We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing Pet Lover Experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Paw House Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in West Rutland
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Paw House Inn
Save
You added The Paw House Inn to your Saves list
1376 Clarendon Ave., West Rutland, VT 05777   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 West Rutland B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Albany, New York
1 review
“Amazing Pet Lover Experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2011

I loved staying at the Paw House in. Our dogs loved the experience too. The innkeepers were super friendly and helpful. Breakfast (homemade muffins and entree) were delicious both days. If you love your pet and want to travel with them, I definitely recommend staying at the Paw House Inn

  • Stayed May 2010
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

238 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    171
    38
    5
    14
    10
See reviews for
53
106
12
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2011

We booked two nights with our two dogs based on their pet-friendly facilities. This place is not just pet-friendly, it's pet-focused. We arrived a bit early for check in and were almost immediately greeted by one of the owners in the drive. Although they live off-premises, you wouldn't know as they are very accessible. Dogs are welcome in the guest rooms and the public areas of the Inn, with the exception of the dining room. There is a fenced-in area outside for the dogs to play off-leash, complete with agility course. For any time you need to leave your dogs, Mario's Playhouse is available for that purpose. Your dog is given its own indoor run, the building is heated, clean and comfortable. Not only is there a refrigerator for storing food, a sink for washing bowls etc., a shower/tub for cleaning muddy dogs, they even have Animal Planet playing on TVs for your dogs to enjoy. During the day, staff are available to check in on your dogs, take them out for a run in the park or just a walk, whatever you request. After hours, the facility is available on a self-serve basis.

We stayed in the Chase room, which is decorated with a very doggie theme, as are all the rooms, I suspect. It was very clean and comfortable, quite large, with beautiful views. Bathroom was a bit on the small side, but perfectly adequate. The dogs had their own custom built bed, but preferred the futon, for which a protective cover was thoughtfully provided.

The breakfasts were very good: freshly prepared for each guest, with a choice of imaginative dishes which change daily. The hosts and staff are clearly interested in pleasing their guests, human and canine. We'll be back when the snow is gone, so we can check out some of the hiking trails they recommended.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwalk, Connecticut
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2011

Within a year from our first visit we noticed a tangible decline in service, food, and accomodation, not to mention in the safety and care for our pet. Neither the kennel nor the house were locked / secured during the day or at night. The kennel was unattended the majority of the time, and no provisions were on display for veterinary emergencies.
With no innkeepers resident at the Inn, and as the only guests, we found ourselves having to call 411 in the middle of the night to locate a veterinary clinic that could take immediate care of our pet that was in great pain.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Owner at The Paw House Inn, responded to this review, January 25, 2011
This is our livelihood. We do all we can. Every day. Almost 10 years in business - we make ourselves available 24/7 day and night. It is a privilege to do so. The fact that a dog was injured while staying with us shakes us very deeply. Thank you for reading our response.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancaster, Pennsylvania
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2011

My husband and I have been talking about going away over Christmas for years; however, we have been hesitant to do so because we did not want to leave our yellow labrador retriever, Dakota, at home in boarding. We did our research and found the Paw House Inn. We needed a place in which we could drive to and include Dakota in our daily activities. Everyone at the Inn was very helpful. Although we were there over Christmas, recommendations were made to us for restaurants and activities. We used Mario's playhouse only during breakfast and found it perfect to suit our needs. Our goal was to spend as much time with Dakota on this trip; however, it was a comfort to know the playhouse was available to guests. We took full advantage of the beautiful trails in the area in which we could all do some fun hiking. At the end of the day, Dakota was exhausted, but happy, as he relaxed with us in our room. Although we did not spend much time during the day at the Inn, Dakota enjoyed his interaction with the other dogs. Thanks to Mitch, Jen and the entire Paw House Inn staff for caring so much about our four legged children!

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bellingham, Washington
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2011

We have just returned from 2 nights at the Paw House with our dog (Buckingham) who has never been kenneled before. We had no hesitation in leaving Buckingham with Mitch while we went skiing for the day, when we came back he had been walked in the forest so we all ended up tired. The playhouse was great and Buckingham actually wanted to go in there every time we left the room. There is a trail walk behind the property where you can exercise your dog.
Mitch is a great host, cooks a good breakfast and recommended very nice places to eat at in the evening.
Mitch - thanks also for the book recommendation.
All in all a great experience and the 3 of us will definitely be back when we are next in Vermont.
Mark

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2011

This was our first stay at The Paw House and we were very excited to be able to bring our dog along with us. The rooms were clean and comfortable, and your dog can stay in your room with you while you are there (including overnight) and in the common areas. During breakfast and dinner, and at any other time you choose, you can leave your dog in the playhouse kennel. The kennels are clean and warm and the owners will walk your dog and give him or her playtime in the fenced-in play area.
We very much enjoyed our stay and Mitch's hospitality, and are planning to go back again during President's Week.
Our choice when we travel is to live our dog behind in a kennel which he is used to but which we think he does not like, since he always comes back emotionally exhausted. Bringing him with us to The Paw House is a much better choice for us.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Castle, Pennsylvania
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2011

This year we decided to take a ski trip during the Christmas Holidays. Since we like to
take our Golden Retrievers with us, we chose our favorite Dog Inn, (The Paw House INN.
The inn is chariming and cozy, perfect for the Christmas season or anytime during the
year. The stuff is very helpful and welcoming, and they make you feel part of the family.
They helped us find restaurants and shops which were open on CHristmas Day.
We were also provided with a list of restaurants with phone numbers and detailed directions. Many restaurants in the Killington Area were open on Dec. 24, &Dec 25.
They also serve a warm home cooked breakfast , every morning. So someone is always
there in the morning if you should have any questions about anything. A phone number
is provided in the lobby to reach the innkeeper at any time of the day or night . The accomodations for our dogs are first rate also. THe kennel is well equipped, clean
and warm. The Paw House Inn allows you to take your four-legged family members back to the room with you, as long as you are with them. So they get to sleep with you all
night and only have to go to the kennel when you are out. A very friendly place and highly
recommended. We have been there twice and will return some day soon, for another great holiday.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Paw House Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Paw House Inn

Address: 1376 Clarendon Ave., West Rutland, VT 05777
Location: United States > Vermont > West Rutland
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in West Rutland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A beautiful and unique Bed and Breakfast/Hotel that caters primarily to dog lovers and their dogs. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Paw House Hotel West Rutland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Paw House Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.