140 helpful votes 140 helpful votes
“We love their Norton!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2012

Burnley is a small winery not far from Barboursville Winery, and it's a good contrast from a big winery to a mom & pop winery. The staff is wonderful and knows a lot about the wines. We enjoyed many of their wines but their Norton is a favorite Norton is a native Virginia grape but many people haven't had it. It makes a heavy red wine, so it's not for white wine drinkers! We always look for Burnley at festivals now so we can get some more Norton!

Visited August 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Burnley Vineyards also viewed

 

Been to Burnley Vineyards? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Burnley Vineyards, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.