We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Meticulous service and courtesy” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites White River Junction

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites White River Junction to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites White River Junction
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   121 Ballardvale Road, White River Junction, Hartford, VT 05001   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Sherman, Connecticut
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Meticulous service and courtesy”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013 via mobile

We came for a college reunion in nearby Hanover NH and found the location to be perfect -- an 8 minute drive. Our double queen room was very comfortable and quiet, although the hotel was packed with guests attending graduations and reunions. Breakfast is included with the reasonable room rate and is one of the best I've had at a chain motel -- fresh, hot omelets and scrambled eggs, fruit, cereal, hard boiled eggs, warm flaky biscuits, good coffee, toast. Anything you might want unless you are a strict vegan! The clever pancake machine produced 2 perfect, yummy flapjacks in 60 seconds. While we were overindulging in breakfast each morning, hotel employees stopped by to be sure we were enjoying our stay. Did we have any suggestions for improving service? Really?? What a nice touch -- and they meant it. Total satisfaction.

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarah B, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites White River Junction, responded to this review, June 19, 2013
ManhattanAdwoman, Thank you so much for all your kind words! I am so pleased to hear that you recieved excellent service and had a wonderful stay at our property! I have shared your thoughts with the entire staff, and they are over the moon to hear that we have exceeded your expectations.
Thank you for your business and we hope you will join us again on your next trip to the Upper Valley.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

196 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    74
    73
    24
    15
    10
See reviews for
74
48
12
27
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hummelstown, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2013

The desk clerk made us feel very welcome when we arrived on a miserable rainy day. The room was clean, comfortable and tastefully decorated. The in room microwave and refrigerator are very important features when we travel. Our room had a sliding glass door that opened to a small balcony. In spite of the rain we did appreciate a bit of fresh air but could not do that long because of the noise of the traffic which amazingly could not be heard when we closed the door. It was wonderful that the breakfast was ready at 6AM though not scheduled till 6:30. The hostess was very helpful. Our big disappointment was that the internet in the entire hotel did not work and specifically we found that we could not connect from our room when the internet was in service. In the morning we used the business center when the internet was working.

Room Tip: We enjoyed the room with the small balcony and sliding glass door but it is small...don't expect...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarah B, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites White River Junction, responded to this review, May 27, 2013
786Richard - Thank you so much for taking the time to write such a lovely review of our property. We value our guest's feedback and appreciate your comments about the hotel and your stay.

I apologize that we were not able to get you connected to the internet in your room, but I am glad our business center worked for you during your stay. I have passed along your comments to the front desk staff about your check in experience. We strive to make our guests feel welcome and relaxed, I am glad to hear you recieved that signature service upon your arrival.

We hope to see you again on your next trip through the area, and please do not hesitate to call on our staff upon check in to help set up your computer if needed.

Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salem, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
141 reviews 141 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 62 cities Reviews in 62 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013

Was on the 2nd floor which are suites, very spacious, 2 rooms with 2 TVs and a full kitchen. The continential breakfast was very nice with fresh fruit.

Service was very nice, cookie plate at the front desk every afternoon, front desk co-workers were extremely friendly.

Fitness room needs weights and more cardio equipment. Just 1 treadmill.

Room Tip: ask for 2nd floor suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarah B, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites White River Junction, responded to this review, May 10, 2013
As a top contributer, SALEM_JOHN, I really appreciate your kind words about our property.

Thank you for sharing your experience with our larger suites with the tripadvisor community! We also offer a skylight feature suite on the fourth floor which you may want to look into on your next trip through the area.

I have shared your comments with my staff, it's always great to hear when your hard work is noticed. Thank you again for taking the time to send a review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kentucky
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013

There are not a lot of good options which are reasonablly priced around the Upper Valley (this general region of Vermont and New Hampshire), and thankfully this Holiday Inn Express meets the need.

Past stays my family and I have stayed at 'Hanover Inn', 'Holiday Inn' of Springfield, 'Holiday Inn Resort' of Ascutney, and a couple of other places around. This hotel - for the money - is tough to beat.

The in-room Keurig is a nice touch. I hate how many mid-scale hotels still offer in-room coffee pots... (shudder). The room was massively expansive in size and with the high ceiling I felt I had more than enough room. The 'smart' amenities although known are always a nice standard.

Cookies at check-in, yes please. Expansive and well laid out breakfast, indeed, thank you. All the Holiday Inn Express goodies offered here, including special 'Priority Club' extras, as available like upgrades and the nice bottle of water and snack. A manager's reception would be nice, and a pool for this hotel rather than one at the neighboring hotel might seem in better taste. I have visited the pool during one visit, however let's remember this hotel is in Vermont... not exactly the sort of place strolling from one building to swim then back to your hotel room dripping wet is a 'good' idea. Parking available surrounding the hotel and also under is a nice extra.

Staff were friendly and although on occasion not always at the front desk, were quick to pop from around the corner and greet. I was always happy with their knowledge of the area and insight into points of interest. Their lobby has a nice arrangement of tourist ideas. (Make sure to visit the Montshire Museum, stroll along Dartmouth College sights in Hanover, check out Westin's Country Store, ski about anywhere - especially Okemo of Ludlow, VT, and be ready to keep filling the gas tank as everything in the region seems spread out).

My family loves visiting the area, where we have extended family, and thus we have had the pleasure to visit on more than one occasion. This is our 'Upper Valley' home.

Room Tip: The pool... is in another building... at another hotel. Yes... another hotel. 'Sister property...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarah B, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites White River Junction, responded to this review, May 9, 2013
NewSouthernYankee, What a thoughtful review! Thank you so much for taking the time to share your stay.

At the Holiday Inn Express we like to say our guests "Stay Smart", and it looks as though you were able to do just that. I'm delighted to hear that our staff was so attentive and thoughtful. Its wonderful to hear that your Priority Club experience was a great one, we value your loyalty.

I really enjoy getting suggestions from our guests on how we can improve our service, I appreciate you giving us feedback about what we could do to improve your next stay.

Thank you again for taking the time to review our peoperty, we hope to see you back in teh future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Meriden, Connecticut
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

For my son's graduation we took the whole family up to Vermont. We chose this hotel from online reviews and could not have picked better. Our rooms were very clean the whole place was clean.Check in was done in a flash our extra cots were brought up within 5 mins. Getting there was easy could see the sign from the exit ramp.The underground garage was very convenient we had my son's belongings in the truck so backing up to the garage wall provided a extra bit of security. Every employee was very attentive and seem happy to fill any request.I would stay here anytime I'm in the area.

Room Tip: Go for the upgraded 2 room suites worth the extra.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013 via mobile

Rooms were not clean hair in the bed and shower do the housekeeping staff can't see then get out but breaskfast was great front desk john was great amber was nicethe front desk manger was loud and rude in what I saw to her staff.Allisyn made sure I got fruit thank you.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarah B, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites White River Junction, responded to this review, April 10, 2013
hereisde, I truly appreciate you taking the time to share your recent stay with the TripAdvisor community. I'm happy that you found Amber, John and Allisyn's service exemplary, I have shared your comments with them.

The Holiday Inn Express and Suites White River strives to give it's guests a comfortable and genuine stay, I apologize that we did not create that experience for you. I would love the opportunity to make this right with you. I have sent you a private message to discuss further how we can be of service.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013 via mobile

Just needed an inexpensive hotel for a quick nights rest, and we definitely stumbled on a great hotel. The rooms were big and comfortable, the staff was very welcoming and friendly, and we had a great quiet nights rest. The breakfast leaved a little to be desired, but I wouldn't hesitate to return.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarah B, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites White River Junction, responded to this review, April 8, 2013
Thank you, Timmmy22, for taking the time to write about your recent stay. A quiet night on the road can be hard to find, I am so glad you found what you were looking for here at the Holiday Inn Express and Suites White River Junction.

I see you used the Tripadvisor mobile app, did you know that IHG has a mobile app? It's free and easy to use while hunting for a good nights sleep on the road! You can even save your favorite hotels (like us!) to your preferences so it will point you in the right direction when you are in our area again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites White River Junction? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites White River Junction

Address: 121 Ballardvale Road, White River Junction, Hartford, VT 05001
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Vermont > Hartford > White River Junction
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 8 Hotels in White River Junction
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites White River Junction 2.5*
Number of rooms: 77
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites White River Junction, VT is just what you need when you re on the move! Conveniently located at the junction of Interstate 91 and Interstate 89, this 100% smoke free hotel is the perfect place to call home while traveling on business trips, family vacations, or for the long term visitor to the Upper Valley. While located in close proximity to local businesses, including Dartmouth College, Dartmouth Hitchcock Medical Center, VA Hospital, Timken Aerospace, Tele Atlas, King Arthur Flour, and Thermal Dynamics, other area attractions include Quechee Gorge, Simon Pearce, Montshire Museum, as well as Killington, Okemo and Sunapee ski mountains. Our finely appointed guest rooms feature microwaves, mini-fridges, kitchenettes, free high-speed wireless Internet, access to our guest laundry facilities, business center, exercise room, underground parking, free Express Start breakfast, and much more. The White River Junction Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites' central location allows guests to visit both Vermont and New Hampshire attractions, including ski areas, fall foliage tours, state parks, tax free shopping, and museums. Guests can lounge by the fire in our beautiful great room, or relax and read in our cozy library. We re here, ready with all you need to make your trip to White River Junction a success. We re the Holiday Inn Express. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites White River Junction reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Hotel And Suites White River Junction
Holiday Inn White River Junction
White River Junction Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites White River Junction, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.