We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly Manager, Wonderful Food, and a great place to stay.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Wilmington Inn & Tavern

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added The Wilmington Inn & Tavern to your Saves list
The Wilmington Inn & Tavern
3.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   41 West Main Street, Route 9, PO Box 636, Wilmington, VT 05363   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 9 Wilmington B&B and Inns
GreenLeadersSilver level
Cambridge, MA
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Friendly Manager, Wonderful Food, and a great place to stay.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2010

The manager John was extremely friendly and helpful, giving us great tips on the area and calling ahead to the dog sled riding company to let them know we were running late. The food is prepared by a gourmet chef with local ingredients and it's amazing. For breakfast (which is included), I had the best omelet I'd ever eaten. We're looking forward to visiting again.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

226 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    161
    46
    13
    5
    1
See reviews for
36
138
6
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Amsterdam
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2010

I stayed in the Red Shutter Inn with my mom last October. We are from the Netherlands and it was our first visit to Vermont. Everything was ok. Our room, the beds, the food, the service. I really can't wait to come back.

  • Stayed October 2009
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex Junction, Vermont
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2010

We had a rocky start to our stay. After skiing in the backcountry all day, all we longed for was a cozy warm room & a hot shower. But when we got to our room, the heat was not turned on & it was less than 60 degrees in there! We had to huddle in the bed with our ski clothes on just to get warm enough to even consider stripping off our clothes for a shower. Fortunately, after a few minutes of running the faucet, we were greeted with a hot, steamy shower. Luxury! However, the bathroom sink delivered no water when we turned the handles. It turns out that the water was turned off until a plumber could come by to fix a leaky faucet. However, we weren't told about this in advance so it was surprise to us. They should have warmed up the room & turned on the water supply to the bathroom sink before our arrival.

The window in our room also had no window covering. It was described on the website as private but guests from the main house & road could see into our room at night. Apparently, the room was recently renovated & they hadn't yet put up the new window coverings. John, the Innkeeper, did put up a temporary covering for us when we brought it to his attention. This should have been done before our arrival. But he made it right so we were happy.

Another thing that was strange - it seemed that they stuffed facial tissues (hopefully clean ones) into the Kleenex box when it was empty. When trying to get one tissue, you'd get a whole clump of them. Can you give us a new box instead?

The TV didn't work too well either. It would cut out every few minutes. It was frustrating because we were trying to watch the Olympics & it seemed to cut out when something exciting was happening.....did Bode Miller really win the Gold?! I can't tell you because the TV faded to black.....

On the plus side, the food was fabulous! Fresh & a lot of local options. No disappointments in that regard & this food snob is hard to please.

Awesome bed too. Very cozy, warm, luxurious & comfy! No lumpy mattress here!

The Innkeepers & staff were great. Friendly, accomodating & gracious. There were just not enough of them to handle the busy Valentine's Day weekend. But you could tell that they were all working very hard to please their guests.

The Inn itself is lovely. Loved the fireplace & bar. Great location for skiing sections 1-5 of the Catamount trail. There aren't a ton of dining options in the area but that's ok because you never need to leave the Inn to get a great meal.

So even though we had some issues, we'd definitely go back. The Innkeepers are new so they're still learning. With a little tweaking, I'm confident that they'll consistently give their guests a first rate experience in no time.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, NY
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2010

My husband took me to VT for Valentine's Day, and booked a room at the Red Shutter Inn. To our disappointment, when we arrived we were told there was an overbooking and we did not have a room. However, the owner made it right even before we got there by booking us a more expensive room around the corner at another inn. He even invited us back for breakfast next morning and promised a discount for future stays. We enjoyed an excellent country breakfast and although we did not get to stay in this beautiful house, i applaud the new owner for understanding the meaning of integrity and reputation and would definitely return to some more hospitality

Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southwick, Massachusetts
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2010

My husband and I recently spent the weekend at the Red Shutter Inn in Wilmington, VT. The new owners were extremely welcoming and repeatedly asked us if we needed anything. They are in the process of new construction in the Inn, and have made some beautiful updates, but the authentic charm has not been removed. Breakfast was excellent every day! We truley enjoyed our stay at the Red Shutter Inn and will return.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYC
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2010

What an incredible weekend! This place has everything and more that a B & B should have: great coffee, a cozy sitting area, amazing staff, and a beyond-comfy mattress. We took full advantage of access to many outdoor activities, as well as the cute shops.

And the food... Although we originally planned to spend dinner at one of the local restaurants, our delicious breakfasts made us wisely choose otherwise. We sipped wine by a cozy fire and enjoyed a tasty local cheese plate. This was followed by delicious meals filled with unique flavors. (I should add that the menu was able to satisfy both a vegetarian and a lactose-intolerant carnivore. Not an easy task.)

We can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, NY
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2010

I stayed at the Red Shutter Inn this past January when visiting Wilmington for the snowboarding at Mt. Snow and snow mobiling through the Green Mountain National Forest. Highlights: (1) the owners and staff were extremely pleasant, helpful and personable, (2) the rooms and beds were extremely comfortable and felt new, (3) the food was outstanding with a very impressive selection and the focus on local products was particulary appealing to me, and (4) the location was central to my scheduled activities and right in the middle of the small town center

The owners mentioned that they had recently purchased the inn and were in the middle of some substantial improvements, however they were able to ensure that any work being done was not noticeable to us during our stay.

I plan on returning in the spring / summer months to experience the area sans snow and will stay at the Red Shutter Inn again.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Wilmington Inn & Tavern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Wilmington Inn & Tavern

Address: 41 West Main Street, Route 9, PO Box 636, Wilmington, VT 05363
Location: United States > Vermont > Wilmington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Wilmington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Wilmington Inn & Tavern 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An 1894 main house with an attached carriage house. Located on a knoll at the edge of the village.Main building has 4 rooms, a large suite,fireplaced living room,Lincoln library,pub,and fireplaced dining room that is also open to the public.Carriage house has 3 rooms and a suite.Guest rooms decorated individually -antiques,country furnishings,and a splash of the owner's travels.All rooms have private bath some with whirlpool tubs and gas fireplaces.Full breakfast is included in rate. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The Wilmington Inn & Tavern reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Wilmington Inn & Tavern Hotel Wilmington
The Wilmington Inn And Tavern

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Wilmington Inn & Tavern, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.