We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best B&B I've stayed at!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Nutmeg

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added The Nutmeg to your Saves list
The Nutmeg
153 W Main St, Wilmington, VT 05363 (Formerly Nutmeg Country Inn)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
10% off room rate
Ranked #1 of 9 Wilmington B&B and Inns
Reno, Nevada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Best B&B I've stayed at!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

Great place to stay, great breakfast with lots of trails for winter sport or summer hiking! The breakfast was by far the best B&B breakfast I ever had. Totally love this place, can't wait to go back!This was a mother daughter trip and we had a great time it would be good for families, couples and girls trips. The price was well worth the stay.

Room Tip: All the rooms are very nice!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

178 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    155
    20
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
31
101
11
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Urbana, Maryland
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2012

Staying at the Nutmeg was a wonderful experience. The hotel is simply lovely in every way shape and form. The service was excellent and the breakfast was outstanding. I cannot say enough about how wonderful the people are at the Nutmeg. It was a real pleasure staying at this Bed and Breakfast and we will definitely be back.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, Virginia
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2012

We stayed for two nights; the house is warm and inviting and the owners were great. They truly made us feel welcome. Breakfast was very good. The owners recommended "The Anchor" for our first evening there for dinner. Good food - a good choice. Wilmington is well situated for seeing this part of Vermont. Would definitely visit again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chapel Hill, North Carolina
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2012

Charming and beautifully decorated. Just exactly what you would expect a country inn to be but with all of the modern amenities. The staff is gracious and very accommodating. And the location is fantastic...lot's of things to do in the immediate area. I will definitely be back!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2012

We enjoyed our stay at this inn but would not call it "perfection".
First the good things: very good staff, friendly and accommodating. Good location between Bennington and Marlboro (we were here for the Music Festival); Wilmington is a nice little town. Beautiful common rooms, particularly the breakfast room areas. Good breakfast with attentive service...although if you are in Vt to have those spectacular 3 course breakfasts, it's not that fancy. It's clear that the Owners and staff care about the property, and they have their hands full with this very old farm house.
The inn is under new management, I think for about a year. It's apparent that they have been fixing up the place and when they are done it's going to be fabulous. In the meantime, there is a mix of old and new. Some of this is just odd, such as contemporary artwork in the middle of a "country" room, which did not bother us. Of more substance was the dated bathroom (but the plumbing functioned) with the weird door (it was fashioned like a large shutter, floor to ceiling but there was zero sound reduction, if you know what I mean). The king sized bed was beautiful but the mattress was too soft. I think that will be the next round of upgrades. There was an old TV that had sort of a milky picture that sat on top of a fridge that had definitely seen better days. The central air conditioning worked well, thankfully, but it was too cold to stay in the room. The nice folks at the desk closed the vent but as the thermostat was outside of the room in the hall, the only way to make the room comfortable was to leave the door open.
So I'm rating this Inn under "very good" due to these various shortcomings, but we would stay here again. I can't imagine what it has been like for the new owners. They must have purchased the place shortly before the floods from last August's tropical storm (which did not flood the Inn but damaged a lot in the area).

Room Tip: When picking out a room, I'd suggest garden view. This inn is directly on a main (but two lane...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wallingford, Connecticut, United States
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2012

Words cannot even describe how truly wonderful of an experience my boyfriend and myself had at the Nutmeg Inn. Neither of us has ever tried the Bed and Breakfast life before and boy are we now hooked. Although we only went for one night, due to our schedules, not because we didn’t want to stay longer, this trip was amazing and will always be remembered. The best three words to describe The Nutmeg are RELAXING, ROMANTIC and WELCOMING. Doug and Geo are unbelievable at what they do. From the "seafood" at the welcome wine to the scrumptious French toast in the morning everything they had to offer, including the goodbye hung, was memorable. The room took our breath away when we walked in and the Jacuzzi was our best friend! Needless to say, the two of us are planning a trip back in October and to send my parents there as a Christmas gift. We are still glowing when we think about the peace and charm of our stay. Thank you for such a memorable night!!! ~Jessica and Dave

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, Pennsylvania
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2012

Spent two nights at the wonderful Nutmeg Inn. Doug and Geo are marvelous hosts and, with their skilled staff, attend to every detail. The inn is elegant, comfortable and spotlessly clean. Breakfasts are delicious and beautifully served. Each day at cocktail hour I sat in the yard with a complimentary glass of wine and enjoyed the peaceful surroundings. Can't wait to go back in cool weather and enjoy the inn's cozy lounge areas and the natural beauty of VT.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Nutmeg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Nutmeg

Address: 153 W Main St, Wilmington, VT 05363 (Formerly Nutmeg Country Inn)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Vermont > Wilmington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Wilmington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Quintessential southern inn, The Nutmeg, cr 1777 is in Wilmington VT, near Mt Snow. Perfect for a romantic ski weekend. Or a fall get away. Or summer fun. Hearty Breakfast in the AM. Wood burning fireplaces, private baths, WiFi, TV, A/C. New owners. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com and Tingo so you can book your The Nutmeg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Nutmeg, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.