We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Could have been better” 2 of 5 stars
Review of White River Inn and Suites

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added White River Inn and Suites to your Saves list
White River Inn and Suites
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   91 Ballardvale Dr, White River Junction, Hartford, VT 05001   |  
Hotel amenities
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Maine
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Could have been better”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2007

Our stay here would have been a lot better except when we all put on our swimsuits and headed for the pool, we discovered that it was closed because they let some kids party there the night before and they had gotten broken glass everywhere. Strangely, I read some of the previous tripadvisor reviews and saw the one before me had a very similar experience. They definitely need more supervision or security for their pool area. Who lets a group of teens party and drink unsupervised in a hotel pool? The guy at the desk was nice, but the pool being closed really spoiled it for us.

Stayed May 2007
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

159 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    88
    32
    13
    16
    10
See reviews for
48
30
18
46
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Connecticut
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2007

We're a family on a budget. We stayed 4 nights and paid $63 for 2 nights, and $71 for the other 2 nights. For those prices, I was prepared for an unkempt crawl space. Instead, I was pleasantly surprised with a clean, comfortable, decent sized room, with refrigerator, microwave, tv, plenty of hot water, sunlamp in the bathroom, hairdryer, coffeemaker... and... the kid's favorite -- an indoor pool. From 6am - 9am, there is free continental breakfast down near the lobby (bring your protein -- all carbs) -- bagels, donuts, danish, cereals, instant oatmeal, juices, coffee, tea. The employees are all very nice. The only negative thing was there were 3 bus loads of teens staying the first two nights who were noisy, messy, and even caused the pool to be closed due to their antics. We had limited contact with them, but I understand some of the other guests were none too pleased. All in all, I would stay there again... can't beat the price!!

  • Liked — value
  • Disliked — some areas could use updating -- carpeting worn, wallpaper peeling, etc.
  • Stayed February 2007, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maine
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2006

We have just returned from the Econo Lodge in White River Junction, VT. It's clean, welcoming and friendly. Room had a refrigerator/microwave and was very comfortable. We had breakfast in the breakfast room. They offered coffee, tea, juice,
cold and hot cereal, bagels and sweet rolls. Very quiet and just off the highway. Good Choice.

  • Stayed December 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clay Center, Kansas
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2006

My family of 5 stayed here one night in August, 2006. We arrived late one evening and left in the morning fairly early. I believe it is a new property for Econolodge; there was a sign on the road but none on the hotel itself so I wasn't quite sure that I was at the right place. This shares a parking lot with another hotel (the Holiday Inn Express I think.), and is easily accessible from the interstate.

The hotel is very long, I think the staff person said they had over 100 rooms. It was currently being renovated. Our hallway had newer carpet and I think our room had been recently redone. We had a room on second floor which was quite spacious for 5 people, even with a rollaway. The ceiling was vaulted which also made the room seem bigger. The sink was outside the bathroom but separated from the bed area by a wall. This was a nice feature for a family of 5 sharing a bathroom! The beds were very comfortable. The bathroom smelled a little like wet towels, but the room itself was clean and did not smell musty.

Both the fitness center and pool were closed by the time we arrived, but both looked very nice. The indoor pool was larger than the typical hotel pool, and there was a hot tub (one of the few we found at New England hotels.)

Probably the two biggest drawbacks were the continental breakfast (very basic, altough they did have cereal) and no elevator to the second floor. The rate was less than $100 for AAA including tax and rollaway. I was a little nervous booking this hotel because it was unrated on TripAdvisor and by the hotel chain, but I would recommend it without hesitation. My kids were very disappointed we didn't get to try out what looked like a great pool!

  • Liked — Price, pool, spacious room
  • Disliked — Breakfast
  • Tips/Secrets — close to Quechee Gorge,
  • Stayed August 2006, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to White River Inn and Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about White River Inn and Suites

Address: 91 Ballardvale Dr, White River Junction, Hartford, VT 05001
Location: United States > Vermont > Hartford > White River Junction
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in White River Junction
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — White River Inn and Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 115
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your White River Inn and Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
White River Hotel White River Junction
Econolodge White River Junction
Econo Lodge White River Junction
White River Junction Econo Lodge

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage White River Inn and Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.