We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“PET FRIENDLY AT ITS BEST!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Paw House Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in West Rutland
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Paw House Inn
Save
You added The Paw House Inn to your Saves list
1376 Clarendon Ave., West Rutland, VT 05777   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 West Rutland B&B and Inns
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“PET FRIENDLY AT ITS BEST!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2013 via mobile

Great place to stay with your dogs in Vermont. We just finished our 5th stay.... Our four dogs just love it, as do We. So lovely, clean and friendly....and a great location. Approximately 45 minutes to a Hour away from Manchester fabulous outlets, Woodstock/Quechee and their charming views, Brandon/Middlebury's rustic charm. Ten minutes from Rutland's fabulous restaurants. The Inn is just perfect for stays with your dogs...A play area, hiking trails, and a sparkling safe play building for your pet when you are away from the Inn doing non-pet activity. The Staff is friendly and accomidating. Give it a try...you won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

233 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    169
    36
    5
    13
    10
See reviews for
50
105
12
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

Traveling with pups is hard to begin with, so that is why we traveled all the way to Vermont from NYC for a weekend of R&R... hiking, good food and sleep!

The Paw House Inn... is an adorable B&B that caters to owners with pups. My room - THE CHASE had a bed all set with sheets just for Bauer - our puggle.

Breakfast was delicious - served inside or outside (where the pups can stay dine with owners) OR they have Mario's Playhouse which are gated enclosed doggie runs. Sure, our doggie doesn't like to remain alone in one of these but we were able to go out to dinner and not have to worry at all!

Well done! We will be back.
Thank you Mitch!

Room Tip: We had the Chase and loved it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Avenel
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013

Paw House was very nice. We would definitely stay there again. The grounds are extensive and are next to the West Rutand Arts Park. They are not as well maintained as some other local inns (shrubs are overgrown and some things just look very old) but the suite we were in was spacious and clean with a fake fireplace and a private deck/patio (we were on the second floor, so it gave us a nice view of the woods and art park). They have a fenced in play area with agility equipment for the dogs but they’re free to be off leash and on the grounds wherever. They have a different building that they call the playhouse but it’s really kennels. They do not allow the dogs to be left unattended in the room and want you to kennel them when you are not there. We didn’t want to do this so we just put them in the car while we had breakfast. If it had been warmer there is a patio outside where the dogs could have sat with us for breakfast.

The town has a lot of food options and Mitch, the owner, provided us with two extensive papers – one for activities and one for food – both with driving directions, when we checked in. All of the activities were dog friendly and the food options also listed if there was patio seating that allowed dogs.

There was a little journal next to the bed which invited people to leave them a note about our stay. It was nice to read through the past comments and find out what people liked and did while they stayed.

Breakfast was delicious and prepared made to order each morning. We had many options from waffles to pancakes to eggs/omelettes. Each breakfast started out with a fresh homemade muffin and fruit sampler.

The décor is all dog themed and in the mudroom to the inn we were greeted with a little chalkboard dog cutout that said “Welcome Mr. Barbo and BooBoo.”

Mitch was very helpful and full of suggestions and helped plan our days each morning during breakfast. They do not live on the property but provide a cell number in case you need to get in touch with them. The main inn remains open all the time and you’re free to sit in the dining room or on the couches and lounge.

Overall, a very nice stay. I think we would return as there were many hiking trails and things we’d like to do but ran out of time.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Bark Avenue suite. It's spacious but is on the second level with a private out...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hoboken, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

My wife and I were actually going up for the Spartan Race at Killington. We had seen this hotel when looking to go this past winter for skiing, but never made. We are MORE than glad we did this time.

Although we arrived VERY late (sorry), they were extremely helpful letting us know where to go, how to enter, and left notes for us as to where our room was. The room was perfect. Bed for our dog, us, bathroom, everything that was needed.

The breakfast that morning looked amazing, although we had to rush out for our race. They were so nice when meeting Callie and took her to play on their amazing plot of land for the day and left a great/kind note about how Callie enjoyed her day as well, which was easy to tell from how she slept.

I have to say our stay was too short, but the staff was extremely nice, the muffins were amazing, the room was great and clean, and we cannot wait to go back this winter for a ski trip!

Room Tip: Be sure to bring slippers or flip flops if you prefer to wear around the house. Everyone is asked to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

There are, thankfully, a growing number of "dog-friendly" hotels, inns and B&Bs. The Paw House trumps them all. It is not merely "dog-friendly," it is dog-centered. It offers a marvelous huge lawn and field in which dogs can romp, provides a dog "blanket" to place on your bed for those dogs who insist on jumping up on the bed (despite hotel warnings that they not do so) and has a large and clean "play house." with separate cubicles in which dogs can be left when their masters go to places, such as restaurants, where dogs are not welcome. The list can go on.

In addition to pampering canines, The Paw House does a pretty good job caring for humans. Its rooms are nicely arranged (some have marvelous porches) and furnished. To be sure, it is a bit rustic, with mismatched furniture, creaking dresser drawers and insufficient lighting. While wifi is available, its range and power are spotty; at times some rooms don't receive a signal. But these are minor flaws and, more importantly, are found in most other B&Bs or inns. These faults thus easily are overlooked.

What's more, its breakfasts are bountiful and more than tasty; they are delicious. Its parlors offer comfortable stuffed chairs and sofas (though, there too, light for reading is a bit sparse). And, of course, Paw House sits right in the midst of a lovely Vermont landscape, an easy drive to many Vermont scenic and tourist destinations.

Bottom line: If you like traveling with man's best friend, Paw House is as good as it gets. You'll be giving your dog a great treat -- and yourself too.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kendall Park, New Jersey
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013

..We could not have had a better time Inn Keepers and staff go above and beyond to be helpful..Great Breakfasts Beautiful .,Dog friendly grounds. D.ogs loved the staff played all day slept all night.We already booked our room for next year.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

We stayed at The Paw House for 2 nights with a 101 lb chocolate lab. We found the staff extremely friendly and knowledgeable about the surrounding area. We were also able to swap ideas with other guests.
Given that this is a place to bring your dog- I was surprised to find it as clean and hair free as it was! No "dog" odors either! We didn't use the kennel area, as Siri could come everywhere we went, but I thought the kennel area was clean.
I read all the reviews posted on tripadvisor- while this is not an all inclusive event and activity packed, high tech, over the top inn- and we didn't expect that- I was very glad to see that the negative reviews I read were not reflective of our stay. The girls, Mitch, and the inn itself welcomed us and I plan to return. I enjoyed reading the various books left around the house, and there are boardgames and old movies to watch- take a breath from your fast paced life! There is something to be said for bringing your dog to a strange place and having everyone there welcome him and not having to worry if he barked too loud or ran too fast!

A suggestion- perhaps on a few weekends it could be offered to have fire in the yard (with staff present as visitors can be careless) to sit and relax around. The evening weather was perfect for it!

A note- be prepared for a smaller bathroom (it was clean) but a tight fit, but again, something you would expect at a B&B where bathrooms were added after the fact.

Thank you for making Siriusly Trouble feel at home!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Paw House Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Paw House Inn

Address: 1376 Clarendon Ave., West Rutland, VT 05777
Location: United States > Vermont > West Rutland
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in West Rutland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A beautiful and unique Bed and Breakfast/Hotel that caters primarily to dog lovers and their dogs. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Paw House Hotel West Rutland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Paw House Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.