We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great take-out and affordable” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Men At Wok

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Men At Wok
299 N Williston Rd Ste 7, Williston, VT 05495
(802) 878-2850
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #32 of 37 restaurants in Williston
Cuisines: Chinese
Restaurant details
Saint Albans, Vermont
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great take-out and affordable”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

I've been a customer here since they opened - many years ago. The food is freshly cooked
and the portions are sizable. I found the woman at the front desk to be "business-like"
and efficient. When they're not out-straight, I've taken the time to comment to her about
how she is and ask questions about her likes and dislikes and her family. I really don't think
she ever means to seem rude - and I know that many of these reviews were shared with
her and she was really sad about it. Their phones ring off-the-hook sometimes and it's
extremely busy there......I have found every order - LG and SM to be exactly as I asked for.
I think the "front desk lady" really does want to do a good job......I know she's always there
and I'll bet she is never late for work. For them consistent help..... not easy to find these days.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

23 reviews from our community

36% Recommend
    2
    7
    5
    2
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Williston, Vermont
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Cheap Fast Food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2012

If you are looking for good Chinese food to take out, they are consistent and the food is very good and fresh! There is a slight language barrier, so maybe some might have a bit of trouble understanding the person taking their order, but they are not rude. Generous portions at a bargain.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex, Vermont
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Great take-out, great prices!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2012

Men at wok is not about atmosphere, but for Chinese take-out, it is really quite good for the very reasonable prices. The spring rolls are good and the crab rangoon has generous filling. The chicken chow mein is nice, and the chicken fingers are yummy. Their home-made duck sauce is tasty. Call ahead and the food will be ready when you get there. You can also order online now.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Williston, Vermont
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“How do you say RUDE in Chinese?”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

Rudest order taker and cashier I have ever seen or heard. She should be working in NYC...not Vermont! Hung up on me even before my phone order was complete and could not locate the order at pick-up. Won't be back!

  • Visited November 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swanton VT
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Mixed experiences from someone who has been here many times.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2012

I have eaten here many times over the years. Most of the time it was good, but at times the food was not so good. The lady at the front desk can be very pleasant some days and a complete witch other days. One day she started yelling at one of the cooks, he yelled back at her in front of all of the customers. They had a huge fight. He threw some stuff around, got mad and walked out.

The lady at the front desk yelled at me one day for making a special request. Do not do this ever. If they do not make something the way you like it, do not ask them to change it or she will flip out at you.

They give you very large portions of OK to good food. Not the best and not the worst. Prices are good, the amount of food for the price is great. The lady at the front desk is fine, but approach her with caution, always smile and do not ever complain unless you want a full on fight. She is not a people person and is not there to please you.

  • Visited April 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Men At Wok also viewed

 

Been to Men At Wok? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Men At Wok, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.