We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Abbott's Glen Clothing-Optional Inn and Campground
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Abbott's Glen Clothing-Optional Inn and Campground to your Saves list
Abbott's Glen Clothing-Optional Inn and Campground
3542 VT Route 112, West Halifax, VT 05358   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 West Halifax B&B and Inns
Portland, Maine
1 review
“Nirvana”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2010

I recently ventured out on my first visit to a clothing optional retreat. I chose Abbott's Glen in Vermont based on its website, location and a quick call to the Owners to discuss the in's and out's of a clothing optional destination. Although initially nervous, I was quickly put at ease by the Owners, the other guests and the beautiful surroundings. Abbott's Glen far surpassed my wildest expectations. The surroundings are a country setting with a pond, babbling brook and trails for hiking on site. The people were welcoming and non-judgmental and the food was outstanding. I really cannot recommend Abbott's Glen highly enough.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

79 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    70
    9
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
Families
0
61
6
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Maine
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2010

Most reports on Abbott's Glen are from visitors to the Inn during the warmer times of the year. We decided to make our first ever visit to Abbott's Glen after being thoroughly enticed by their great web site and their TripAdvisor.com reviews. We visited in late January on their annual chili contest weekend, when the temperatures were also "chilly"... in the single digits, with below zero wind chill factors. It was not exactly a time that one would expect to be able to exercise the "clothing optional" option at all!

Count us as yet another couple who were nothing but amazed and impressed by the Abbott's Glen Inn experience. We stayed for two nights, meeting six other friendly and outgoing couples originating from almost as many different States (they had a full house, with two of those other six couples being first timers as well). We found the owners and operators Lindy and Amy two of the friendliest and most attentive Innkeepers you could ever want. They are an amazing couple who make the tending to their guests comfort and concocting gourmet meals for them appear to be an effortless ballet. We certainly know better and appreciate people like this who love their business enough to keep it performing at such high levels.

Abbott's Glen Inn consists of three buildings, the Main House (2 guest rooms), Meadow House (3 guest rooms) and the Carriage House (2 guest rooms) all of which are spotless, and comfortable. The bathrooms, showers, water pressure & temperature were all great. The hot tub was perfect (seats 4 very comfortably), and worked wonderfully, and the sauna (which could easily seat 6 or maybe more)was utterly spotless, it worked well and appeared to brand new! It might seem that with the way things are spread out over three buildings, that it would mean a lot of inconvenience, but it is simply not the case, it all works very well, as Amy and Lindy have ensured in the setup of their Inn that everything one needs at any location is present and in fine working order.

Wood heat abounds in many places, providing much ambiance with Lindy somehow keeps the fires roaring, and thus everything warm. The Meadow House also has radiant heat which feels amazing to the bare feet this time of year. They furnish all guests a nice warm and heavy "Abbott's Glen" robes during your stay, and they are such that we easily made all the necessary quick jaunts between buildings with minimal discomfort. During our stay the plush robes were the perfect accoutrement given the season and ultimately proved to be the primary dress by all the guests that weekend.

The inn serves a country breakfast that is incredible. The first morning we were served a fresh fruit cup with a maple yogurt dressing topped with a red raspberry followed by a whole grain French toast with homemade apple sausage. Orange juice and coffee were also served. The second morning we had another (different) fresh fruit cup, wonderful warm coffee cake muffins, an egg strata with fresh herbs, cheese and salami (it was awesome) along with a mixed juice and coffee. We decided to stay at the Inn for Friday evening. Amy prepared a wonderful salad with romaine, artichokes, roasted red peppers and a Caesar type dressing. The entree was an Italian sausage soup with white beans and escarole. There was also an assortment of breads. I absolutely loved the dessert which was a honey mascarpone cheese pie with oranges on top. I am seriously going to try and get the recipe.

Saturday night was the chili contest. There were seven chilis as everyone staying at the inn made a chili. The seven chilis were all different and unique. I believe that everyone enjoyed the experience. Amy made a Mexican type Cole slaw and corn bread. She also made a wonderful chocolate cake with Ben and Jerry's ice cream as dessert. Amy also made a great platter of nachos. Several of the guests brought appetizers to go along with margaritas made by yet another guest.

One of the veteran guests took us on a walking tour of the grounds on Saturday morning. It was great to see the lay of the land, the amazing North River, and we got a definite feel for just how great this place must be in the warmer seasons, and now look forward to returning to find out!

Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Connecticut
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2010

My wife and I have been to Abbott's Glen Inn several times and have enjoyed each stay. Amy and Lindy are tremendous hosts. The B&B has seven great, well kept rooms and spacious grounds including a small pond, a picturesque river, and open fields. The food at both Saturday evening meals and Sunday morning breakfasts is excellent, gourmet in fact. In the winter, you can relax in the hot tub or Finnish sauna. Evenings are well spent socializing over the fine dinners in the Meadow House, often followed by unwinding with some dancing au naturel in the Carriage House. I highly recommend a stay at Abbott's. If you and your spouse have never been to a clothing-optional Inn, this finely appointed, welcoming, truly relaxing and enjoyable B&B would be the perfect place to give it a try.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Connecticut
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2009

Last summer was my first trip to a “clothing optional” paradise – Abbott’s Glen. Yes, this place is a perfect, natural paradise. II’ve returned repeatedly, gaining a comfort level (that has surprised me) of being nude around others. This summer was our 4th trip to Abbott’s Glen. We love this place, and I almost don’t want to write a rave review – wanting to keep this secret all to myself, but Abbott’s Glen deserves it.

There is plenty of space on these 55 acres for privacy if that’s what you seek. Yet there are plenty of gatherings (breakfast, dinner, bonfire, carriage house, hot tub, sauna) if you’re seeking a more social atmosphere. Amy & Lindy, a warm down-to-earth couple, own the clothing optional inn & campground. Their place is beautiful, inviting and clean. One of my favorite moments is being seated around the dinner table when Amy comes out of the kitchen, soft spoken, and gives us the delicious details on the meal that awaits us. Amy cooks the most scrumptious gourmet food, putting in a lot of thought, time and energy. I tell my friends (who are not nudists yet) that they should go just to eat there, if nothing else! We love eating outdoors in the summer at community tables. The conversations are engaging.

We’ve camped, stayed in the Carriage House, and listened to the river at night in the Main House. We have enjoyed all of it – swimming in the pond, tubing on the river, walking through the woods, sunning in the lounge chairs, watching the blue heron in the pond, dancing and playing pool in the carriage house, Sinatra Sunday breakfasts, and appetizers at the Tiki bar…

Our last trip there was supposed to be 3 days and we didn’t want to leave, so we made it 4. Four days of no watch, no alarm clock, no TV, no computers or cell phones, and best of all, no clothes. I walked away feeling like I was in heaven – incredible peacefulness at a slower pace, appreciating life, and I didn’t even take advantage of the onsite masseuse this time!

We’re looking forward to visiting this weekend and again in the winter, since it is year round paradise offering cross country skiing & snow shoeing as well. Check out their detailed website, and we hope to meet you up there! Thanks to Amy & Lindy of Abbott’s Glen for allowing us to experience an exceptional, unique and relaxing world.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2008

Abbotts Glen is the most delightful naturist, clothing optional four season B&B! Nestled in a private Glen, the "Glen" offers extremely comfortable and clean B&B accommodations (shared baths), exquisite gourmet cuisine (dinners served on weekends in addition to breakfast), well maintained surroundings, loads of new friends to make and entertainment during select weekends. Last weekend was the annual Blues Festival and the band was great!

With a nip of autumn in the air, you can enjoy a sauna or an indoor hot tub. They have a lovely pond just off the dining room that is superb for lazily floating on a tube.

The innkeepers, Amy and Lindy, make you feel welcome. You are greeted as warmly as friend that they have not met yet.

You will leave your vacation with memories of new friends and a warm, wonderful weekend in Vermont.

  • Liked — Great gourmet food, small fridges in the guest rooms, country decor
  • Disliked — Rain clouds and thunder storms!
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rhode Island
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2008

Friendly, genuine people, beautiful Vermont landscape, and cuisine that is so delicious it deserves its own establishment; none of these descriptions does justice to the experience that is Abbott's Glen.

Within the first half hour or so you will forget completely that you've paid to stay at a resort. Amy and Lindy make you feel so welcomed and comfortable that any return visits (and there will be plenty, trust me) will feel like you're visiting old friends.

Because by then, you will be . . .

Don't even hesitate. Call 'em up right now and make a reservation. This place is destined to be booked solid for many, many years to come.

  • Liked — The people are very warm and interesting.
  • Disliked — Leaving.
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
boston, ma
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2008

We've just returned from our first visit to Abbott's Glen, in Halifax, VT. It won't be our last for sure. From the moment we arrived at this wonderful resort we were treated as friends. Our hostess, Amy, greeted us in the driveway, and brought us inside to register. She reviewed the house rules, (common sense and politeness, mostly,) and took us upstairs to our room, the spacious "suite," but not before asking us to remove our shoes before going to the second floor. It, along with the shared bathroom, was sparkling clean. Amy gave us a map of the property showing the various hiking trails, and swimming spots. We were fortunate to have the weather on our side, and walking through meadows, orchards, and woods was a perfect prelude to a dip in the small river at the back of their fifty-some acres. We picked wild strawberries, and sat to watch butterflies on their adventures. We had decided to have dinner with our hosts and the other guests on Saturday night. Dinner was served family style, and the food was outstanding, made with fresh seasonal ingredients. After dinner our group moved across the driveway to relax in "The Barn." Tall tales were told over a game of pool, and there was an impromptu folk concert before dessert. Sunday morning breakfast was another wonderful meal. Fresh fruit, simple, yet gourmet, scrambled eggs, and sweet homemade blueberry muffins were our top choices. Amy's husband, Lindy, had checked the water level of the river and declared it perfect for tubing. He brought a small group of us down to the river with great big truck tubes, and we delighted in running the (tame) rapids again and again. All too soon it was time for us to leave, but not before rinsing off in the outdoor rock-floored shower. The setting and facilities more than make this resort special. The food adds to it, but is the grace and hospitality of the hosts that give Abbott's Glen its gentle and welcoming soul.

  • Stayed June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Abbott's Glen Clothing-Optional Inn and Campground? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Abbott's Glen Clothing-Optional Inn and Campground

Address: 3542 VT Route 112, West Halifax, VT 05358
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Vermont > West Halifax
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in West Halifax
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A beautiful clothing optional eight room country inn, located on 55 wooded acres. Amenities include a wood-fired Finnish sauna, hot tub, hiking trails, pond and river for swimming, 5-hole golf course, and club house with pool table, darts, and ping pong. Massage services available with advance notice. Gourmet Dinners and breakfasts served in the dining room. Weekend evening dances held in Club Sugar Shack. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Abbott's Glen Clothing-Optional Inn and Campground reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Abbott`s Glen Hotel West Halifax

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Abbott's Glen Clothing-Optional Inn and Campground, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.