We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“AWESOME!!!!!!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Elixir Restaurant & Lounge

Elixir Restaurant & Lounge
188 South Main St., White River Junction, Hartford, VT
802-281-7009
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Elixir Restaurant & Lounge is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Bar scene, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Clinton, New Jersey
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“AWESOME!!!!!!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2014

The owner, bartender and wait staff are incredible- the food, there isn't a word to describe how wonderful and prepared to perfection !!!! The cocktails were superb!!

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

190 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    140
    41
    4
    2
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Midlothian, VA
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Remarkable hidden gem”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2014 via mobile

We would never have ventured into this restaurant without Trip Advisor and are so grateful that we did. It's hidden away next to a BBQ joint and lumberyard and train tracks in historic White River Junction. Once inside, we encountered a small but elegant menu, intriguing specials, and exceptional service. Everything was delicious -- a blue cheese mousse and Parmesan pecan crisp appetizer adorned with a balsamic and apricot reduction; chanterelle and asparagus risotto; crunchy peanut chicken; and a dark chocolate cake with raspberry coulis and lemon sour cream. Well-priced wines by the glass and local beers on draft enhanced the pleasure. Highly recommend!

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Barbara, California
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“I Tried”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2014

We made a reservation on Open Table for Saturday evening, 6:15, July 5, and the reservation was confirmed. Drove 1 1/2 hours to get there, and there are signs pasted on the window, "Closed For Vacation until July 8. Is this a professional operation? We then drove to Hanover NH and had dinner at Pines, at the Hanover Inn. It was terrific. Glad Elixir was closed.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmington, North Carolina
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“The Elixir is The Elixir For The Perfect WRJ Experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2014

My train was late into White River Junction. I dropped my bags at the Hotel Coolidge, weary and famished. The front desk staff suggested two choices, and I am sure the Elixir was the better one. The restaurant is located in the former Central Vermont RR freight house, so the brick walls and tall windows give it plenty of atmosphere. I was cheerfully seated by the hostess, and the waiter was attentive throughout the night. I started with a locally brewed IPA and munched on slices of a baguette with the restaurant's signature olive oil/bourbon dipping sauce. There were two menus - the standard and the daily specials. I chose the pork tenderloin with spicy quinoa, and it was scrumptious. After a long day, the Elixir is the perfect ending.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Fine dining? Oh yeah!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2014

Visited Elixir last year after reading some of their reviews. I work in the area on occasion and have tried many of the area restaurants. Now I only go to Elixir. It's that good. We always get the truffle fries they truly are addictive. Stepped out of the box and got the cauliflower soup and it was unbelievably good. We have had many outstanding meals there, the scallops are great, the petite cocoa dusted filet mignons delicious, the shrimp risotto cakes, the salmon, it's all really good. Recently I had a short rib special with polenta and braised red cabbage and it was so delicious we went back the next night with hopes it would still be on the menu. A memorable dish. The wine list is good as well and the bar always seems to be hopping. We usually make reservations because the place is busy even on a Tuesday or Wednesday.
Can't wait 'til we return...

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Elixir Restaurant & Lounge also viewed

White River Junction, Hartford
White River Junction, Hartford
 
White River Junction, Hartford
 

Been to Elixir Restaurant & Lounge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Elixir Restaurant & Lounge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.