We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Confectionary & Deli” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Chef's Corner Cafe Bakery

Chef's Corner Cafe Bakery
2121 Essex Road, Williston, VT
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 41 Restaurants in Williston
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch
Barre, Vermont
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Confectionary & Deli”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2014

We visited this place on a Sunday for lunch and had an overall satisfying experience.

The interior was pleasant around the ordering area; high ceiling, clean wood floors and window cases full of mouth watering desserts and deli salads. But once you ordered, it seems like a cafeteria. There was a self-service beverage station with cold and hot beverage. Glasses and mugs piled up. Water, iced tea in a glass container, coffee brewing in glass pots on burners etc. In the dining area lots of square tables were lined up in straight lines, so not too much of an ambiance. Fortunately there weren't too many people and we found ourselves a table for four in the corner by the window but I can see how chaotic it could get when it is crowded. They do have an outdoor patio surrounded with flowers and bushes, tables with unbrealla over them that seemed nice.

The menu was breakfast plates and sandwiches. It seemed pricey to me. Breakfast plates were between $8.50 and $12 and sandwiches were all $9.75. Regular lunch menu of burgers and paninis were off the wall being Sunday, I guess. The sandwiches do come with a "side salad" (instead of chips or fries) which was plain field greens (no tomato, cucumber or anything else) with not much of dressing, and a couple of little pieces of watermelon. You get a choice of bread; white, wheat, oat, baguette, or wrap. I realized even though this is a "bakery" their baked food is mostly sweet stuff and they do not have any artisan breads. So I chose "wheat" and it was a soft brown bread like you find at a supermarket. I should say, though, that the sandwich was very substantial. My pork sandwich had pineapple chutney on it. It made the whole sandwich too sweet to my taste but that is subjective.

We tried as a little dessert what is called "magic bar" and it was very good.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

60 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    32
    21
    3
    1
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
vermont
Top Contributor
147 reviews 147 reviews
145 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
“Pretty”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2014

Yes it's pretty nice place, pretty good food, pretty clean, pretty slow service and pretty high prices. Go early because it is very busy. You walk into the place and stand in line and order then you stand in another line,take your slip to the cashier, pay go sit down with your number, in half a hour they bring your food. The seating is very tight and you can hear everyone's conversations around you.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cobleskill, New York, United States
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Awesome Cafe for food - not service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2014

Breakfast was fabulous! Eggs Benedict with Portobella mushrooms and Ham Quiche' - both super. Ordered an iced coffee but wasn't given one or told to fix it myself - kinda akward that I had to ask how to get my beverage. And no ice near the iced coffee. Raspberry iced tea was wonderful. Staff ignored us when ordering over customers who knew people who worked there - frustrating. Youngladies - you are not better than anyone who is paying for you to work somewhere! Be nice to everyone.

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Potsdam, New York
Top Contributor
235 reviews 235 reviews
117 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 109 cities Reviews in 109 cities
113 helpful votes 113 helpful votes
“You'll not find a better breakfast in the Williston area”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2014

My wife and I took our grandkids to Chef’s Corner in Williston VT on a mid-May 2014 Saturday morning and all ages agree the food is some of the best around. The menu offers a limited variety of choices, but the food quality is outstanding; perfect eggs Benedict, quiches, ingredient freshness, and service that is both grandkid-, and grandparent-friendly! Cannot go wrong in the Williston area by heading to the Chef’s Corner.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Upstate, NY
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“Delectable in every way.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2014

Order up front where you'll find freshly prepared amazing desserts/pastries/salads and more. Then take your number to your table and wait for your goodies to be delivered.

The service was genuinely friendly - the food was gourmet and tasty. Another locale I'm anxious to return to!

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chef's Corner Cafe Bakery also viewed

 

Been to Chef's Corner Cafe Bakery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chef's Corner Cafe Bakery, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.