We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Room with no hot water and a horrible smell” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites White River Junction

Save Saved
You added Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites White River Junction to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites White River Junction
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   121 Ballardvale Road, White River Junction, Hartford, VT 05001   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Woodinville, Washington
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Room with no hot water and a horrible smell”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2013

Problems every day. First night, no hot water and garbage on the floor of the bathroom. No big deal, it was late. Next morning heard others complaining about hot water, we also reported it. Were told the problem would be addressed. Came back that night, still no hot water. Reported it again; this time it was finally fixed. 2nd night, horrible smell in our room when we came back. The smell got worse by next morning and seems to be coming out of the vent. We thought smell could be mold, reported problem to front desk. Sarah sent Andrei to check out the source. He couldn't find it. We asked if we can switch rooms but Sarah said "no available rooms". Sarah told us she would comp us for that last night. We ended up with the window open all night; but then sound of the freeway kept us up all night. Received our bill the next morning and it was not taken off. Asked front desk about it but they said we would need to wait for Sarah who would be in at 3 PM. Since we were leaving, we left our info for Sarah to contact us. We've heard nothing back from them. But then they got their money, why would they care?

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarah B, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites White River Junction, responded to this review, October 29, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review our property. I do apologize for your experiences and wish we could've resolved the situations for your more promptly. Unfortunately, I do not have and did not receive a number to contact. You're account has been refunded as promised and I apologize that you did not receive an accurate receipt prior to departure. I hope that though you had a negative experience with us you will give us another chance. Again, please accept my sincere apologies.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

178 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    70
    65
    22
    13
    8
See reviews for
65
42
12
26
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tulsa, Oklahoma
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

The room was spacious, clean and the bed was very comfortable. Front desk staff was very helpful when asking for places to eat. Bathroom was in very good condition also, which tends to be a problem with a lot of hotels.Good breakfast. Would definitely recommend it to anyone traveling through NH or VT on fall foliage sightseeing. Also, very close to Woodstock, VT, which is absolutely charming.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarah B, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites White River Junction, responded to this review, October 29, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review our property! We appreciate any and all feedback! I'm so happy that you enjoyed your stay and took notice of the staff and their attentiveness. We pride ourselves in our hospitality, that's our business after all! We look forward to having you back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

Handy location with a friendly, helpful staff. Rooms were quite nice and the beds were very comfortable. I enjoyed a breakfast of egg omelet, yogurt, orange juice and fruit. They also had numerous other breakfast items. A great way to start the day. I would highly recommend.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarah B, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites White River Junction, responded to this review, October 23, 2013
Thank you very much for your kind words! I'm very happy that you enjoyed the breakfast options provided! We hope you visit us again in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarasota
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2013

The hotel was easy to find, clean, with friendly staff. We had a great start to our fall foliage trip with a good night sleep at this hotel. The bathroom was more like one in someone's home. The beds were comfortable and it was quiet.
The ladies at the front desk made a great recommendation for a place to eat - Tip Top Cafe, and were very helpful.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarah B, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites White River Junction, responded to this review, October 23, 2013
I am so happy that you enjoyed your stay and the local restaurant we recommended for you! I hope you will choose us again in the future for you lodging needs. Thank you for sharing your comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

A great base for exploring Vermont. Great to have free wifi throughout the building. Express breakfast was ok - best to get down for breakfast early to get a decent choice.
Rooms we're clean, staff were friendly. All in all a good place to stay - would certainly recommend.

Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarah B, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites White River Junction, responded to this review, October 11, 2013
Thank you for your review, Tom! And thank you for visiting Vermont! We are so pleased to know that we made your experience a good one! I hope you will return to us if traveling to our area in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crystal Springs, Mississippi, United States
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

This hotel is in prime location for the fall foliage tour of VT. It is a little expensive but you have to consider the location. It is on one of the scenic byways in central VT and NH. It is a Holiday Inn Express so the rooms were clean and spacious and the bed was comfortable. Would recommend this hotel for your foliage tour.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarah B, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites White River Junction, responded to this review, October 11, 2013
One of our favorite times of year is foliage season! We meet travelers from all walks of life enjoying a serene vacation! Thank you for recommending us to fellow foliage enthusiasts and I hope to see you next year!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami
Top Contributor
115 reviews 115 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

Great place to relax and rest after a drive from Logan Airport. Reasonable priced. Spacious room with a separate bedroom, living room and open kitchen area. Satisfying complimentary breakfast buffet. Ample parking. Pleasant staff members.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarah B, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites White River Junction, responded to this review, October 11, 2013
I'm so happy to have read your review and that you had a positive experience with us! There is nothing that makes us happier than knowing our guests enjoy our property! Please stay with us again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites White River Junction? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites White River Junction

Address: 121 Ballardvale Road, White River Junction, Hartford, VT 05001
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Vermont > Hartford > White River Junction
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 8 hotels in White River Junction
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites White River Junction 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites White River Junction, VT is just what you need when you re on the move! Conveniently located at the junction of Interstate 91 and Interstate 89, this 100% smoke free hotel is the perfect place to call home while traveling on business trips, family vacations, or for the long term visitor to the Upper Valley. While located in close proximity to local businesses, including Dartmouth College, Dartmouth Hitchcock Medical Center, VA Hospital, Timken Aerospace, Tele Atlas, King Arthur Flour, and Thermal Dynamics, other area attractions include Quechee Gorge, Simon Pearce, Montshire Museum, as well as Killington, Okemo and Sunapee ski mountains. Our finely appointed guest rooms feature microwaves, mini-fridges, kitchenettes, free high-speed wireless Internet, access to our guest laundry facilities, business center, exercise room, underground parking, free Express Start breakfast, and much more. The White River Junction Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites' central location allows guests to visit both Vermont and New Hampshire attractions, including ski areas, fall foliage tours, state parks, tax free shopping, and museums. Guests can lounge by the fire in our beautiful great room, or relax and read in our cozy library. We re here, ready with all you need to make your trip to White River Junction a success. We re the Holiday Inn Express. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, IHG, Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Tingo, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Priceline, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites White River Junction reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Hotel And Suites White River Junction
Holiday Inn White River Junction
White River Junction Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites White River Junction, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.