We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place for families!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Horizon Inn

Horizon Inn
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Horizon Inn to your Saves list
Horizon Inn
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   861 Route 9 East, Molly Stark Trail, Wilmington, VT 05363   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Wilmington
North Jersey
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Great place for families!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2010

My husband and I brought our three kids (6,8,9) here for a ski trip to Mount Snow. It was ideal for the kids. Horizon Inn has a great game room with pool,ping pong, and air hockey. We also really enjoyed the hot tub and pool. They have snacks for purchase in the lobby and a comfortable sitting area. The staff was very nice. We felt right at home and would definitely return.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

32 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    13
    8
    3
    4
    4
See reviews for
14
8
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
rutherford, nj
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2010

Family owned with clean rooms. Owner (Cliff) was nice and accommodating. I had booked a trip there earlier this year but got stuck in a snow storm, and had to cancel the reservation 2 hours before check-in. He gave me a big discount for a 2 night weekend stay which I thought was very cool. There is one jet in the hot tub which has twice the power of the others and it was just like a chair massage.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hartford, Connecticut
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2009

Two weeks before our wedding, 10 of our guests were tossed from this inn to accommodate a large tour bus. Some guests had already had their room charged to their credit card! The inn attempted to rebook guests to an inn in the opposite direction of our wedding. Most of my guests chose not to re-book, disgusted at the service, and drove home 2.5 hours after our wedding. The inn manager did apologize and credited the charged accounts, but I have never heard of throwing your guests out on the street. It's appalling! Do not trust these guys for your wedding....

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cambridge uk
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2009

Best feature of this hotel was the staff and owners who were helpful. and friendly. Pool and hot tub and games room good.
Our visit was marred by a coach party, coach started it's engines at 7.15 and manouevered back and forth making a beeping noise for 10 minutes until it was right against inn, woke us all up. Then 20 minutes later when I had dropped off it sat by the inn, making the room vibrate with it's engine running for another 10 minutes until it left. No one at reception when we phoned them. Was our most basic hotel in this stay but easily the cheapest too

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southeast PA
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2009

We chose this place last-minute as it was the only place available on short notice during the holiday week with good reviews and an indoor pool. It is laid out like a two story family-run motel, but we were relieved that it was pleasant, clean, and workable. The good points are the friendly, helpful staff, clean rooms, and especially the attached lodge building with very nice, good-sized pool and hot tub. The pool and hot tub were much bigger and nicer than offered at the nearby deluxe Washington House Inn accomodations, where the pool is in a low-ceilinged grotto. The place also offers a pleasant sauna room, and a strange little basement cocktail bar. They offer an all-you-can-eat breakfast at $7 additional per person which is ok- bacon, eggs, sausage and some standard-issue pancakes and French toast. I found the double bed to be a little small and crinkly for two people, and I wound up moving to the carpeted concrete floor in the middle of the night, as I like to toss and turn. The bathroom is one of those tiny ones where you hit your head on the door if you lean over while sitting on the toilet. It is about a mile outside of town but is very convenient to Mt. Snow. I'd recommend it as a simple low-budget family option convenient for skiiing, but if you are looking for deluxe or romantic accommodations you might want to look elesewhere. Also, if you don't mind traveling a little further, you can probably find a better deal with a more comfortable room at a Hampton Inn or Holiday inn Express in Brattleboro or Bennington.

  • Liked — The Pool
  • Disliked — The bed and bathroom
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NJ
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2008

Just got back from this Inn for a wknd snowboarding getaway. Arrived at the hotel late around 10pm friday night and the lot was packed, but the staff was super friendly and said no problem just park right here in front of the main door just leave room for people to get by. Room was very clean and was pretty quiet. Inn was only 15min from the mountain and at $99 a night i highly recommend it. Breakfast is the usual continental with toast, bagels, cereal, coffee, etc with twin toasters at each of the six plus tables. Would def stay again if i'm in the area.

  • Stayed March 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2007

It was exactly as advertised. Located about 5 minutes from town and 15 from Mount Snow, I went and booked 5 rooms with 10 people. The price was right, $79 a night for a room and a lift ticket. However, it was better than we expected. The room were clean, beds were comfortable (or maybe we were just exhausted from skiing all day). The pool and hot tub was nice, almost always empty except for us.

What really made it stand out where the nice owner. They live on the premises and answered our questions about where to go for dinner and what the non-skiers should do.

For the money, it is a safe bet. We will be returning next year again.

  • Liked — Owners were nice
  • Disliked — WiFi only wokred in some rooms
  • Stayed January 2007
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Horizon Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Horizon Inn

Address: 861 Route 9 East, Molly Stark Trail, Wilmington, VT 05363
Location: United States > Vermont > Wilmington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Ski-In / Ski-Out Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Wilmington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Horizon Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Horizon Inn is a Southern Vermont inn offering Mount Snow lodging and accommodations in Deerfield Valley, Wilmington, West Dover, and Marlboro. Our property provides an indoor heated pool, wireless internet, and an onsite restaurant. We also offer golf packages, Bus group tours, and much more at our beautiful Mount Snow Inn. Book online. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Expedia and Tingo so you can book your Horizon Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Horizon Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.