We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a pleasant surprise...!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Harpoon Brewery

Harpoon Brewery
336 Ruth Carney Dr, Windsor, VT 05089-9419
802-674-5491
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 17 restaurants in Windsor
Cuisines: American
Restaurant details
Berlin, Connecticut
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
74 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
“What a pleasant surprise...!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2014

Due to unfortunate timing on a recent ski weekend in Vermont, Mother Nature became uncooperative on a Saturday, not just rain, a deluge of pouring rain! In lieu of the ubiquitous "let's go shopping", my nephew suggested... a visit to Harpoon Brewery, approx a half hour drive from Ludlow, VT. What a great idea! One of the nicer brewery business model layouts we've seen. Very accomodating. $5 gets you four tastes of beer, and a fun tour. We enjoyed a very nice lunch of appetizers and specialty sandwiches, reasonably priced. And to accompany, glasses of beer which we'd particulary enjoyed as a sample. Very organized, good service. Not Fine Dining, nor a Bar...! Very good food, and great beer served... it's a Brewery!!!

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

83 reviews from our community

90% Recommend
    39
    36
    6
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Wilmington, Massachusetts
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Slow Service-Average Food”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2014

The Harpoon Brewery was mainly a disappointment for me, although I do think my boyfriend enjoyed in a bit more. I did not drink any beer there, but my boyfriend thought the Craft Cider brew was so-so and the Winter Warmer which he enjoyed a lot. I had the root beer, which was excellent. However, our service was not great. It took a while for our server to come over, and then it took a half-hour for our food to come out, which was ridiculous. We had to change our dinner plans because lunch took so long. The food was not that good, either. I got the veggie burger, an it was burnt and the fries were almost cold. I think the Ruben my boyfriend got was good, though. Overall, it was not a good experience. I definitely think people should just stick to drinking if the go here.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milford, Connecticut
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Great Taste of Vermont”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2013 via mobile

Treated ourselves to a cheeseburger made from VT beef and cheddar cheese along with sharing a brewery sampler. Sat by a roaring fire and enjoyed our visit thoroughly. Took home a couple of growlers and will surely stop again on our next venture to Vermont. I highly recommend this short hop off of exit 9 for anyone passing through.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brownsville, Vermont
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Good place to get beer and food. ”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2013

I come here once in a while for dinner. I always eat their sandwiches. Maybe someday I'll try something new. The beer is good as well. Some nights they have live entertainment which adds a nice touch. Bring your friends. It's a good place to hang out and kickback.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Nice place to stop for a cocktail”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013

We stopped by on our way to Brattleboro. Beer was good. They had over 25 selections on tap and the bar maid was patient as we narrowed down our selection. Once we got our cocktails we went and sat outside around the firepit! Typical New England.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Harpoon Brewery also viewed

 

Been to Harpoon Brewery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Harpoon Brewery, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.