We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Like we were staying with family :-)” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Wilmington Inn & Tavern

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added The Wilmington Inn & Tavern to your Saves list
The Wilmington Inn & Tavern
3.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   41 West Main Street, Route 9, PO Box 636, Wilmington, VT 05363   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 9 Wilmington B&B and Inns
GreenLeadersSilver level
New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Like we were staying with family :-)”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

I took my mother here for a birthday/retirement weekend getaway. I had never stayed at an Inn and was unsure what to expect. I got the only room that was available at the time, it was small but very clean and had that Vermont charm. The new innkeepers, Patrick and Dan, were so hospitable and friendly. They made us feel like we were staying with family. Patrick's daily homemade complimentary breakfasts were delicious! They always had a smile and were ready for conversation at any time. One evening we came back from dinner, to the smell of a nice fire burning in the living room fire place. We were greeted with a fresh tray of Patricks homemade chocolate walnut brownies that were to die for. It was the little extras like that, which made it feel more like a home. Thanks to them I would definitely do an Inn again, and especially repeat this Inn! It's location is great too, easy walk to the shops and restaurants in town. The Anchor is good for seafood, and Jezebels was great for sandwiches, burgers, fries, drinks etc...just had to wait a bit for the check. Overall, a great stay!

Room Tip: If possible get a room with two beds for more space. Also there is the main inn where rooms are, and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

225 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    160
    46
    13
    5
    1
See reviews for
35
138
6
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle, Australia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

We stayed here for 2 nights and to be honest from the description I was expecting a bit more life in the place. Nothing happening in the evening even though there appears to be a bar, so expect to walk down into the town for food/drinks. We were served a nice cooked breakfast on both mornings. Our room was a bit pokey but very clean and the bed was comfy. I think the whole town has suffered from the severe floods of 2011 and deserves a comeback because it's a lovely area.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Groton, Massachusetts
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

We stayed in Wilmington for the garlic festival in Bennington. The inn itself was nice providing all of the comforts we appreciate (wifi, cable, private bath). What made our experience a real pleasure was the innkeeper, Rebecca. She was inviting and friendly and super helpful, providing restaurant recommendations and little touches like a fresh, cold bottle of water for our room. She's also an excellent cook, our breakfast was fantastic.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DunmorePA
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013

My husband and I stayed for one night at this B & B after traveling for 10 days heading home. After all the B & B's we've stayed in, the condition of this place was very disappointing. The website is deceiving! The inn keepers that own the place are absent first of all! It seems when the people live on premises they for the most part take great pride in their place...unlike here! The girl running the inn seemed to be doing the best she could under the circumstances and the breakfast was in fact very good. Yet again, she was not the owner, so the major upkeep of this inn would not be her responsibility! Our room was in major need of updating ,the carpets were beyond cleaning...the deck had large holes and loose railings, and the entire place can use painting and major cleaning. The place really has potential if given some TLC. It's in a nice location and quaint town. Hopefully the owners will invest in this historic inn!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John P, Owner at The Wilmington Inn & Tavern, responded to this review, September 5, 2013
My wife and I are the owners who do live away from the inn but rest assured that your comments and suggestions are well heard and taken to heart. The inn is our love and we are deeply saddened by your average experience. I wish I knew which room you stayed in however I will readily admit that a few rooms which have not been renovated (yet) are a little dated. However, every room we have have had new carpets, high end mattresses, superior high thread linens, and various other upgrades (flat screen TVs, tapestries, sitting areas, etc.).

Please understand that renovating an inn of this size is not something that happens overnight but begins with fundamentals such as expensive and amazing mattresses and bedding, soothing showers and comfortable amenities, and eventually replaces the surface stuff with updated goods. To that point, this summer alone, we have added an outdoor deck with a new outdoor hot tub, a large fireside game lounge, and will be upgrading all of our TVs to Apple TV soon! I feel we have done a very good job and continue to invest into the inn, though we can always do more so thank you.

By the way, to your specific points the carpets were completely replaced 2 years ago however I agree that they need a good clean and will address that immediately! We have been saving for a full outdoor re-painting which is scheduled for next Spring but that is super important to us so we want to get it right (but you are right on point there).

I'm glad you enjoyed our innkeeper Rebekah, she is a peach and is the best innkeeper we've had and someone who treats our guests with as much warmth and joy as we could want, since we can't be there to do so personally! Please know that it breaks our heart not to greet our guests personally; we lived the dream for many years but had to return to work after the economic impact following Hurricane Irene. We will be back and are working hard to re-open the restaurant...stay tuned!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cambridge
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013

What a lovely place to stay. Big comfy bed, lovely big room. I had to ask for the breakfast pancake recipe - they were so good. The most amazing selection of board games in the shared lounge - I think we worked our way through about 10. Easy walk to some great restaurants in Wilmington - we fell in love with it a bit! Very relaxing place to stay.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leesburg, Virginia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013

Kudos to both Rebecca, the hostess at The Wilmington Inn, and to the inkeepers. The staff was friendly and helpful, and our room was cozy, clean, and comfortable. The various sitting areas and inside/outside dining options make this an exceptionally pleasant place to relax. The inn is only a short walk to Wilmington's restaurants, shops and lovely scenery.
The crowning of our stay was our delicious breakfasts. Rebecca is a talented chef who makes everything from scratch using fresh ingredients. We enjoyed an assortment of expertly made frittatas, and the blueberry pancakes were to die for. Rebecca also steered us to Three Stones Restaurant, a small Mayan/Mexican restaurant in Brattleboro; it was an excellent recommendation.
If you’re looking for a comfortable, welcoming place with fabulous breakfasts, this is it.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Acton, mA
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2013

We were charmed by the beautiful inn and the perfect location within walking distance of restaurants, cute shops and gorgeous scenery. The inn keepers were what made the experience extra special, though. They went above and beyond to make sure that we had the best room available (a $20 upgrade got us into a lovely suite!), wonderful restaurant recommendations and friendly conversation. The breakfast was superb and the common areas were lovely when we just wanted to hang out. All around, a great experience!

Room Tip: Definitely sign up for the optional $20 upgrade. If they have a suite available, they'll put you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Wilmington Inn & Tavern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Wilmington Inn & Tavern

Address: 41 West Main Street, Route 9, PO Box 636, Wilmington, VT 05363
Location: United States > Vermont > Wilmington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Wilmington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Wilmington Inn & Tavern 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An 1894 main house with an attached carriage house. Located on a knoll at the edge of the village.Main building has 4 rooms, a large suite,fireplaced living room,Lincoln library,pub,and fireplaced dining room that is also open to the public.Carriage house has 3 rooms and a suite.Guest rooms decorated individually -antiques,country furnishings,and a splash of the owner's travels.All rooms have private bath some with whirlpool tubs and gas fireplaces.Full breakfast is included in rate. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The Wilmington Inn & Tavern reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Wilmington Inn & Tavern Hotel Wilmington
The Wilmington Inn And Tavern

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Wilmington Inn & Tavern, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.