We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“DOG FRIENDLY -” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Paw House Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in West Rutland
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Paw House Inn
Save
You added The Paw House Inn to your Saves list
1376 Clarendon Ave., West Rutland, VT 05777   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 West Rutland B&B and Inns
New York City, New York
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“DOG FRIENDLY -”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2012

My husband & I brought our two small dogs here while our house was being renovated. There are not many places you can travel with dogs so i was quite pleased when I found The Paw House Inn. Mitch (the owner) couldn't have been more accomodating. He makes all of the guests a delicious 3 course breakfast each morning and the dogs are able to stay with you on the porch. The dogs love this place - we took them hiking around a trail on the property. We ordered from Cara Mia (they deliver) - and when we went into Rutland, we stopped at A Crust Above (gotta try their hot sauce!) and of course, Ben & Jerry's! it is about a 5 hour drive from NYC but was worth it!

Room Tip: each room is different but each has a dog bed - we stayed in the Dogwood room
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

233 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    169
    36
    5
    13
    10
See reviews for
50
105
12
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
181 reviews 181 reviews
52 hotel reviews
Reviews in 73 cities Reviews in 73 cities
82 helpful votes 82 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2012

the innkeepers and staff are wonderful - friendly, eager to please, informative. they make a great breakfast (lots of choices and all very well made). the rooms are clean, there's a television with lots of channels, the beds comfortable......but, it's an older home - it's a little worn - it's not luxurious, and you shouldn't expect that in a "dog" b&b. the kennel is basic and fine. the fenced in dog play area could use a little attention - more toys, some repair work is needed, but the dogs don't seem to notice. some of the lounge chairs could/should be repaired or replaced. that said, it's a fun welcoming place to enjoy a doggy vacation. i should also mention that there is lots of hiking in the area, many very good restaurants all within 10-15 minutes (the innkeepers will happily provide the specifics). cafe provence (amazing flourless chocolate cake); table 24 (maybe the best burgers we ever had!).

Room Tip: some people may find the stairs a bit steep (and narrow w/a large dog or suitcase) - you may want to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2012

There's not much not to love about this ingenious dog friendly b&b. The setting is gorgeous and would be stunning in the fall. Also, it's not a terrible drive (about 2 hours) to the big city (Burlington) and classic VT excursions (ben & jerry's, etc). When you enter the house, there are signs welcoming your pups, which is very cool. As soon as our three labradoodles entered our room, Shakespeare's Retreat (definitely the best option for three mid-big pups), they were so happy to be in a doggie place. They sensed it immediately :) The doodles especially loved the dog park and it was fabulous to be able to access the dog house (large kennels) during the day while we were gone. It rained all day our first day, so we couldn't bring them along. However, you are given a great list of dog friendly places, hikes, etc. As mentioned before in other reviews, breakfast was good, but more so than that the staff are awesome! Murphy and Hailey were our hosts and did such a great job booking reservations, answering questions, etc. Allin all if you're a dog lover and you're headed to VT, this is your place :)

Room Tip: You are essentially staying at a doggie hotel and with that means some barking and such.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Providence, RI
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2012

This B&B is simply fantastic. We have now been twice. The owner is extremely welcoming and helpful with dog-friendly activities in the area. The rooms are clean and spacious enough for a couple and a dog (I haven't stayed in the larger rooms that can really accommodate more than 2 people). There is a dog bed in each room. There is an on-site kennel where you can leave your dog if you do something that can't involve the dog. There's a great fenced in dog park with ramps and jumps for the dog. There are walking trails on site. Breakfast in the morning is always fantastic. While the rooms may seem expensive, once you figure in the cost for boarding your dog (especially in our case, we board her in a place that does day care to keep her active), it's really quite affordable for all you get.

Upon arrival, you're given a list of dog-friendly hiking locations and nearby restaurant recommendations (some of which are dog-friendly during warmer months). The location is just outside downtown Rutland with lots of restaurants and shops. The Green Mountains are only 20 minutes away offering plenty of hiking opportunities for all abilities (from flat hikes to climbing mountains).

If you're looking for a great getaway with your dog, this is the perfect place.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2012

My friend Teddy and I did alot of reseach and we finally found a place called the Paw House Inn in Vt where we thought our humans would have as much fun as us, and we were right. We were greeted by Mitch and a nice sign welcoming both Teddy and I. Mitch is a very outgoing and knowledgeable human who runs the inn for Brooklyn, a Golden, and Stanley, a terrier mix, who greeted us later. The Inn is very cute, with an eceletic design mixing early American dog, with Danish modern dog, and a little French Provincial dog...you get the picture. He took us up to our room, and here is my only compaint. Someone had been there and cleanted away every scent of the previous residents. The place was spotless! Not a hair left behind. Teddy and I would have liked to know who was there before, but it will forever remain a mystery. We stayed in Shakespeare's retreat which was 2 rooms so that my mommy could have her own bed in one room, and Teddy's mommy had her own bed in another room, and there was also a bed for Teddy and me. Stanley and Brooklyn have thought of everything. The 4 poster was a little high and so there were steps to help us shorter legged beings get up on it. Plus they must know the strange and secretive bathroom behaviors of humans, so there is a private bathroom in every room. We had great fun romping in the fenced in dog park where there are also plenty of places to sit for our less energetic humans. Some humans are afraid to venture too far, so there is a little kitchen area with a microwave and a fridge and utensils for humans who want to stay behind and order in take out. Our humans are a little more adventurous, so Teddy and I got a little one-on-one time in the Playhouse whiie our humans dined in restaurants they said were very good and recommended by Mitch. He does know his food, we got a samping of rotisserie chicken from one restaurant and a sampling (ssh...) of cheese and bacon from the country breakfast he prepares for the humans. He is also full of great ideas of places to visit in the area and mapped out an itinerary that both humans and doggies can enoy.
We plan to go again! Paws way up for the Paw House Inn from Meg

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, New York
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2012

We found The Paw House Inn by accident through LivingSocial, and it turned out to be the best trip we could have taken. The inn is very homey and our room (the bad dog) was even lovelier than pictures. We had a great time taking in the Vermont sites and eating at farm-to-table restaurants in the area, and then relaxing and playing doggy monopoly in the living room at night. The breakfasts were so yummy - awesome muffins, fruits, and omelets. I'm not even a big breakfast eater (usually a late sleeper) but I was psyched for breakfast each day. Jelly had an awesome time too!! Being from NYC, it was a really nice change for him to run around on grass and hike with us in the woods. He fell asleep early every night!

Room Tip: The bad dog has a king size super comfy bed. The sun shines in the windows in the morning and looks...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Haven, CT
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2012

This was my first road trip with my rescue beagle-mix, and The Paw House was an ideal destination. We spent our days hiking and our evenings relaxing. The Inn is clean, cozy, and dog friendly. Mitch and Jen clearly love Vermont – they’re quick with knowledgeable recommendations about local restaurants and unique attractions. And breakfasts were fabulous (Mitch is a great cook), the dining area was sunny and cheerful, and the company delightful. We’ll certainly be back!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Paw House Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Paw House Inn

Address: 1376 Clarendon Ave., West Rutland, VT 05777
Location: United States > Vermont > West Rutland
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in West Rutland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A beautiful and unique Bed and Breakfast/Hotel that caters primarily to dog lovers and their dogs. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Paw House Hotel West Rutland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Paw House Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.