We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“High Quality Meals” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Anchor

The Anchor
8 South Main Street, Wilmington, VT
+1 802-464-2112
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 23 Restaurants in Wilmington
Cuisines: American, Seafood
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Portland, Maine
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“High Quality Meals”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2014

Visited the Anchor for dinner, and we were very pleased with the excellent meals; well prepared and presented.

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

194 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    113
    55
    17
    5
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Chicopee, Massachusetts
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“New Years Eve hotspot”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2014 via mobile

Everything was great from the atmosphere to the service. Price was expected, you get what you pay for which is great food and a great staff.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Irvington, New York
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“very enjoyable meal”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2014

we were a little nervous when we arrived - there was some debate between busy seeming waitstaff about whether we could be accommodated but then they seated us quickly and we had a lovely meal and absolutely wonderful service.

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodbridge, Connecticut
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“A little expensive place to eat but worth it”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2014

We love this place. It is a little more pricy but I do think we got what we paid for. Food there is great. During every week-long ski trip we had in this area, we tend to eat there once just as a special occassion. Never disappointed. However, I did not see many little kids there, though my 12 yr and 10 yr old enjoyed this place when they were even younger. We certainly will go back again next year.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waynesville, North Carolina
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“GO TO THE ANCHOR IN DOWNTOWN WILMINGTON, VT!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2013

Thanks to The Anchor restaurant team for a wonderful experience! We appreciated everyone's upbeat service and the friendly atmosphere there. Great to see Wilmington coming back so well after the devastated floods and the awful fire you experienced. Everyone at our table loved their meals and raved about them. My short-ribs were delicious although the sauce a bit salty. All tolled we had a great experience. Many thanks for your great service!

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Anchor also viewed

Wilmington, VT
 

Been to The Anchor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Anchor, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.