We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“delightfully stumbled upon for rest” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Snapdragon Inn

Save Saved
You added Snapdragon Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Snapdragon Inn
2.5 of 5 Inn   |   26 Main St, Windsor, VT 05089   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 Windsor B&B and Inns
Ridgefield, Connecticut
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“delightfully stumbled upon for rest”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2011

On a recent adventure with my young son, I found myself too tired to make it home, and we unexpectedly made our way into Windsor, VT, finding this wonderful Inn. It was the most delightful stay, at a historical gem, beautifully and tastefully restored and well appointed, with the most lovely family caretakers. My young son was treated with respect and therefore behaved accordingly, we loved the generously comfortable room, freshly prepared continental breakfast and very friendly welcome. I love the Snapdragon chap stick, a gift in our room, and every detail and amenity was appreciated. The stroll around the lake was lovely, and the town has some interesting sites to see. We had a fabulous meal at the Burdick restaurant (French bistro food and handmade find chocolates!) in Walpole, twenty minutes away and many other fine restaurants are within close proximity and worth the drive. Snapdragon is conveniently well located very close to Billings Farm, Dartmouth and many other fabulous destinations. Cannot beat the friendly welcoming charm and reasonable rates for such a fine place to stay. I highly recommend giving this wonderful new place a try.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

183 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    158
    24
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
23
108
15
11
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Northants
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2011

We spent 3 weeks in New England travelling from State to State. Unfortunately our trip coincided with Hurricane Irene which meant that our intended stay in a B&B close to Woodstock was unavailable due to there being no electricity. By late afternoon we still hadn't found anywhere to stay which had running water and electricity! We asked a local in Windsor if he knew of a hotel or B&B in the area and he recommended the Snapdragon. It's expensive by English standards but was worth every penny (or dollar in this case!). It was spacious, beautifully decorated - modern but retaining a lot of the original features. The room we had was huge and the breakfasts were substantial, albeit continental style. The owners were very welcoming too. We had planned on staying only for 1 night but we were so comfortable we decided to spend another night there. We can't praise this B&B highly enough and wouldn't hesitate in recommending anyone to stay for a night or two, they certainly wouldn't be disappointed.

While you are there check out the lake to the rear of the property, particularly early in the morning if it's a clear day, we have some stunning photos and it's like an oasis. For those more energetic, you can walk all the way around and all before breakfast!!












Wind

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2011

I posted a review of the Snapdragon Inn and had it deleted when I found that the Cleanliness check box did not have five stars. and since the Inn was cleanliness itself and it was probably my fault that I missed a check circle I am reposting. If this review doesn't show 5 stars for everything something is wrong with the site because I
did check all five stars.
The Inn is relaxed comfort, the beds are the most comfortable I have ever slept in. I was there to just relax.
I sat on the rocking chairs on the porch and read my books, I walked around the lake, I had wonderful dinners at the Windsor station restaurant. the breakfast that the inn serves is so good.
The innkeepers are terrific. This is a family owned inn at its best. There are lots of places to visit and things to do and see and I did go to a wonderful concert, and explored the area since it it beautiful but my advice is to leave time for the pure joy of relaxing in comfort and beautiful surroundings.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2011

We were looking for a place to stay between Boston and Burlington from which we could explore NH and VT. We found sanctuary complete with chic decor, excellent breakfast buffet, all day/all night coffee and tea service, library with rocking chaired porch, large lawn for strolling or shade, and a lake with easy, beautiful walking trails. The congenial hosts offered information, conversation, and privacy. Every detail has been thought out so we felt relaxed - cared for - at home. We will return as often as we are able.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2011

An old house in Windsor was impeccably restored and outfitted as the Snapdragon Inn. One of the few B&B where rooms are spacious, outfitted with all the essentials that make for a comfortable stay but notably uncluttered with bric-a-brac. The staff/owners are very friendly, helpful, courteous and provide a very pleasant continental style breakfast. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montclair, New Jersey
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2011

We stayed for the weekend August 12-14 and I must admit, having grown up in the area, I wasn't sure how it would feel to stay in an Inn so close to my former home. We were greeted warmly and I soon found that they were very interested in my connections to the area as the history of the area is important to the owners. The Inn was lovely, recently renovated, and very cozy. The room we had on the third floor (#9) was large with dormer ceilings and the bathroom was fantastic. The breakfasts were very good with a couple of yummy homemade items among the other items offered. The owners couldn't have been nicer! (Even to the point of mailing us a shirt we had left behind without accepting any payment for the postage.) I highly recommend the Snapdragon.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
connecticut
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2011

I spent three evenings at the Snapdragon Inn. The facility is beautiful. The room was clean, quiet and private. The sitting room off the lobby as well as the porch offerd a convenient place to conduct a business conversation with an associate. I would strongly recomment this location to anyone traveling for business or pleasure in this are of Vermont or NH.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Snapdragon Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Snapdragon Inn

Address: 26 Main St, Windsor, VT 05089
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Vermont > Windsor
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Windsor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Snapdragon Inn 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A grand and historic brick home, reborn as an inn. At Snapdragon Inn, we celebrate the beauty and bounty that Vermont and the Upper Valley have to offer, and want to make your stay as relaxing as can be. Snapdragon Inn is about comfort, pure and simple. Whether you are visiting to work, to play, or simply to relax, Snapdragon Inn is for you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, T4B, Priceline, Booking.com and Venere so you can book your Snapdragon Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Snapdragon Hotel Windsor
Snapdragon Inn Vermont/Windsor

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Snapdragon Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.