We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Abbott's Glen Clothing-Optional Inn and Campground to your Saves list
Abbott's Glen Clothing-Optional Inn and Campground
3542 VT Route 112, West Halifax, VT 05358   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Announcement
It's Spring in Vermont!
Ranked #1 of 1 West Halifax B&B and Inns
New York City, New York
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Perfection”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2012

We discovered Abbotts Glen about a year ago, and have kept coming back as often as possible, as we find it to be the ideal spot for wonderful weekend fun. The grounds are beautiful, with expansive fields, an abundance of flowers, and pastoral Vermont views. There is a lovely pond near the Inn for swimming, floating, and sunning. A short walk down the hill and through the forest brings you to another great spot: a peaceful area at the river for floating in tubes and sunning. The paths through the woods on their 50 acres are shaded and beautiful, and pretty bug-free, the food is gourmet and to-die-for, and the dancing at night after dinner is lively and great fun. And of course being able to be nude all day in this paradise is so great!
Best of all are our hosts, Amy and Lindy, who combine the ultimate in creativity, care for every detail , and warm hospitality. Amy is truly a creative genius in the kitchen and in decorating, making everything beautiful and appealing. We can't say enough about how great the food is, and how classy the presentation. Lindy is brilliant when it comes to fixing, building, and repairing everything that needs work on the property. He keeps it all in very good shape, even when Mother Nature creates havoc as she did last year with Hurricane Irene. Liz is their very capable and efficient assistant who is also a talented baker and decorator. Amy and Lindy had a beautiful dream that they made come true, and we feel incredibly fortunate to be the beneficiary of their dream, their hard work, and their creativity. We give Abbotts Glen an enthusiastic thumbs-up!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

83 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    74
    9
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
Families
0
63
7
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2012

This was our second visit to the Glen and it was as spectacular as the first. This is a clothing optional resort, most people are nude, but there is also a wide variety of coverups used, in particular for meals. The meals provided on the weekends are a must. The breakfast is a little late for me, so we opted for bringing some muffins. They do not offer lunches or meal on non weekend days so you will need to bring something or go offsite. We have both camped and stayed in a room and have brought a cooler with food which worked fine. The grounds are well maintained as are the rooms. The atmosphere is very friendly and social, but if you do not with to mingle the grounds are big enough to find a spot of your own.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2012

We are a 40 something couple who have traveled extensively and enjoyed clothing optional vacations all over the world. Abbott's Glen was truly relaxing and enjoyable. We camped while there and chose not to partake in any of the meals due to our dietary restrictions. We enjoyed the beautiful setting, relaxed atmosphere and the friendly, welcoming hosts and guests. The area is great for outdoor activities such as kayaking, mountain biking, swimming, hiking, etc. which is what led us to our stay. The only cons were the lack of shade at the campsites and the distance to the bathroom.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Springfield, Massachusetts
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2012

My husband and I found Abbott's Glen 2 years ago and fell in love with it immediately. We are both in our early 30's and found it refreshing to find other couples up there our age. You'll find we're up there most weekends. We have been to many other clothing optional resorts in the northeast and agree that this is the best. Many of the people we've met there have become dear friends of ours. The accommodations are wonderful with all the comforts. No other resort we've been to offers cuisine that even compares to what Amy offers every week. I won't do it justice here, but you owe it to yourself to take a look at the sample menu on the website. We are both physically fit and enjoy the hiking trails, pond, river, and small golf course in the summer for exercise. In the winter we enjoy skating on the pond and sledding. Warming up is as easy as getting in the hot tub or sauna or sitting by one of the wood stoves. We both enjoy a good nightlife and love to dance the night away in Club Sugar Shack with Lindy playing all the best music. Abbot's Glen is truly our favorite place to be.

Room Tip: The website is wonderful at highlighting the features of each room. My husband likes the Suite in t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middlebury, Vermont
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2012

Every time I go to the Glen, I return to "reality" a little more refreshed, rejuvenated, relaxed.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MA
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2012

My husband and I visit the Abbott's Glen one weekend a month. For me it is a beautiful place of peace and tranqulity. I enjoy hearing the croaking of the frogs and the rushing of the river. I love to flop on an inner tube tied to a rock, and float in the fresh cool river. I enjoy having my morning coffee on the garden patio facing the spectacular gardens, while watching the butterflies, luna moths and wide variety of birds. Amy Abbott is a fabulous cook, as well as a wonderful hostess. She prepares and presents wonderful meals with such care and joy. Lindy is a hardworking creative person that puts his heart and sole into creating beautiful stuctures throughout the property. He too, is a very gracious and friendly host. Together, with there wonderful staff, they really work hard to create a true oasis in the VT mountains!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sudbury
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2012

Always excellent! Every time we stay at Abbott's Glen, it is always excellent. The food is fantastic and accomodations are amazing.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Abbott's Glen Clothing-Optional Inn and Campground? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Abbott's Glen Clothing-Optional Inn and Campground

Address: 3542 VT Route 112, West Halifax, VT 05358
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Vermont > West Halifax
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in West Halifax
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A beautiful clothing optional eight room country inn, located on 55 wooded acres. Amenities include a wood-fired Finnish sauna, hot tub, hiking trails, pond and river for swimming, 5-hole golf course, and club house with pool table, darts, and ping pong. Massage services available with advance notice. Gourmet Dinners and breakfasts served in the dining room. Weekend evening dances held in Club Sugar Shack. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Abbott's Glen Clothing-Optional Inn and Campground reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Abbott`s Glen Hotel West Halifax

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Abbott's Glen Clothing-Optional Inn and Campground, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.